We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 30% for Summer
Ranked #24 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Secaucus, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weekend Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Went down to check out Coastal Carolina University and wanted to stay nearby but on the ocean. I saw Compass Cove was well rated by TripAdviisor users as well as another site. The price was terrific, $68 for a 2 room suite, important since we had 2 teenage girls with us. We stayed in the Mariner at an oceanfront Junior Mini Suite, it was quite comfortable and very clean. Upon arriving at our room we realized we were overlooking a pool which was undergoing renovations and so was not very aesthetically appealing but the front desk graciously and quickly moved us to a different suite overlooking beautiful palm trees and the pool. There are pools everywhere!! My kids loved it, pools, slides, lazy rivers, hot tubs galore. Due to the weather, the slides weren't operating but looked awesome. There is also a giant chess/checkers set there. The Mariner bldg is older than the Pinnacle, we spent most of our time in the indoor Pinnacle pools. They have heated and non heated outdoor pools and hot tubs too. There is plenty of parking available also. We didn't eat there so I can't comment on their food. It's in a quieter section of Myrtle Beach and you need a car to get places but that didn't bother us at all. Our suite had a fridge, microwave, stove and sink. Again, everything was very clean. The suite also had 2 flatscreen TV's even though the website said only one, that was a nice plus also, our room also had a chair so you didn't just have to sit in the bed. We had a nice balcony overlooking the ocean with 2 chairs on it. The furnishings and bedspreads aren't fancy, but this is the beach and I was quite happy with them. I think the Pinnacle is a little higher end and I would probably check out there rooms next time. I would definitely stay here again and on my next trip down, I probably will. All the employees were quite friendly too, especially Rachel, who worked at reservations. Good value!

Room Tip: Stay oceanfront room at least floor 4 or higher. Pinnacle is probably a little newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Liz R,

We are so glad to hear that you chose to stay with us at the Compass Cove Resort while in Myrtle Beach! We hope if you plan on coming back to Coastal Carolina University, we will get to see you again. We will be happy to show all the different types of rooms we have available while you're here next time!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    827
    299
    180
    145
See reviews for
1,450
533
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We just got back from a long weekend at Compass Cove in Myrtle Beach SC. The building we were assigned to is in the Pinnacle Tower. These are owner owned condos and we stayed in a King Jr Suite Oceanfront. The room decor is a very dated and could use some updates.

Hated the polyester green comforter on the bed and the dresser was missing knobs. Mattress was extremely hard to me, but I'm used foam so this could just be me. The pillows were flattened and very old. The living room area was okay but could use fresh paint, new furniture and new carpet.

Bathroom was very small but clean and the large vanity was separate from the toilet and tub. Tub drained very slowly so after the first bath, my granddaughter took showers. There was absolutely no water pressure in the shower head. We felt like we could not get he shampoo out of our hair it was so pathetic.

We were on the 3rd floor and the views were great. The indoor pools were fun but smelled strongly of chlorine. We enjoyed the lazy river and large heated pool though.

Breakfast buffett (in the Compass Rose next door) was good; not great. The waitress was excellent though.

Main issue was that the walls are way too thin. At 2:45 AM Saturday morning I was woken up by the man in the unit next to us, cussing and slamming drawers and stuff around in his room. Apparently, he misplaced his wallet with $1,200 in it and was on the phone with his wife/girlfriend, who was still at a strip club. I have never heard anyone call someone the names he was calling her, and thankfully our granddaughter did not wake up. I am sure this would have terrified her.

I will probably not go back to this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for upgraded rooms. Some owner owned suites appear to be in much better condition. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear gottabeme14,

We would like to express our sincerest apologies for the issues that you experienced while staying with us. Our goal at Compass Cove is to always maintain the highest levels of guest satisfaction. We appreciate that you took the time to provide us with feedback about your stay, so that we can review it with our management staff and make changes to ensure that our high levels of guest satisfaction are continually maintained. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to further discuss your stay.

Sincerely,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Douglas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Another hotel recommended Compass Cove! We gave it a shot and we were beyond pleased! We arrived late Sunday night, James at the front desk was awesome! He had a gentleman bring us to see our 11th floor oceanside room before we agreed to the can't beat price of $526 for 6 nights! The hotel was great, staff was great, place was clean, my 2 bedroom room was clean, loved the laundry room! Who cares if there's no change machine, go get some at the bank! Parking was fine, sometimes we had to park in the garage, sometimes across the street. No big deal, walking certainly did not kill us. Love the pools, kids had a great time! Compass Rose was great for breakfast and Crows Nest was great for lunch and dinner. They even had recycling bins near the front door of the Pinnacle bldg! So glad we took the advice and stayed here. The only thing I complained about during this stay is the barking dogs. Some lady and her husband walked their 4 little dogs on the beach and let them bark constantly. Early am, lunch time and up to 11 at night. Someone must have said something because after a few days, they finally started controlling their barking nonsense. All the oceanview rooms have stickers on the doors that say "don't fee the sea gulls" what a great idea! Not a pesty sea gull in sight for the whole stay! When we come back to MB, we're staying here. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear 2LooseScrews,

We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take great pride in our customer service and providing a clean and safe environment for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the Myrtle Beach area.

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endeavor, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Living in Wisconsin, my husband and I like to get back home to SC at least once a year. This year we choose Compass Cove and what a great choice. We met up with a few other family members and had an awesome weekend. The lazy river was a favorite of mine and my 9 year old. Beautiful beach front, awesome helpful staff and excellent long island iced tea ;-)
Can't wait to do it again next year!

Room Tip: Early booking of course is always the best. However don't be to shy to ask of any specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Chalye S,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and for choosing the Compass Cove Resort. We certainly hope to be your new home away from home when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

When We made the reservation to the Compass Cove I knew it was an older hotel and was a bit hesitant.We found the Compass cove quaint with a great atmosphere.Our room overlooked the ocean with easy access.We had a great time!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear vacations 4 us,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us! We hope you were able to enjoy our pool amenities while you were here, as well as visit our Compass Rose restaurant for breakfast and the Crow's Nest for dinner and entertainment. Please come and visit us this summer, so that you will have the opportunity to enjoy our many summertime activities too! Until next time, have a wonderful winter!

Sincerely,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at Compass Cove again this 11/2012. Our rooms alre always great, the faicility is well maintained, the landscaping is excpetional for a resort and the staff are very polite, professional and attentive. Great amenities and the best beach on the Grand Strand. 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear CMDUpstateNY,

It is always great to hear from guests who have visited us time and time again! Our guest reviews are very important to us and we certainly appreciate that you took the time to tell us about another stay with us at the Compass Cove Resort. Next time you're here, don't forget that we will be more than happy to pick you up from the airport with our complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle! We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a most enjoyable week here in early November. The resort was well maintained and had everything we neeed. They serve great buffet breakfasts. There are fall pkgs which included breakfasts and this is a great deal. The condos are ideal if you are travelling with a family or couples.

Room Tip: get a pkg deal with breakfast included, can't beat it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Colleen G,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us. Breakfast at the Compass Rose is certainly the best way to start your days on vacation in Myrtle Beach! We are glad that you had the opportunity to do so. We can't wait until you come back and visit us again!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.