We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #27 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Just left the Marriott and I have to say this is the first time since I've been coming to myrtle beach that my hotel was amazing! From the service to the spa and the views omg!!! The staff are so friendly and accommodating!!! I'm celebrating a anniversary in August and plan on taking advantage of the amazing pools and beach!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    228
    83
    36
    15
See reviews for
240
198
13
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I went to Myrtle Beach for 2 days to celebrate Valentine's Day. We had booked at the Hilton, but after one horrible night there we checked out and came to the Marriott. Showed up at 10:00 AM with no reservation. Ben at the front desk was very understanding and helpful, gave us an ocean-view room at an excellent rate, and let us check-in right then. The free valet parking was well-staffed and very friendly and efficient; the room was nice, well-kept, and the view was gorgeous.

We had dinner that evening in the bar with a wonderful and friendly server from Romania. I think her name was Andra. She was very quick in getting us the little things we asked for quickly, and explaining the house specialty cocktails. I had the she-crab soup, the seared scallops with prosciutto and basil; my wife the classic mussels in wine sauce. Delicious! All the sea
food was caught-today-fresh, and perfectly seasoned.

All the staff we encountered on our stay were friendly and helpful, the property absolutely beautiful. If we return on a similar jaunt, there's no other place we'd stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the "property view" rooms. The aerial view of the pool areas is impressive, and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel grounds are well-kept, the views of the ocean are beautiful, the outdoor pool is gorgeous, and the service/staff is outstanding. Rooms are small, even the handicapped king-sized bedroom had a small bathroom with little room to put toilet articles on the sink area. The food was so-so (conference food) but the Concierge was wonderfully helpful in directing us to a great place for dinner, giving us printed directions and a menu! Weather permitting, the beach area was beautiful with great sunset ambiance. The fitness center is adequate. There is a Spa there, although the brochure in the room did not include pricing, but there were many packages available, even one for a teen massage and make-up help. Easy to get from one end of the hotel to the other and parking was easy to get to...not a major walk. The hotel is near many attractions and shopping (Broadway on the Beach, Market Commons).

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the ocean & outdoor pool. You'll get to see the beautiful sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The grounds of this hotel are beautiful and the pools and view are breathtaking. The rooms are very average though and in need of updating. They are quite small and in my personal opinion, very overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We loved the resort. However, at the time we received a great rate. The hotel was beautiful with several pools to enjoy. If you travel during warm weather, beware. Many travelers tend to get up early to reserve pool seating with towels. I was amazed at majority of the seats were gone before 8:30 am in the morning. Luckily we were leaving that day. The breakfast buffet was around $17 adults. Not completely sure about the price anymore. The buffet was very good. We traveled to Myrtle Beach to attend a concert performance at the House of Blues.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel for a large convention. The staff were superb and couldn't have been more friendly and polite. I used the fitness center several times as the weather was bad, and it was well stocked with equipment and supplies. The rooms were not luxurious, but the public rooms were. We didn't eat here, but the snacks and breakfast items for the convention were a cut above other hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was my second stay at the Marriott, both times for a large convention. Despite how busy they were, the staff was super friendly, fast and efficient. Absolutely every staff person I came in contact with: cocktail waitress, desk staff, bell men, etc., were on top of their game- sharp, fast and polite. I felt that they elevated what is a rather generic large hotel experience. The rooms were fresh and in good condition, especially for an ocean front hotel that gets a lot of wear and tear. There is a coffee pot in room and hair dryer (the attached to wall kind, which aren't as powerful, unfortunately) lots of outlets for a hotel room. I would suggest getting turn by turn directions if you're driving in. There are so many areas of the resort, and the names are similar. It's a bit hard to discern what's what, especially at night.

Room Tip: You definitely want to get an ocean view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.