We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you want clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Oceanfront rooms - $59
Ranked #22 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sophia, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“you want clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

our stay here was great arrived on monday the 19 checked in kinda cool room was very clean staff was good elevators were great we stayed on 15th floor never had to wait for elevator it was right outside our door always stayed up on 15. Pools were clean warm hot tubs also clean NO COMPLAINTS from me

Room Tip: you have 3 building to choose from we chose the pinnacle you never had to go outside to get to a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Dariah H,

Thank you for your review and for staying here at the Compass Cove Resort. We are so happy that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of your room. We look forward to being your new choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,456
    819
    298
    177
    142
See reviews for
1,441
525
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Compass Cove Resort last month in the Mariner and had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the view was amazing. We were sad to leave but while at the airport just before boarding the plane - one of our group realized she did not have her Droid cell phone. She thought she had left it in the room on the bed but in calling we found out the laundry had been collected. The laundry said they would look for it but I didn't have much hope.
To my surprise that evening she received a call from laundry staff that they had found it! The next day she made plans with the front desk to have it shipped to Michigan. She has since received her phone and the great pictures from her trip. I want to thank the staff for their assistance and would gladly recommend this resort. We will be back as soon as we can. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Winnie F,

Thank you for sharing a review of your stay at Compass Cove Resort. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room and that you found our staff friendly and helpful. I am so happy we were able to find and return the missing cell phone from your group. At Compass Cove, we take great pride in offering the best customer service we can. I hope you and your family will consider staying with us again soon. Happy holidays!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Compass Cove, namely the Pinnacle Tower, has undergone some major renovations and is a wonderful place to stay. It is right on the beach, beautiful sand, and the staff could not be more accommodating. I visited for a week in November, the weather was really great and sunny. The rooms are updated, complete with new rug, draperies, and bed covers. Very nice kitchenette with full refrigerator, stove and dishes and pots and silverware. Definitely will come back again!

Room Tip: Upper floors in Pinnacle (we stayed in 1061) are away from the pool and beach noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear CJW199,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking the time to write this review. Indeed a lot has changed throughout the whole resort since your last stay with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the upgrades we have chosen over the last few years as we try to keep up with the needs of our guests. We hope your next visit is sooner than your last. Six years is a long time between vacations! Thank you again and we hope to see you real soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I shared our 4th wedding annivesary at this ocean front resort. It was very very clean. The front desk staff was very polite and nice. We enjoyed every minute of it. The kitchen area was clean. The carpet looked brand new...we stayed in room 350.

Room Tip: Very Cheap and Very Clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Karissa W,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove for this special trip for you and your husband. Congratulations from all of us here at Compass Cove. We are glad to see that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. We hope to become your destination for all of your anniversaries still to come. We pride ourselves on great customer service along with a clean and comfortable room for our guests. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our stay at Compass Cove was great, even though the weather was not. The room was very nice and clean with a beautiful view of the ocean. We were given the exact room that we had booked even though we arrived a day early. The staff at the front desk were very pleasant and always helpful. All of the staff were very polite. The lady at the golf office was just fabulous. She was funny and nice and very helpful. There was lots to do even though the weather kept us off the beach and the golf course, the indoor water facilities were great, enjoyed the pool and the hot tub very much. Also had a great gym (very important to me). We checked out 2 days early because of the weather without a problem, they gave us credit for our 2 nights which we totally plan on using in the spring. It was our first time visiting Myrtle Beach but definitely won't be our last and when we return it will be to Compass Cove.

Room Tip: Pinnacle Building Oceanfront (Rm 1262) great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Imlandrn04,

Thank you so much for your review of Compass Cove! We are sad to hear that the weather did not cooperate with your stay, but that you found your accomodations perfect! We appreciate your comments about the staff you encountered, and will pass them along to the appropriate departments (especially Miss. Jeannie in the golf department). We are sorry to hear that you checked out early due to the weather, but hope that in the future you choose Compass Cove for all your vacation needs!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

i have stayed here a total of 5 times. i go down to Myrtle Beach every November. Although not a gleaming new resort hotel, it is always clean, and, has a very high level of friendly service. rooms range from your basic hotel room with an added fridge and stove, to very nice 3 bedroom condos. lots of rooms with direct beach views. lots of water features...pools, lazy river, hot tubs. buffet breakfast is good and included in all golf packages.
Crows nest is their lounge and features cold drinks and bar food. lots of places to chose from in this city, but the service keeps bringing me back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Cardzz55,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay here at Compass Cove was. We are so glad that you have stayed with us multiple times and that each time you leave, your stay was just as wonderful as the last. We hope that you enjoyed your golf trip and greatly look forward to seeing you next November! At Compass Cove we take great pride in the cleanliness and service provided to our guests, and are thrilled that our service keeps bringing you back! Again, thank you so much for your comments and we will be seeing you next year!

Sincerely,

Caitlin Newman
Administrator
caitlin.newman@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I just had a great time at Compass Cove. The oceanfront double efficiency was clean, with very comfortable beds and pillows. The view was amazing! The breakfast at Compass Rose was delicious with so much to choose from. Everyone was friendly and helpful. So many swimming pools and several lazy rivers, indoors and out. Everything we needed was right there on location. We did alot of sight seeing but you could easily spend your whole week at this resort and never have to leave the place! Beach access was just steps away! If you want a fun place to swim, exercise and relax or a place where you can just enjoy all of God's creation, you won't be disappointed at Compass Cove. I loved it so much that immediately after check out, I made reservations for next year!!! Thank you Compass Cove and thank You Jesus for a wonderful vacation!!!
Sincerely,
Linda

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Inhishands4ever,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Compass Cove and for sharing a review of your experience. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed everything we have to offer so much that you already planned your stay for next year! We look forward to seeing you again soon. We will be sure to keep a spot on the beach for you! Enjoy the holidays and have a happy new year!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyrtleBeachHotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.