We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a relaxing holiday.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
30% Off Summer Stays
Ranked #31 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a relaxing holiday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

the front desk staff was very polite and helpfull upon arrival.the studio room we had was very clean and just what we expected.i used the exercise room every morning.the crows nest was a very enjoyable place for happy hour and the staff was a blast.i would stay here again.

Room Tip: look on their web page and what you see is what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear robert g,

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the Compass Cove Resort! Thank your for choosing to stay with us as we understand there are many places to choose from in Myrtle Beach and are glad that you picked us. We are looking forward to seeing you again next time!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    897
    337
    199
    157
See reviews for
1,594
582
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to Compass Cove but our 1st off season trip. We arrived Nov 21st about 11pm so check in was a breeze. We stayed until the 25th. This was our 1st stay in the Schooner building. I requested a higher floor and we could not have been more pleased. The Schooner bldg is 4 floors high(with elevators), all ocean front rooms & we were in room 412 which was a corner room with an entire wall of windows/sliding glass door with an unobstructed view of the ocean. The building is attached to a parking deck which makes for super easy access to your room. We parked on the 4th level of the deck, luggage carts were right there & it was a very short walk to our room. We were directly over the Tiki Bar & the shuffleboard courts. I will say that shuffleboard is not a quiet game & we could hear folks playing even with the sliding door closed. The room was super clean & updated. There was a nice deep closet that easily held our hanging clothes, coats shoes & empty suitcases. There was a partial kitchen with a convection microwave, a sink, a full size fridge/freezer, several cabinets & plenty of dishes - plates, glasses, silverware, etc. The bathroom was very nice with a granite type counter top and a mirror that both ran the length of the bathroom. Plenty of room for my husband & I to get ready at the same time. There was also a tub/shower combo. The water pressure in the shower was pretty bad but for a vacation that was no problem. The closet, kitchen & bath areas were all connected & tiled. The rest was carpeted. There were two queen beds, two very comfy upholstered arm chairs for lounging, a round dining/game table with sides you could fold down & three dining chairs with upholstered seats. Plenty of seating which was very nice for a room that size. There was also a dresser with a flat screen TV. The balcony was wider than most & had two plastic chairs & a small plastic end table. We spent hours sitting out on the balcony because you are right on the beach. It was windy & cool but very sunny. We were completely protected from the wind on the balcony & were able to sit out in shorts & t-shirts. We ordered take out from the Crow's Nest one night & the prices were reasonable, it was ready very quickly & the staff was very friendly. The resort is centerally located & is close to shopping & entertainment. It was a wonderful relaxing & romantic getaway & we will definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Higher floors of Schooner bldg have better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Beachbum37,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your recent stay. We are so glad to see that you have made Compass Cove Resort your choice destination in the Myrtle Beach area. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I could not have asked for a better stay! This is the first time we tried compass cove but after reading reviews it was an easy choice. Everything from check in to check out was perfect. Only hiccup was we were originally put in first floor of the schooner but after a quick call to the front desk they helped us move directly above us on the second floor for a better view of the ocean. Housekeeping was did an excellent job each day and even made great small talk with asking how our trip was and everything. Room was very clean and reasonable size for the price. We spent most of our time in the indoor pool area and learned our last day that there was an even bigger one in the next building over, next time though! Thank you all for a great time and definitely will be back! Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a non first floor unit for a better view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear john g,

We are glad to hear that our staff was able to get you relocated to an area that you enjoyed more while you were here! Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Compass Cove Resort for your vacation. We hope to see you again very soon!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked a 3 bedroom condo through Hotels.com and I was a bit skeptical after reading some reviews. Check in was a bit rushed but polite. We requested to have a room near my sister who was down for the weekend as well. My husband and I looked in on the room before unpacking our massive luggage load, the baby and a grandmother. Our room on the 9th floor of the Mariner's building was large and very clean! There were some spots where gum was dropped on the floor and the washing machine took forever to fill with water and leaked but that was the only thing to complain about. We did not eat breakfast at the resort restaurant. My husband went swimming in the 'indoor' pool and it was so hot I had to leave after ten minutes. This is a really nice resort for family getaways especially with the well stocked kitchen!

Room Tip: Stay in the Mariners Building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear missbell910,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us at the Compass Cove Resort. We appreciate your feedback and will be addressing your concerns with our management team so that your next stay will be even more enjoyable. We apologize for the issues that you encountered during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Taylor Robinson
Front Office Manager
taylor.robinson@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We arrived very late and even though the shuttle service from the airport to thehotel was not tone found it was only $10 in a cab we were very pleased to find the room very we'll equipped and the beds very comfortable I would recommend to larger groups as there was 4 double beds and 2 bath in this 3 bed condo
Ron from Australia

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Ron J,

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It is not often we receive guests traveling as far of a distance as you have but we are happy that we met your expectations. Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and we hope see you again the next time you are state side!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

our stay here was great arrived on monday the 19 checked in kinda cool room was very clean staff was good elevators were great we stayed on 15th floor never had to wait for elevator it was right outside our door always stayed up on 15. Pools were clean warm hot tubs also clean NO COMPLAINTS from me

Room Tip: you have 3 building to choose from we chose the pinnacle you never had to go outside to get to a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Dariah H,

Thank you for your review and for staying here at the Compass Cove Resort. We are so happy that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of your room. We look forward to being your new choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Compass Cove Resort last month in the Mariner and had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the view was amazing. We were sad to leave but while at the airport just before boarding the plane - one of our group realized she did not have her Droid cell phone. She thought she had left it in the room on the bed but in calling we found out the laundry had been collected. The laundry said they would look for it but I didn't have much hope.
To my surprise that evening she received a call from laundry staff that they had found it! The next day she made plans with the front desk to have it shipped to Michigan. She has since received her phone and the great pictures from her trip. I want to thank the staff for their assistance and would gladly recommend this resort. We will be back as soon as we can. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Winnie F,

Thank you for sharing a review of your stay at Compass Cove Resort. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I am so happy we were able to find and return the missing cell phone from your group. At Compass Cove, we take great pride in offering the best customer service we can. I hope you and your family will consider staying with us again soon. Happy holidays!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.