We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #37 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Hopewell Junction, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed the end of August with two ocean front rooms. Rooms are small but fine. We loved our ocean view. Nice and quiet rooms. We liked the beach and pool areas. Not overly crowded for the time of year. Grandkids enjoyed all the pools. Food by the pool was good,as well as the waiter service. We had breakfast at the Starbucks which was fine for us.We were not happy with maid service. First two days were good. Rest of the time the bathroom wasn't cleaned well. I don't complain while there not trusting what would happen as a result. Myrtle Beach in the summer is good with a family with many nice things for kids to do. I wouldn't return to the area as a couple without children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear christeach2,

Thank you for sharing your review of the resort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your sleeping room and the pool deck as well as the food. It is great that your grandchildren were able to have fun on their trip and get to take advantage of all of the kid friendly activities in Myrtle Beach. We are always looking for ways to improve, so thank you for your feedback regarding housekeeping. We wish you and your family a great time wherever your next vacation may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    205
    76
    36
    14
See reviews for
222
179
13
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stay at least once a year and the staff this past trip seemed much more helpful than in the past. The hotel has stopped charging for parking, though there is a 15 resort fee. Being on the beach in a slightly exclusive area make is a better pick for us that Marina Inn at Grand Dunes (on the inter coastal waterway nearby). Rooms were good and a/c quiet. I would say the front desk staff we encountered (Dillon?) could be transferred to a Ritz at any time....that good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear ritzytopaz,

We are happy to hear that you felt the staff has improved and you enjoyed your sleeping room as well as the resort's location. Thank you for staying with us year after year. We hope to see you again next time you are in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I booked this hotel two weeks before our arrival and thought it was going to be great place to spend the last two days of our vacation while visiting the boy's sister. Upon arrival, I was wowed by the lobby. Check in seemed rushed. The desk agent said we had been upgraded to a full ocean view. However, he added, the room had two double beds although we requested one king. When the boy asked him if there were any king rooms available he said no. We went up to our room on the second floor and when we entered it smelt like you were in the pool house where they kept the chlorine. A full ocean view in this room was more like a partial ocean view. We swung open the Juliet doors and yes we could see the ocean, but we could also see the kiddies at the pool and their parents smoking butts and hear the pool music. Not for us. The real disappointment was the room itself. If we closed the curtains and guess what kind of hotel it was, it seemed more like a Comfort Inn than a Marriott. It didn't look dirty, but it just felt dirty. Please note, there is nothing wrong with a Comfort Inn, we've stayed there many times, just not on a price tag similar to what we were paying here. We decided it would make for a long two days to stay, and brought our luggage back down to the lobby to check back out. We were pleased that when we explained to the front desk staff that the resort just wasn't for us, that they were apologetic and offered to make us comfortable. We appreciated their efforts which help up to the Marriott brand and made the incident a little less painful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Flyergal,

We appreciate the time you took to post a review and provide your feedback as it helps us to ensure we live up to Marriott standards. I am sorry that we feel short in this instance and that you were disappointed by your accommodations. Thank you for the honest feedback. We hope you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay in the Myrtle Beach area and we wish you both a wonderful time wherever your next vacation may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

close to all attractions. super staff to all, employe"s . 5 stars, from us! gotta try a fireworks store ! we have never bought these before, But we did there, did not go crazy although, be careful of the places you light them? if anyone is in to fish+all ya can eat boy oh boy , get there soon, we are going back to finish what we started!!!! great stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear RICKANDCARMEN,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and go to enjoy all that Myrtle Beach has to offer. Thank you for your great comments about the property's location and the staff. We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have been coming to this resort for the last 5 years for my birthday celebration and will continue to do so. September is a wonderful time of year here at the beach. The hotel staff has always been accommodating and it has been so nice to see the same staff from year to year. We have visited the spa each year and it has always been one of the highlights of the trip.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Melonie D,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Myrtle Beach Marriott. We are thrilled to hear that you have been here for the last 5 years. Happy belated birthday! Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review of the resort and the spa. We can't wait to have you back again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Upon arrival, you are wowed by the lobby, location and the fabulous view of the Atlantic Ocean. The rooms are OK, kind of small for a resort hotel and the evidence of wear and tear are really starting to show up. Carpet seams in nearly all hallways and major rooms are showing, marble thresholds are cracked, rusty access doors in the ceiling of the showers, gutters on the outside are leaking, the landscaping has not been kept up to the Marriot standards I have seen at other resort locations. The taxes and resort fees really add up, $15.00 per day added to the room for resort fee, room tax of $17.50 per day, Occupational taxes of $15.00 per day then tax on the resort fee of $1.35 per day- let's see- nearly $50 bucks a day for taxes, then valet parking is $18.00 per day. While it was a grand location on the Grand Strand, I won't be staying here again unless business requires it. I can get a condo much cheaper and have a microwave. There was a fridge in the room and a safe. The matress was not up to the quality I have experienced at other Marriot hotels, nor did they provide my extra pillows I requested, I reserved a king bed 6 weeks before my visit and got stuck with 2 doubles, I wasn't really happy about that either, when I pressed them on it, they just shrugged their shoulders and said limited availablity. Not what I expected at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear ChattaElder,

We are very sorry that you have had a poor experience at our resort. We always try to maintain Marriott's high quality standards and apologize if you feel we fell short in regards to upkeep. During the summer months, the resort does get some wear and tear and we apologize that this negatively impacted your stay. Each guest is notified online when booking a room that there are resort fees. I apologize if this was something you were not made aware of. We wish you wonderful travels wherever your next trip may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a hotel that appears to be many years older than it is. It's a heavily trafficked establishment and as a result is in desperate need of some tender care and investment. The rooms are basic and cheaply appointed in the extreme. Some in our group had ocean front viewes which were great, but all the rooms had poorly finished bathrooms and cheap, basic furnishings. The balconies were tiny and dirty and there was nothing that made you think fresh or modern anywhere above ground level. The elevators are antiques - dirty, damaged and in need of replacement. The check-in staff/reception employees were very pleasant as were the concierge/front door staff. The bar on the ground floor is my last comment. Beyond being old and tired, there is a young woman whose name tag announces she is from Boston MA. Wow. She needs to check her attitude at the door. A different door. But not here. Unhelpful, snippy and full of her own smart attitude, I was taken by how unhelpful someone in the service industry could be to paying customers.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear cervezaguy12,

We appreciate your honest review of our resort. We always try to maintain Marriott's high quality standards and apologize that we fell short in this instance in regards to the condition of the resort and the service by the pool. Our resort does get wear and tear over the summer months and we appreciate you giving your feedback on this, so that we can continue to improve. We apologize for the server's attitude by the pool. Please know this is an isolated incident and very rarely do we hear of an associate not being helpful and friendly. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We wish you wonderful travels wherever your next trip may bring you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.