We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs work!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #32 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Needs work!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last few years...some for business and some for pleasure.

Pros:

Nice location
Lobby area is nice
Views from oceanfront rooms cant be beat
Some friendly employees

Cons:

Only single serve coffee makers in room and NO comp coffee in lobby
Rooms need updating (ex. Black out drapes full of holes and saggy mattresses)
Drinks at pool bar seriously weak
Lots of pool tiles broken and missing
Cushions on hammocks and chairs are nasty
Slow wifi
Thermostat in room worked about half the time
Too expensive for what you get

I hope this property will pay attention to some of these issues or they will lose our business.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookRay, Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear NcLetsGo

Thank you for writing a post in regards to your recent stay with us here at our resort. We appreciate all your very valuable information that you have provided. We will make sure that we get any and all issues that you have mentioned corrected for all future stays. Thank you for being such a loyal guest of ours and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    243
    91
    40
    16
See reviews for
261
219
15
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice property. The pool areas are fabulous, with kids areas, slides etc. came just before season and really enjoyed the relative quiet. Lots of people in the hotel, but it doesn't feel crowded yet. Beach is just separate from the pools, enough for privacy. The location is not in the busy section, between n. Myrtle and myrtle, giving the place a more isolated resort feel. You can't walk to anything, but I like that, it means it's harder for anything to walk to you!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

So went with family for a few days about a week ago. Really nice resort with clean facilities, gym, beautiful pool. The service, especially at the snack bar was wonderful. The manager was very accommodating in making whatever pizza, coffee drink we wanted.

A couple of things that could have made it even better (and 5 stars): the fitness classes were mostly at 8am, a bit early for a vacationer, eesh. The fitness center could've had a water cooler, makes sense for a gym. The pool bar, hmm, a happy hour in the afternoon is always appreciated. Know it's a hotel resort bar, but would drum up business, for sure, since there's really nothing else around. Works in the islands..

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little town sc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A little pricey. We are upgraded to an ocean view and it was great. Front desk staff enjoy their jobs and knowledgeable. Will return. Only concern was a cigar smoker on the next patio. I asked the manager to speak to the guest and was told he was very famous person and they did not want to lose his business. He checked out the next day.

Room Tip: Ocean view high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at this property in April while in town for the Monday After the Masters golf tournament. He travels weekly for business and stays appx 150+ nights a year in Marriott properties (Platinum Elite status). For leisure travel, we usually stay at Marriott or Ritz Carlton properties either on reward points or our own dollar. This Marriott has very nice common areas: the lobby, restaurants, pool, beach, etc. The rooms however are a completely different story. We had a room on the 3rd floor (apparently a Platinum upgrade?) and it was very worn, peeling wallpaper in the bathroom, dead bug on the windowsill in bathroom, and very worn carpeting. The worst part is that despite the "Do not Disturb" sign on the door, housekeeping tried to enter our room on two different occasions! So rude and unacceptable. I tried to give feedback upon checkout, but was met with a blank stare and mumbled "sorry". We won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrookRay, Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear JennGChicago,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to your most recent stay at our resort. As we strive to provide the best in service and standard to all our guests, I can see that we must have fallen short during your stay and for that I would like to sincerely apologize. Please know that we take our service standards to the highest regards and we will make sure to get all of these issues corrected for all future stays. Thank you again for all the very valuable feedback and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to have you back with on your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area, as that we area able to show the services and standard that we are known for here at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The wife and I enjoyed our stay. Property was well maintained with professional staff. The price/value during the in-season rates is highly questionable. I would highly recommend in the off-season. Would not pay the exorbitant rates for the in-season.

Room Tip: Travel here in the off-season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived, room key worked fine. Then the problems began. It took ten keys and 24 hours to get the lock changed and the issue resolved. I asked for the manager and Anthony came up to help after having the head engineer and two others try to resolved the problem. Finally the lock was replaced. We had to stand in the hall every time until we could try new keys (they said it was fixed). Anthony took off one night for us because of the problems, gave me some extra points and did offer us another room, but we were connected to my daughter's room and didn't want to move. Yes, Jennifer was great at the pool on the weekend and Jen was very good on Tues. Rooms were nothing special. I can't say that the maid was very good. If something was on the floor, that's where it stayed. Didn't look like she cleaned bathroom very well, just replaced towels, shampoo, etc. Love the property, pool , breakfast was good and ocean and location.

Room Tip: high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.