We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compass Cove always delivers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free Fall Nights
Ranked #22 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Upstate NY
2 reviews
“Compass Cove always delivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at Compass Cove again this 11/2012. Our rooms alre always great, the faicility is well maintained, the landscaping is excpetional for a resort and the staff are very polite, professional and attentive. Great amenities and the best beach on the Grand Strand. 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear CMDUpstateNY,

It is always great to hear from guests who have visited us time and time again! Our guest reviews are very important to us and we certainly appreciate that you took the time to tell us about another stay with us at the Compass Cove Resort. Next time you're here, don't forget that we will be more than happy to pick you up from the airport with our complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle! We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,351
    765
    284
    172
    139
See reviews for
1377
472
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a most enjoyable week here in early November. The resort was well maintained and had everything we neeed. They serve great buffet breakfasts. There are fall pkgs which included breakfasts and this is a great deal. The condos are ideal if you are travelling with a family or couples.

Room Tip: get a pkg deal with breakfast included, can't beat it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Colleen G,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us. Breakfast at the Compass Rose is certainly the best way to start your days on vacation in Myrtle Beach! We are glad that you had the opportunity to do so. We can't wait until you come back and visit us again!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A room with an ocean-facing balcony and full kitchenette. More swimming pools than I could visit. Direct access to the beach. And located near many of the main Myrtle Beach attractions. We booked at the last minute for a family funeral, so the occasion was sad, but the hotel really lifted our spirits and helped make the trip more pleasant, as we had a good, affordable hotel breakfast every morning and enjoyed some of the hotel's hot pools as well as going for a walk on the beach. I'd go back again any time I'm planning to visit Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view, but the elevators can be annoying to wait for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Reg H,

Our deepest condolences go out to you and your family in your time of loss. It is very unfortunate to hear of the reason for your travels, but we are glad to know that our staff at Compass Cove Resort made your visit as easy as possible. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Compass Cove is by far the best resort we've stayed at in Myrtle Beach! The is just so many things for the kids to do at the hotel, great restaurants right there and room are very spacious! The staff is what makes the Resort though they are all friendly and willing to help any way possible. Housekeeping was very attentive and always gave anything we needed. I will recommend your Resort to everyone I know!

Room Tip: Mariner Building is the best room size for the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear jax t,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us at the Compass Cove Resort. Our goal is always to provide all of our guests with just this kind of vacation and we are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed yourself! We hope to see you again very soon!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

the front desk staff was very polite and helpfull upon arrival.the studio room we had was very clean and just what we expected.i used the exercise room every morning.the crows nest was a very enjoyable place for happy hour and the staff was a blast.i would stay here again.

Room Tip: look on their web page and what you see is what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear robert g,

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Compass Cove Resort! Thank your for choosing to stay with us as we understand there are many places to choose from in Myrtle Beach and are glad that you picked us. We are looking forward to seeing you again next time!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Compass Cove but our 1st off season trip. We arrived Nov 21st about 11pm so check in was a breeze. We stayed until the 25th. This was our 1st stay in the Schooner building. I requested a higher floor and we could not have been more pleased. The Schooner bldg is 4 floors high(with elevators), all ocean front rooms & we were in room 412 which was a corner room with an entire wall of windows/sliding glass door with an unobstructed view of the ocean. The building is attached to a parking deck which makes for super easy access to your room. We parked on the 4th level of the deck, luggage carts were right there & it was a very short walk to our room. We were directly over the Tiki Bar & the shuffleboard courts. I will say that shuffleboard is not a quiet game & we could hear folks playing even with the sliding door closed. The room was super clean & updated. There was a nice deep closet that easily held our hanging clothes, coats shoes & empty suitcases. There was a partial kitchen with a convection microwave, a sink, a full size fridge/freezer, several cabinets & plenty of dishes - plates, glasses, silverware, etc. The bathroom was very nice with a granite type counter top and a mirror that both ran the length of the bathroom. Plenty of room for my husband & I to get ready at the same time. There was also a tub/shower combo. The water pressure in the shower was pretty bad but for a vacation that was no problem. The closet, kitchen & bath areas were all connected & tiled. The rest was carpeted. There were two queen beds, two very comfy upholstered arm chairs for lounging, a round dining/game table with sides you could fold down & three dining chairs with upholstered seats. Plenty of seating which was very nice for a room that size. There was also a dresser with a flat screen TV. The balcony was wider than most & had two plastic chairs & a small plastic end table. We spent hours sitting out on the balcony because you are right on the beach. It was windy & cool but very sunny. We were completely protected from the wind on the balcony & were able to sit out in shorts & t-shirts. We ordered take out from the Crow's Nest one night & the prices were reasonable, it was ready very quickly & the staff was very friendly. The resort is centerally located & is close to shopping & entertainment. It was a wonderful relaxing & romantic getaway & we will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Higher floors of Schooner bldg have better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Beachbum37,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your recent stay. We are so glad to see that you have made Compass Cove Resort your choice destination in the Myrtle Beach area. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I could not have asked for a better stay! This is the first time we tried compass cove but after reading reviews it was an easy choice. Everything from check in to check out was perfect. Only hiccup was we were originally put in first floor of the schooner but after a quick call to the front desk they helped us move directly above us on the second floor for a better view of the ocean. Housekeeping was did an excellent job each day and even made great small talk with asking how our trip was and everything. Room was very clean and reasonable size for the price. We spent most of our time in the indoor pool area and learned our last day that there was an even bigger one in the next building over, next time though! Thank you all for a great time and definitely will be back! Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a non first floor unit for a better view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear john g,

We are glad to hear that our staff was able to get you relocated to an area that you enjoyed more while you were here! Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Compass Cove Resort for your vacation. We hope to see you again very soon!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, MyrtleBeachHotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.