We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oceanfront Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 5/3!
Ranked #30 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Oceanfront Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

If you are looking for an upscale property in Myrtle Beach, then I would recommend the Marriott Resort & Spa over the Anderson, Island Vista or Camelot by the Sea.

The resort has great service, two very large pools with access to others at the Villas (neighboring property) and has good food at the bar and restaurant. The food is pricey though for what it is.

I do like that the facility is extremely clean. The only drawback we have had so far is that there was one cheerio in our floor behind a chair hidden by the curtain....I would have probably missed it myself in cleaning, so I can cut some slack.

Service at the pool area is excellent, you just raise a flag that is attached to all chairs and they come right to you. I am a Platinum member at Marriott, therefore disappointed there is no free breakfast. I do like the free valet and internet though, which would have been paid for at other comparable hotels in the area.

The Marriott is not near any other hotels, so you have residential all around you and about 2.5 miles of beach before you reach other hotels on either side. Oversized hottub outside (16 people) and a nice indoor hottub and pool as well. There is a slide for the kids to keep them busy and is well staffed all day.

The drawbacks to me for this hotel are:

1. Small rooms for a beach stay as I traditionally like to have a kitchen on my beach stay to cook breakfast and eat a cheaper lunch.
2. No lazy river (all hotels should have this)
3. No "in-pool" lawn chairs. If you've never had this, it is a must when building new hotels...look up any RUI property in Mexico as they all have it.

For the price of $214.95 a night I would make a week stay of this property, but I would make a 5 night stay using 2 nights of Marriott points again.

We did get a very nice couples massage at the Spa and would recommend that to anyone.

****TV'S are not plasma......this does need to be upgraded****

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    240
    89
    39
    16
See reviews for
258
214
15
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wyckoff, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Everything was spacious - lobby, restaurants, bar, room, etc. You don't need 10+ pools at a hotel - quality always beats quantity. I only ate breakfast at the hotel, but the blueberry pancakes were very good. Nice bar to relax at the end of the day; would return there anytime with my family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Stayed using rewards points for 3 nights and was not impressed. The service was pretty good (a little rude in the indoor bar area but everyone else we encountered was very helpful and nice) but the hotel itself is not impressive. Our room was small, dated and dirty. Our socks were black from walking on the carpet and the maid didn't even wipe off the sink or tub while we were there. They need to spend some money updating the decor, tvs, and steam cleaning the carpets. There were several flying insects (mosquitos, gnats, etc.) in our room (probably because some rooms have balconies that let them in so I guess that's to be expected but it was annoying). The manager made it right for us but I still would not return - especially if I had to pay the $250 a night. Oh and for those Platinum members out there remember that the hotel does not provide free breakfast (because they are a resort and they do not have a concierge lounge) and the breakfast buffet, while very good, is ridiculously priced ($17.95 per person). It was convenient to have access to the nice pools and beach access however it is not walking distance to any restaurants or stores. So bottom line is - the place has potential but I don't think they've paid enough attention to the actual rooms in the hotel and it's not up to a Marriott resort's standards.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We just completed a four day stay at The Marriott Grande Dunes. The place is beautiful and the staff was great. Our room was 1409 and we had a great oceanview and a small balcony. They could use a new tv and our toliet seat moved alittle, but over all it was good. The staff is the best part. Everyone was very nice. We especially enjoyed Jessica who worked in the bar and the pool area too. She is very knowledgeable about the local area. The outlets are close by too with lots of stores. Has a great pool area and beach. There are also many areas to ride bikes. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We have stayed in this Marriott for the past four years straight in Myrtle Beach. It is one of the best facilities. They really spoil you and the customer service is out of this world. They set a high standard for the other Marriotts. It is clean and beautiful. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Great Location. Pools very well maintained, not overly crowded. Room was very clean and maintained. Front desk clerk and bellman rushed us, we felt as though we were rushed and not treated individually. We had to ask the bellman to walk away so that we could gather our information in order to check in. Overall, great experience. Beautiful decor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Arrived this past Sunday and staying 5 nights. One of the nicest Marriott resorts we've ever stayed at. Not cheap, but well worth the money. And it prices out the riff raff. Very new. Well kept. Excellent service. No hassel getting chairs at the pool. Central location to everything in Myrtle Beach. It's a resort you'd expect to see in the Carribean. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, Orbitz, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.