We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning for the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #30 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Returning for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Enjoyed our stay. Great views, Good accommodations, comfortable bed and convenient parking. It was a cold weekend and except for the noise of the A/C outside the room we had a delightful stay They only 2 dings would be non plush towels and a sheet that kept come loose while sleeping.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear chuckcocke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the resort. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the cold weather. Next time, we would love to have you stay in one of our oceanfront guestrooms, so you can enjoy the sound of the ocean and take in the great views. And in the future, please just let our team know about the towels and sheets and we would have been happy to replace them for you. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    240
    89
    39
    16
See reviews for
258
214
15
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were here for 9 nights including Christmas, New Year's, and a week long bridge tournament. We had a terrific corner room. Staff bent over backwards to accommodate us with every request.
My only negative comments revolve around the aging building..public restroom plumbing and cranky air conditioning all over for example.
However, this is a lovely great location place to stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Dianne B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the resort. We appreciate your kind words about the staff and how they were able to accommodate all of your requests over your 9 nights stay.

With the resort being over 10 years old, wear and tear does happen over time. We are always looking for ways to improve, so thank you for the feedback regarding the condition of the resort. We hope you see you again the next time you come to Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Outerbanks of NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just completed a week long duplicate bridge tournament here. Bridge players unfortunately are not always an easy crowd to host. We found EVERY staff member we dealt with, bell, desk, room service, room cleaning, restaurant, all of them to be very friendly, helpful and well trained. Yes there were some hvac problems with the weather quickly rotating, sunny, stormy, warm, cold, and up to 500 players wanting room service during a 2 hour window and another up to 500 wanting restaurant or bar service at the same time. They handled everything we saw as professionally and quickly as anyone should reasonably expect. Thank you Marriott!

Room Tip: We got a better ver nice corner king room because we checked in early and did not care that the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear echobird,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the staff did a great job. Thank you for your kind words about how friendly, helpful and well trained everyone was that you encountered. Hopefully next time you stay with us, we can get the weather to cooperate! We hope you had a wonderful holiday and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The location and service are good but it's an older hotel that needs to be renovated. Everything shows signs of wear and tear. Furniture and decor are dated.

However, the service is great and staff are very friendly and accomodating. Food is good too with the exception of the poolside bar and grill. Didn't care for anything on their menu. We had an oceanview room which also gives you a full view of the roof of the adjacent building with loud air conditioning units on top of it. Not attractive at all and very loud too. If you can't get an ocean front, I would go with the garden view away from the air conditioners.

I would not stay here again unless the facility is remodelled but again your 4-star ocean front hotel choices in Myrtle Beach are limited, so it's this or nothing.

Room Tip: Keep away from air conditioning units on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear YYC2012,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the resort. We appreciate your kind words about the great service and friendly staff. We are sorry to hear that you felt the resort could use a renovation and that you did not enjoy the food by the pool. We are constantly seeking ways to improve. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will give the resort another chance the next time you make your way to Myrtle Beach. We would love to have you stay in a sleeping room that is more to your liking and hope you can experience the other amenities our resort has to offer. Happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

restaurant a bit pricey for the off-season, but the food was excellent and the service was good. the rooms were, well, roomy, and clean and comfortable and the rate was reasonable. the staff consistently went out of their way to say hello, to smile and to be helpful.

we were there for 4 nights and our conference was on-site. i saw no rough spots. everything i saw happened when it was supposed to and how it was supposed to. everythng worked. nothing broke.

we had a pleasant ocean view from the 15th floor. lovely. overall the site was well-maintained and designed for easy use. we could have walked across the corridor from our conference rooms to the attractive pools and directly to the contiguous beach. would that we'd been there for vacation so we'd have had more time to relax and enjoy.

the garage and open-air parking are no-fee and at lobby level -- very convenient. valet parking and assistance are readily available for those who need it.

this was my second stay here. the first, two years ago, was similar. i would not hesitate to return again.

if it's your first time, watch the signs carefully when you drive onto the property since marriott has some condo buildings as well as the hotel. however, once you've found your way it's not complicated. gps is your friend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear joebobbilly,

Thank you for your nice review of the resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt that the conference ran smoothly. We love the feedback about all the staff smiling and saying hello and that you felt the property was well maintained. We would love to have you back another time, so you can truly relax and take advantage of all of the resort's amenities. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were here again for Thanksgiving and got the usual great service.

Thanks to Carol on reception, Chesnay and Christian in the bar and Mo in Ocean's restaurant for looking after us and to the chambermaids (sorry for not knowing your names) for keeping room 908 (which was great as well) very comfortable.

We hope to visit for what will be a fifth time next year, maybe in a little warmer weather ideally.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear GreenMuggers,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of the resort. Thank you for mentioning all the associates that helped make your stay great. We appreciate your loyalty to the Myrtle Beach Marriott and we look forward to having you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Spent four days at a Law Enforcement Conference at the Dunes. The accommodations and meeting rooms were excellent and the staff was tremendously helpful with the electronics. Parking and breakfasts were great and the coffee was some of the best I have ever drunk.

Unfortunately, the meal at the awards night dinner was perhaps the worst I have ever eaten at a conference: the steaks were either raw-red or shoe-leather overcooked and given without any regard for our preferences (no body asked us what we wanted-a plate was just given to us.) At our table of ten, only one person was able to eat their whole steak. The mashed potatoes and veggies were good but the red velvet cake was, again, inedible: it had not only dried out but had "crusted." Nobody at our table ate all of their cake. The meal was so inedible, I went out later just to get a hamburger as I was still hungry. No tea or coffee was given-if you wanted it, you had to go to a "special" table in the back of the room. I bet the Marriott probably charged $40 per plate for this meal AND IT WASN'T WORTH IT!!!!!

Would recommend the Marriott for a conference but would really question the event staff about food preparation and get some assurances about quality of food prep.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Robert P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the resort. We appreciate your nice comments regarding the quality of the meeting rooms and the helpfulness of our staff. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal at the awards dinner. We strive for every guest to be satisfied with their meal and we apologize that we were not successful in this instance. Our executive chef oversees all food preparation and ensures that each dish is prepared properly. However, it can be challenging with a large banquet function to have the steaks match each guest's desired temperature. In the future, please just let one of our staff members know and they would have been happy to get you a new meal. We are always looking to improve, so thank you for this feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay overall, and we look forward to seeing you back for future conferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Venere, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.