We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #32 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Family of four for three nights. Was impressed on how clean given the high traffic. Rooms were comfortable and beds were very comfortable. Parking was easy, however, it rained over the weekend and we had to park in the parking garage basement. It ended up flooded and all kinds of mud and water at the stairwell. Broken downspout created the issue. Loved all the hammocks. Seemed we can get one at anytime, however, they need to remove the mulch underneath. Wet feet brings the mulch on the hammock and creates a mess. The staff were all very welcoming and always cheerful. The elevators were fast and always available. Pools were clean and warm. Had to have a towel card but the staff was very flexible in giving towels out. We did get a roll away bed. Used it one night. It was a horrible mattress. A bed of nails would have better. Not kidding either. They did to upgrade those and replace ASAP.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Schrothr,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Thank you for noting the parking garage situation with the rain as well as the roll away bed. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your feedback. We are glad to hear that the staff was great and the room was clean and comfortable. We hope to see you back on future vacations and hopefully next time there will just be sunny skies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    217
    80
    36
    14
See reviews for
237
186
13
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Came here for four nights as a quick getaway for our sons birthday. Hadn't been to Myrtle Beach before and had heard mixed reviews so we were nervous. Wasn't a problem because this resort is not in the center of all the night life and activity of the main drag in Myrtle Beach. For us that was a big plus- if you want that kind of energy then stay elsewhere. If you want calm and quiet luxury on the beach then this is the place for you. You can easily get to the busy center if you want to so the location is very good.

The staff were extremely nice and welcoming. Our room had an ocean view and was clean and spacious. The pools are large and weren't crowded while we were there. Not much shade at the pools so if you want an umbrella get out there early. The beach is beautiful and the ocean warm. If you are staying longer then the Marriott villas next door look very nice too.

Overall a very nice first experience of Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear tlwmkwk,

Happy birthday to your son! I hope he enjoyed his time here. We are happy to hear that you like the resort's location in Myrtle Beach. Thank you for sharing your great review of the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights! Exceptional view and good room. The staff was very accommodating. The front desk staff met our expectations and more. We received a complimentary upgrade to an oceanfront room. Our overall impression of the hotel was an A.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Joel T,

Thank you for sharing how much you loved the hotel. That is wonderful we were able to upgrade your sleeping room. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Spent five full days at this lovely resort for a conference and left very satisfied. Greeted right away by attentive staff and quickly checked into our 'parking' lot view room. For a family of five we've always tried to upgrade to a larger room or suite to feel at ease, this room was large enough, clean and comfortable. The mini fridge was quite useful and every millimeter was utilized! Bathroom was a tad outdated but clean and the amenities were very nice. Shower is the standard water saver and pressure in the shower fluctuated during which time of day you used it. WiFi is complementary but with this service you get what you pay for; like most hotels the strongest signal is in the main lobby only, pretty spotty in rooms and non existent outside the building (balcony included).

Felt a paid upgrade to an Ocean-Front room was worth the investment and couldn't be happier; the desk manager was able to find one for us on day two and it was well worth the price. Had the same size room with the addition of a full balcony; table and chairs. With three small children it is nice that Mom and Dad can still have our time and a glass of wine sitting outside and enjoying the sound of the ocean and looking at the night activities of the resort. It is always a nice treat to wake up and open the curtains to the view of the ocean and pools of the resort!

There are two pools and both very family friendly; and such is the resort in itself. We noted a varied clientele of all types of folks and families alike and everyone seemed to all have a nice time and even enjoy each others company! My kids met other kids and my daughter made an email 'pen-pal' from Canada! The pools are immaculate and at the perfect temperature, crystal clear and a lot of fun to wade around and swim in. As with mosts resorts I've ever stayed at; most if not all premium pool-side lounge chairs were 'claimed' by towel by 0800! So; if you come out after that you will still find chairs, but possibly more removed from the pool. This seems a little unfair as a lot of couples didn't even present to the pool until closer to dinner with their claimed chairs sitting with towels and unoccupied since 0800!

The resort does a wonderful job on property at and surrounding the pools. each set of lounge chairs and each table has a paddle with menu printed on it. You can signal the waitstaff with that or raise a 'flag' on the chair. The poolside menu is varied and very reasonably priced including alcoholic beverages. The salads we enjoyed at lunch were well worth the price and loaded with crisp greens, fresh veggies and tasty grilled chicken or tuna. The Margheritas and Mojitos were fabulous...as was the sweet tea! All this is served promptly by the most pleasant and happy staff!

If you have children I highly recommend you grab a kids activity sheet at check in. Throughout the day the fantastic staff has sporadic activities for the kids on and about the pool. Some require a small fee and most are free. These are absolutely great and well timed to keep the kids interested and a great way to make new friends. My kids adored a rare opportunity to SCUBA dive with a master Dive Instructor on property for only $15/per child! Otherwise they loved the chip/putt and hula-hoop competitions, the water balloon fights, the scavenger hunts and other events! The front desk even has baskets of DVDs for rainy days! The kids also have use of a great game room right inside from the pools featuring Nintendo Wii's, and Playstations.

Beach was very nice and un-viewable from the pool area as their is a berm between the two. This natural wall, I'm sure serves many purposes, however, I felt it decreased an otherwise great view and prevented day time breezes on property. The city of Myrtle Beach regulates the beaches and according the hotel you must rent for $35/day (at time of this writing) a set of beach chairs/umbrella. Even with this accordance we noticed plenty of private chairs closer to the water. Speaking of policies, the hotel also forbids private coolers and drinks at the pool. To that, we noticed quite a few folks using them and having there own beverages. We then quickly took advantage of bringing an iced cooler to the pool during the day and enjoying plenty of cold kid and adult beverages while we swam and relaxed. I would advise that if you plan on doing this also to be as discrete as possible and use cozys to hold your beers or pour your wine into another cup as not to showboat that your getting away with this. I think as long as your respectful and do this incognito the hotel will turn the blind eye...for now.

Meals at the hotel were fantastic and we never had a bad dinner, breakfast or cocktail. Service was impeccable and even a late night call for housekeeping to get deeper sheets that better stayed on our beds was remedied in moments. The beds we had were supremely comfortable and had a pillow top. This was one of the few hotels that got really cool with the ac (per our setting) and that is a HUGE plus for my family as we like it cold at night.

Overall, a great this is a fantastic hotel with attentive and caring staff with lots of features and a great property in a wonderful location of Myrtle Beach. I wouldn't necessary think it would be my first choice for a romantic getaway as there were a gazillion families and business attendees here, but for families it's absolutely perfect!

Room Tip: Although we didn't qualify, look into getting compensated for the breakfast buffet it is fantast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Ethernaut05,

Thank you for your detailed review of the resort. We truly appreciate all of your feedback and passing along all of this useful information to future guests. We are so happy that your family enjoyed their time here with us and we hope to have you back for future family vacations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson's Station
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

For anyone looking for the best place to stay in Myrtle Beach, then this place is for you. The resort is beautiful, the staff is a fine as they come and overall I do not think there is anywhere else in Myrtle Beach that comes close. I have very high standards and expectations when staying in a hotel, and they exceeded them all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear GodBlessAmerica1,

Thank you for your sweet review of the resort. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After seeing the outsides of the other hotels in Myrtle Beach, I have no doubt that this place is hands-down, the nicest. With that said, for a "4 star" resort, I would have not been real impressed had it been in a place less awful than MB.

Location: north of MB proper, but not necessarily in North MB. Pretty good spot, close to the highways, but away from the major crowds of the city. Hotel complex contains the typical Marriott time-share condos close by--it was somewhat confusing finding the actual hotel, but not a major issue. Hotel itself is directly on the ocean.

Hotel: I would say it's a popular place. We checked into our room around dinner time, and the process was easy. As a gold member, we were upgraded to a "ocean view room," which was much appreciated. They had all the requested amenities available for us. Overall though, this place was about as relaxing as a Vegas hotel. Tons of people, lobby always full, elevators always full--wait times during busy hours would be 5 min plus--and the pool area was a zoo. The pools are very nice, and the outside area is very well done. I prefer a more reserved scene, with less crowds. If you like a busy place, picking your pool side chair at 0800, then this is the place.

Rooms: our room was a king room, and very average. Price was in the $200s, so I can't be too critical, but there was nothing special about the room. At this hotel, the higher the floor, the better from a view-standpoint. The room TVs were pretty small, but flatscreen. Room was clean. Our second day, the maid service did not come by to clean till after 5pm, which isn't really acceptable.

Amenities: there was no starbucks, though the gift shop served Starbucks coffee. There was a room downstairs that had tons of video games set up for kids and a foosball table. The beach and pools were very nice.

Dining: the first night, we ate at the restaurant in the bar. Apparently they were overwhelmed. Our server was good, but it took a long time to get our food. Our dessert never actually came--we ended up leaving, and the manager ended up bringing the item up to our room, which was much appreciated. Mistakes happen in the kitchen, and they went out of their way to correct it, though the times leading up to that left much to be desired. There's a breakfast buffet ($18) that was quite good, and our server was excellent.

Overall: MB is not really the place we would normally seek out for a vacation. Crowded, touristy, cheesy, and very commercial. If you want culture and good restaurants, go to Charleston, if you want a relaxing beach vacation, go to Hilton Head.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are definitely better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriott1, Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear DoctorsK,
Thank you for responding to trip advisor regarding your recent stay at Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort and Spa. We appreciate your comments that our Hotel is hands-down the nicest. Our goal is to exceed all of our guests expectations. We also appreciate your loyalty being a gold member of Marriott Rewards Program. We apologize you had to wait on the elevators during your stay. Also we apologize that your did not receive your dessert while dining at The Bar. Thank you for the kind comments on our breakfast buffet and the server. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel was conveniently located in the area and only about 20 minutes max to all the major attractions in Myrtle Beach. The three pools and water slide were a nice feature as well. The room however could use improvement. The room was dated for one but also dirty in certain areas. The room was also missing the safe. Several of the employees were rude and inconsiderate. One night, the music in the pool area was left blasting through the night and made it impossible to get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriott1, Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Operaghost,
Thank you for responding to trip advisor and giving us your valuable feedback. Thank you for your positive comments on our pools and water slide. We will definitely look into the room you were staying in, and we apologize that you were missing a safe. We have addressed that issue, but thank you for bring it to our attention. The pool music is suppose to be turned off every night at 9:00pm. We are very sorry that it was left on and made it difficult for you to get a good night sleep. We will revisit that process to ensure it does not happen again. Thank you again for taking the time to respond about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.