We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it so much- coming back next month!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #27 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
“Loved it so much- coming back next month!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We planned a vaca w our girls 23 and 5 months)-always on our anniversary week. We were happy to stay on the beach. This was such an amazing vacation: fr the hotel, to the staff, to the amazing pool and slide, to easy access to the beach, to the location, to the breakfast buffet... I can't say enough! We loved this place- from our first night, we declared this will be our annual family vaca spot! Well worth the drive from Alabama!!! The room was a bit tight- but we also had a playpen, otherwise- I can't complain!!! We had a little issue w our refrigerator and not only did they take care of it and replace it, as well as replace milk for my daughter, but they also went above and beyond what was expected w a courtesy champagne/fruit/cheese tray for our anniversary and fridge inconvenience! We absolutely loved it so much ... We're booking another trip next month! Thank you Marriott!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear ArabQT

Thank you for your fantastic review about the resort. We would love to have you here every year for your annual family vacation! Happy anniversary and we can't wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    227
    83
    36
    15
See reviews for
240
198
13
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is absolutely in my Top 3 Marriott Hotel property that I stayed, out of about 60 properties. It's located right on the beach, and probably the best beach area in Myrtle Beach. Not too crowded, wide beach, and very clean. The hotel staff is extremely friendly, professional, and looking to serve you. The hotel pool is top notch; large, clean, and pristine. The hotel and rooms are very clean. I've been to this hotel numerous times and always have a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Dana W

We LOVE LOVE LOVE your review! Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our resort with other TripAdvisor members. We strive, every day, to maintain Marriott's excellent standards, and it is great to know that you think we are doing a good job. We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family stayed at the hotel July 6-July 11, 2013 I have two daughters, 7 and 5 and they had a blast! Between the pools, water slide, ocean and Kids Club activities, they were forever occupied and happy! Our room (partial oceanview on the 11th floor) was great. I had originally wanted oceanfront, but we decided to go the cheaper route because we didn't plan on staying in the room very long and thought we could put the money towards other things. and I wasn't disappointed AT ALL! There was no balcony, but we were fine with it. You open the sliding glass door and get an amazing ocean breeze. The rooms aren't extra fancy, but they are comfortable and clean.
The only complaints we have deal with the "saving" of lounges around the pool. If you want to get a seat, you need to be up by 7 am to run down and put towels on the chairs. If not, you'll never get a seat. We saw chairs that had towels on them for hours, and nobody ever sat in them. The other complaint is when you are exiting the hotel at the side entrance leading to the parking garage, it is VERY dark. It wouldn't hurt to put some outside lights on the exterior of the building.
We do plan on returning for another vacation in the future!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Erin T

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so happy to hear that your kids had a blast and stayed busy. Thank you for your feedback regarding the pool deck chairs and lighting in the parking garage. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the resort and we thank you for staring your thoughts with us. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your resort experience with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my 3 kids and wife and had a blast. There's something to do for kids of all ages. Pools, ping pong, basketball, arts and crafts, free game room and obviously the beach. The only thing keeping this from being a 5 star is the weak drinks at the pool. Having 3 kids on vacation the parents sometimes need a good drink and they were consistently weak.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Executive3kids

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that your kids were able to enjoy all of the different activities and amenities at the resort. I am sorry that the drinks were not as strong as you would have liked. In the future, please just let one of our servers or bartenders know and they would have been happy to fix you a new drink. We hope to see you back again soon at the Myrtle Beach Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited this resort for 6 days over the July 4th holiday. The resort was very clean and staff was extremely nice and tentative. There are three pools and a larger water slide. The were a lot of families and kid activities. Everyday the resort had free activities for the kids such as making bead necklaces, cooking in the kitchen, making sand bottles, coloring, water balloon games and bingo. My three year old daughter loved every minute of it. For July 3rd they had a s'mores roasting night in the courtyard which was a big hit among patrons. There was live music on both July 3rd and July 4th. I was thoroughly impressed with the activities. We made a complaint to the front desk about the smell of marijuana on the floor our room was on. The hotel quickly addressed the problem and there was no more smell. We ate at the bar and ordered to go food from the restaurant. All service was quick and the food was good. The price you pay for the hotel I felt was very cheap considering a beach front property and by far exceeded our expectations. I will definitely stay here again and we are now looking at buying into their timeshare villas on site. This says a lot for my family who is against timeshares.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear kmrossignol

We are so happy to hear that your daughter enjoyed all of the resort activities during the 4th of July. I am sorry to hear about the smell in a nearby room, but I am happy that the problem was taken care of quickly. Unfortunately it can be hard to control what guests do behind closed doors. Thank you for sharing how wonderful the staff was and how you enjoyed the hotel restaurants. We hope to have you and your family back for another vacation again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Enjoyed 5 days here with my family. Great property adjacent to Marriott's Ocean Watch villas. It's great for families-especially with little ones- because it's quiet and pleasant. Def not a place for "singles scene" but I also saw many couples and young people enjoying themselves. The beach is right across and there are 2 big outdoor pools along 1 indoor pool as well. The staff was very friendly. Michael Davis, Asst Mgr. was very courteous and efficient handling our reservation. Our room was on 14th fl -no balcony- but with a great view of the ocean. Overall, a great stay and we'll def plan to book here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear JayMoli

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your sleeping room as well as the pool. We will certainly make sure Michael is recognized for his excellent customer service. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite nice. Room are nice, pool is great, and tons of options for activities (volleyball, tree house for kids, etc.) The real problem we had for lunch in the bar restaurant.

The crab cake was terrible, with shredded carb. The lobster roll was again shredded lobster, and the kids pasta was inedible.

My wife said the breakfast was really good though.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBMarriottResort, General Manager at Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear CraigRCoelho

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the resort. I am sorry to hear about your poor experience at The Bar. It is our goal to maintain the excellence of Marriott Standards and I apologize that we fell below these standards with regard to your lunch. In the future, please just let your server know and we would have been more than happy to replace your meal with something that you enjoyed. We hope that your family has a wonderful time wherever your next adventure may take you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.