We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation, so relaxing and what a beautiful view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Best vacation, so relaxing and what a beautiful view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I just had a great time at Compass Cove. The oceanfront double efficiency was clean, with very comfortable beds and pillows. The view was amazing! The breakfast at Compass Rose was delicious with so much to choose from. Everyone was friendly and helpful. So many swimming pools and several lazy rivers, indoors and out. Everything we needed was right there on location. We did alot of sight seeing but you could easily spend your whole week at this resort and never have to leave the place! Beach access was just steps away! If you want a fun place to swim, exercise and relax or a place where you can just enjoy all of God's creation, you won't be disappointed at Compass Cove. I loved it so much that immediately after check out, I made reservations for next year!!! Thank you Compass Cove and thank You Jesus for a wonderful vacation!!!
Sincerely,
Linda

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Inhishands4ever,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Compass Cove and for sharing a review of your experience. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed everything we have to offer so much that you already planned your stay for next year! We look forward to seeing you again soon. We will be sure to keep a spot on the beach for you! Enjoy the holidays and have a happy new year!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Accounting Manager
sarah.cornell@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,524
    863
    327
    187
    150
See reviews for
1,520
564
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Top Contributor
384 reviews 384 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My mom and I recently spent 4 nights at the Compass Cove and the wonderful winter rate of 49 plus tax for oceanfront. We had a wonderful view. Not any real issues were noted, excited some workers who were doing work on, i think, the stairwell, we there really late and were singing and being loud. Also, when we got there, they told us we had to park on one of two floors because the rest of the garage was being powerwashed. The next day, we had to move our vehicle so the two floors could be powerwashed. The front desk staff were professional but very dry. But the room was very clean, was cleaned daily and was very well-valued. Would stay here again and would recommend to other guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear KentuckyTravelBug80,

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. We would, however, like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the pressure washing of our parking garage. The company that was pressure washing the garage was able to complete the top 3 floors the first day and then continued on to the bottom 2 floors the next. This should have been better explained to you at check in and for this lack of communication on our part, we do sincerely apologize. Here at Compass Cove, we pride ourselves on great customer service and providing a clean, safe environment for our guests. We hope that you will continue to choose Compass Cove when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is an older property, but we have stayed two times and found it to be okay. We have stayed in the four story building (Schooner I think?) and both times found the room to be very clean. Incredible, unimpeded view of the ocean. Breakfast restaurant is quite nice and the food was better than expected. Many pools to choose from, including some fun kiddie pools.

Downsides? The elevators are old and sketchy. Cross your fingers there. Pools can be iffy on the cleanliness. My son got choked on water and threw up in the pool and the staff didn't seem overly concerned when I immediately notified them.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Robin1974,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and for choosing Compass Cove Resort. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your room and the breakfast at the Compass Rose. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced with our pools. I assure you that our pools are cleaned routinely each morning. We also check the chemicals multiple times per day to assure we are within safety regulations. We hope that the issues you encountered will not deter you from staying with us in the future. Thank you again for choosing to stay at Compass Cove and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for one night. We had tickets for a show at the House of Blues, & I wanted to stay someplace I haven't stayed in Myrtle Beach before. (Very few places here I haven't stayed in) The room was great! Oceanfront view was amazing. Staff was very friendly, & helpful. Elevators all worked, & came to our floor quickly. Pool looked nice even though we didn't swim in it. Fun place to stay, convenient to shopping, shows, food, & airport. My only complaint is that the bathroom was small, it was very nice, & clean, just a little small. Overall I would recommend to anyone, & I will stay here again. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear CooksCorner,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be your new choice hotel in the Myrtle Beach area. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service along with a clean, friendly and safe environment for all of our guests. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Compass Cove Resort provides fantastic service for those looking for a golf packages for 2 people up to however many you may need. Our group of 24 just returned from a golf package last week and were all very pleased with our trip. The many amenities that surround the property provide countless opportunties for our group to mingle. Special thanks to the Compass Rose restuarant for their fabulous breakfast buffets!!

Room Tip: Junior Suites have two separate sleeping areas and now have TV's in each of the rooms. Best valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear TORTRVLR,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking time to write this review. We are glad to see that your group enjoyed staying with us and that you all enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the Compass Rose. We hope to see you again on your next golf adventure!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My family has stayed at Compass Cove quite a number of times over the years. Everything at the resort was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very spacious, and the best were extremely comfortable. The location is convenient to get where you want to go without much hassle. I certainly will stay again on a future trip to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear CooksCorner,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove and taking time to write this review. We are glad to see that we are your choice destination when you visit the Myrtle Beach area. We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. See you soon!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Me and my 3 kids 5,9, and 10 stayed over night. Their report cards were good and didnt have school on Monday. The winter rates were advertised and it was affordable for us. The rooms are very clean, the staff was professional. The indoor pool and slide was on top of the world to my kids. That is the reason we chose this resort, for the indoor pool and slide. Only thing I could have had a problem with, was there was not any complimentary coffee. Next time I will take my own.

Room Tip: Ocean view is beautiful, They put us on the end, maybe they thought we would be loud with 3 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CompassCoveResort, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Angela C,

Thank you for choosing Compass Cove for your quick getaway. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our off-season rates. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service and a clean, safe enviroment for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, hopefully for more than just one night!

Sincerely,

Joe Gibbons
Rooms Division Manager
joe.gibbons@compasscove.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.