We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roanoke VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I took a New Years Eve trip to Myrtle Beach and stayed at the Compass Cove.This was our first time staying there and I thought it was really nice. I am not one to go to Myrtle Beach in the summer time, because I don't like crowds, but I could see where Compass Cove would be a great place for families, because the amenities are awesome!! The amenities were great considering that it was December...so I can only imagine that it would be really nice when everything is in full swing during the summer!! We stayed in the Pinnacle building, which I highly recommend. It is a really good location. We had the breakfast buffet included in our package, and it was very good!! We never ate at the Crows Nest, but we did go by on New Years for Karaoke, and it was very crowded, so we didn't stay to long, but it was fun. The staff overall was very nice and accommodating. Check in and check out was also smooth. If we decide on another trip during the off season, to Myrtle Beach, we would surely come back to Compass Cove!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south end of the Pinnacle building, have better elevator service!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    860
    322
    186
    150
See reviews for
1,512
558
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bladenboro nc
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Great location, great indoor & heated outside pools, hot tubs & saunas...This place has something for all ages. They have 3 different bldgs and no matter which bldg you're in, you will have close & easy access to pool options. I was in the pinnacle bldg, room# 768. I arrived on 12/31/11 & left 1/2/12. This room had great ocean front view. There is nothing that I can say negative about this hotel..I will definitely be back.. We also had a great deal on the price..

Room Tip: pinnacle bldg #768 - great ocean front view. close access to elevator that will take you straight d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

They must of needed clean filters for the room, had one of those funny smells to it. It was in the older portion. Pretty old bldg, but allowed us to have our dog with us, which is allowed in the winter months. Paid around $100 which include the pet fee. Would prob look elsewhere or definitely would check the room prior to renting. If we had spent more than one night we would have demanded a different room. No internet was available either.

Room Tip: We were place directly in front of a pool, which made it hard to see the ocean, because of all the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

My 2nd stay at this resort and this time I bumped up to the three bedroom OF. My last stay was 2 BR OF. It was worth the money once I moved to a condo on a higher floor. I arrived late at night from a long trip with kids in tow to be placed on the 6th or 7th floor. I did not check out my OF view until early the next morning when I drew the blinds to catch the sunrise on the ocean. Imagine my surprise to see the roof of the smaller hotel building with beer bottles and other debris. Since this is the beach that also meant sea gulls. Contacted the front desk and was told that it was considered oF althoguh more than 2/3 of my view was obstructed. I was moved to the 14th floor within 2 hours and the hotel sent someone to move my things after we repacked. Would not comp breakfast or lunch but sent a fruit basket.

I was mostly disappointed with the lack of business center at this grand three building 21 water attraction resort. When I needed to print important confidential documents for my job the hotel did not have printers, fax or Office 2010 access for guest. The computers had Office 2010 but only the managers had access and the one on duty was unwilling to accommodate me or my deadline. That meant packing me and the kids up from the beach and various pools to find a Staples or Office Depot to meet my government deadlines. I just expected more from a hotel in MB where tourism is all year and hosting is the name of their game. I know I was suppose to be on vacation but if you can provide gamerooms, exerciserooms, etc... you need to provide somemething for the business person.

Room Tip: 3BR OF Conddo is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C, Manager at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Tammy,

I would first like to thank you for staying at Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort and for taking a moment to write a review about your experience. Your feedback is extremely important to us! I apologize that you were not satisfied with the view from your room upon arrival, but I am glad to hear that we could move you to a higher floor to improve your experience. I would also like to apologize for our lack of a business center. This is a suggestion that we have taken very seriously. I am happy to tell you that we are currently undergoing renovations to add a business center on the second floor of our Schooner building (next to our conference room and arcade). This business center will house three computers and a printer to provide our vacationing guests with computer access for work related tasks and for printing coupons, airlines tickets, etc. I wish the business center had been completed in time for your stay so that you did not have to experience the inconvenience of leaving the resort. I do hope that in the future you find it helpful. I hope that you and your family enjoyed your stay and had a wonderful holiday season. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Beth Cornell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I arrived at this hotel and thought it looked ok for the amount of money it cost. When I arrived they messed up on my room because I had asked for a king bed with full kitchen when they sent me to my room I saw a TINY kitchen that didn't even have a full fridge. So then they tried giving me a room with two double beds. Finally on the third try they got it right and I recieved the room I had requested with a full kitchen and king bed. As soon as I got there I went to use the washroom and noticed two gross black small curly hairs in the bath tub. This right away grossed me out but I said well I guess you get what you pay for. After going for a nice long walk along the beach my husband and I return to the room and order our dinner while we were waiting for it to arrive he went to set the table. The first plate he grabed from the cupboard was dirty and had a nasty film on it. As he's setting the table with our dirty dishes I said I was going to lay down. I pulled down the sheets on the bed and noticed small curly black hairs all over the bed. When we requested new bedding they only brought new sheets not a new comfortater. The housekeeping lady put rthe new sheets on the bed and then put the old comfortater back on the bed! At this point I was SOOO disgusted I left immediately!!! It's too bad this hotel was dirty because they had a very nice resort. It also ruined the first day of my vacation because I was not stuck finding a new hotel that was CLEAN.

Room Tip: Check how clean your whole room is before you pay!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We visit Myrtle Beach twice a year. This was our first time staying at Compass Cove. Loved the variety of pools and hottubs. Stayed in efficiency-type room - perfect for two people for a short stay. Staff were friendly and accommodations were well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My husband and I wanted to take a quick weekend trip to Myrtle and decided to try Compass cove and loved it! We had an oceanfront room in the Scooner building and the room was fabulous! Everyone we ran into was great and our housekeeper always had a smile! We plan to return in the near future while the rates are still low and the beach is empty!

Room Tip: Although you might have a room on the first floor its still great walking right from your balcony to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort

Address: 2311 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family favorite, conveniently located near the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort has been entertaining the Grand Strand and Myrtle Beach area visitors for generations. Accommodations include one, two & three bedroom condos, efficiencies and suites along 720 feet of oceanfront beach. Compass Cove is known for its array of amenities including their 23 pool features. Race down 2 water slides, splash about in 6 indoor and outdoor pools, relax and drift down 3 indoor and outdoor lazy rivers, soak away your worries in several jacuzzi hot tubs, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyrtleBeachHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Cove Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Swamp Fox Myrtle Beach
Hotel Compass Cove Oceanfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.