We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach to your Saves list
Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #27 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Seriously, has anybody on this site traveled outside of Myrtle Beach? This hotel saw its heyday in the (apparently) 1970's. The restaurants make Dennys look like the epitome of taste. The bar seemed like a lonely train station, decorated to depress. Two huge columns in the bar were begging to become aquariums. Can we embrace something nautical here, I was told this hotel was on the beach? Note to interior decorator, retro only works when you have a plan, not simply a confusion of intent.

The room? Who can forget what you had to see before arriving there. I will never besmirch Denny's again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    227
    83
    36
    15
See reviews for
240
198
13
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is an above average resort hotel situated right on the beach. Pool area was very clean and good service pool side. Restaurants on site were above average. Room was just ok. We had a corner room with average view of beach. Furniture and decor was outdated and tired. Due for renovation makeover. Service and concierge was very good and helped us enjoy our week with directions and reservations at local golf and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Well, it's Marriott standard for resorts and all is kept at standards to make you feel comfortable. As expected, courteous and well trained staff make you feel like a king. The beach is gorgeous, it can be enjoyed just few yards from the pool complex. Too many pools to chose from BTW! A pity it was winding so strong we could not enjoy all outdoors amenities and the beach. Next time, not in December time of course...

Room Tip: Stay away from lower ocean view rooms, they are too close to A/C fans which are noisy. There are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If I had two words to sum up my experience staying at the Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes it would be PARADISE GETAWAY! My cousin got married in September 2011 nearby this hotel. My husband and I decided to stay at the resort because it was close to the beach, had a pool, and was near the wedding venue. I will say the hotel is a bit pricey (and the food is a bit expensive) BUT IT IS WORTH THE MONEY. We arrived on a Thursday and left on a Sunday and even though it was more than I would have liked to spend... the food, service, grounds, room, ocean, pool, gym, and staff made it worth every penny. They say, "you get what you pay for"... WE DID!! If this hotel is in your price range I would 100% recommend it.

The pool is AMAZING- they even have a second smaller pool twisty water slide on a side - where the entire family did their own time trial competition on who could make it down the fastest. The main pool is large, spacious, and you never feel you are on top of anyone else.

On to the beach. Wow - what a location. Minimal shells, enough space for you and your partner (or family) to spread out without feeling like you are on top of other guests. Fantastic!

Finally (and the most important part) FOOD. The food is out of this world. EVERY single meal we had was "the best thing I ever ate". Granted we did pay through the nose for the food, but man did we get quality meals. At one point my husband ordered a lobster roll - when it arrived it did not have the mayo mixed in and it was very dry. We hate to complain, but we mentioned it to the server. She immediately apologized and about 5 minutes later the food services manager arrived at our table with a fresh meal and apologized - taking the item off of our tab. I had never seen such sincerity and an attempt to remedy a situation at a restaurant within the hotel.

I am currently a Hilton Honors member as well as a Marriott member, and after a horrendous experience at a Hilton recently I will not be staying with Hilton again. Moving forward I will be a Marriott member only. Do not doubt this venue - you will be happy and impressed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
in early December. The resort was beautiful and very well maintained.
The staff was very polite and helpful. The room was spaceous and the bed was the most comfortable I've sleep in. We also took advantage of the Spa and it was so relaxing. Just as the resort, it had everything you could imagine with a very professional staff. The only negative thing I could say about this trip, would be the $15.00 per day resort fee. This was a surprise. When I booked online, I thought everything was included. However, I don't think this will keep me from returning. Plan to visist again in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in late November so it was very quiet and empty - probably no more than 20 or so rooms were taken. Service was very friendly and unlike some of the other reviewers, we were not charged the resort fee, although I would have been just as upset if I had been since it was too cold to use the pool or other amenities. The place has big pools and a water slide and fronts a very wide beach. The room was similar to other Marriotts so there isn't much to say about that. I stay at a lot of Marriotts and the rooms are usually very similar. If you have a car, it is very convenient to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Oceanwatch Resort in Myrtle Beach for Thanksgiving week, and our "overflow" guests stayed at this hotel, which was just next door to the resort--a five minute walk. The hotel was very nice and the restaurant good. My only objection, and the reason I gave this hotel four stars instead of five, was the $15.00 per day resort fee. I think these fees are just a way of charging more for the room without advertising the full price. I wouldn't have objected to paying $15.00 more per night for the room if I had known about it before hand. Also,since this was late November, what resort facilities were used? None. It was too cold to use the pools or beach, and who would pay $15.00 per day for an exercise room?

Overall, the hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.