We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, beautiful beach, but no guarantee on king bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #27 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Elkhorn, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay, beautiful beach, but no guarantee on king bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We traveled here on business, and I brought my husband to do a bit of golfing. The hotel is beautiful, with the beach right off the pool. The terrace is a great place to relax and catch the ocean breezes. Our room was clean and quiet - towards the back of the hotel but we did get a glimpse of the beach from our balcony. We only ate at one restaurant outside our business luncheons - the bar - and we received great service and the food was really good. Drinks by the pool were not strong, which I prefer.

The only puzzling and disappointing aspect of the visit was that we requested a king room and instead received a double. We were one of the first to arrive - others from our event who checked in later did get a king room with a view of the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Oneoffourteen,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor to tell others about everything our resort has to offer. We are happy to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy the resort's location of being right on the beach. We are sorry that we were not able to honor your request for a king bed. We do our best to get every guest into their requested bed type, but unfortunately our availability is sometimes limited. We would love to have you back for a future stay and ensure all your accommodation requests are met. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    228
    83
    36
    15
See reviews for
240
198
13
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed the end of August with two ocean front rooms. Rooms are small but fine. We loved our ocean view. Nice and quiet rooms. We liked the beach and pool areas. Not overly crowded for the time of year. Grandkids enjoyed all the pools. Food by the pool was good,as well as the waiter service. We had breakfast at the Starbucks which was fine for us.We were not happy with maid service. First two days were good. Rest of the time the bathroom wasn't cleaned well. I don't complain while there not trusting what would happen as a result. Myrtle Beach in the summer is good with a family with many nice things for kids to do. I wouldn't return to the area as a couple without children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear christeach2,

Thank you for sharing your review of the resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your sleeping room and the pool deck as well as the food. It is great that your grandchildren were able to have fun on their trip and get to take advantage of all of the kid friendly activities in Myrtle Beach. We are always looking for ways to improve, so thank you for your feedback regarding housekeeping. We wish you and your family a great time wherever your next vacation may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stay at least once a year and the staff this past trip seemed much more helpful than in the past. The hotel has stopped charging for parking, though there is a 15 resort fee. Being on the beach in a slightly exclusive area make is a better pick for us that Marina Inn at Grand Dunes (on the inter coastal waterway nearby). Rooms were good and a/c quiet. I would say the front desk staff we encountered (Dillon?) could be transferred to a Ritz at any time....that good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear ritzytopaz,

We are happy to hear that you felt the staff has improved and you enjoyed your sleeping room as well as the resort's location. Thank you for staying with us year after year. We hope to see you again next time you are in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I booked this hotel two weeks before our arrival and thought it was going to be great place to spend the last two days of our vacation while visiting the boy's sister. Upon arrival, I was wowed by the lobby. Check in seemed rushed. The desk agent said we had been upgraded to a full ocean view. However, he added, the room had two double beds although we requested one king. When the boy asked him if there were any king rooms available he said no. We went up to our room on the second floor and when we entered it smelt like you were in the pool house where they kept the chlorine. A full ocean view in this room was more like a partial ocean view. We swung open the Juliet doors and yes we could see the ocean, but we could also see the kiddies at the pool and their parents smoking butts and hear the pool music. Not for us. The real disappointment was the room itself. If we closed the curtains and guess what kind of hotel it was, it seemed more like a Comfort Inn than a Marriott. It didn't look dirty, but it just felt dirty. Please note, there is nothing wrong with a Comfort Inn, we've stayed there many times, just not on a price tag similar to what we were paying here. We decided it would make for a long two days to stay, and brought our luggage back down to the lobby to check back out. We were pleased that when we explained to the front desk staff that the resort just wasn't for us, that they were apologetic and offered to make us comfortable. We appreciated their efforts which help up to the Marriott brand and made the incident a little less painful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Flyergal,

We appreciate the time you took to post a review and provide your feedback as it helps us to ensure we live up to Marriott standards. I am sorry that we feel short in this instance and that you were disappointed by your accommodations. Thank you for the honest feedback. We hope you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay in the Myrtle Beach area and we wish you both a wonderful time wherever your next vacation may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

close to all attractions. super staff to all, employe"s . 5 stars, from us! gotta try a fireworks store ! we have never bought these before, But we did there, did not go crazy although, be careful of the places you light them? if anyone is in to fish+all ya can eat boy oh boy , get there soon, we are going back to finish what we started!!!! great stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear RICKANDCARMEN,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and go to enjoy all that Myrtle Beach has to offer. Thank you for your great comments about the property's location and the staff. We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have been coming to this resort for the last 5 years for my birthday celebration and will continue to do so. September is a wonderful time of year here at the beach. The hotel staff has always been accommodating and it has been so nice to see the same staff from year to year. We have visited the spa each year and it has always been one of the highlights of the trip.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Melonie D,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Myrtle Beach Marriott. We are thrilled to hear that you have been here for the last 5 years. Happy belated birthday! Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of the resort and the spa. We can't wait to have you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Upon arrival, you are wowed by the lobby, location and the fabulous view of the Atlantic Ocean. The rooms are OK, kind of small for a resort hotel and the evidence of wear and tear are really starting to show up. Carpet seams in nearly all hallways and major rooms are showing, marble thresholds are cracked, rusty access doors in the ceiling of the showers, gutters on the outside are leaking, the landscaping has not been kept up to the Marriot standards I have seen at other resort locations. The taxes and resort fees really add up, $15.00 per day added to the room for resort fee, room tax of $17.50 per day, Occupational taxes of $15.00 per day then tax on the resort fee of $1.35 per day- let's see- nearly $50 bucks a day for taxes, then valet parking is $18.00 per day. While it was a grand location on the Grand Strand, I won't be staying here again unless business requires it. I can get a condo much cheaper and have a microwave. There was a fridge in the room and a safe. The matress was not up to the quality I have experienced at other Marriot hotels, nor did they provide my extra pillows I requested, I reserved a king bed 6 weeks before my visit and got stuck with 2 doubles, I wasn't really happy about that either, when I pressed them on it, they just shrugged their shoulders and said limited availablity. Not what I expected at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear ChattaElder,

We are very sorry that you have had a poor experience at our resort. We always try to maintain Marriott's high quality standards and apologize if you feel we fell short in regards to upkeep. During the summer months, the resort does get some wear and tear and we apologize that this negatively impacted your stay. Each guest is notified online when booking a room that there are resort fees. I apologize if this was something you were not made aware of. We wish you wonderful travels wherever your next trip may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.