We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick relaxing stay in a windy day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Save Saved
You added Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #41 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Shanghai, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A quick relaxing stay in a windy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Well, it's Marriott standard for resorts and all is kept at standards to make you feel comfortable. As expected, courteous and well trained staff make you feel like a king. The beach is gorgeous, it can be enjoyed just few yards from the pool complex. Too many pools to chose from BTW! A pity it was winding so strong we could not enjoy all outdoors amenities and the beach. Next time, not in December time of course...

Room Tip: Stay away from lower ocean view rooms, they are too close to A/C fans which are noisy. There are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    178
    65
    32
    14
See reviews for
190
164
13
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If I had two words to sum up my experience staying at the Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes it would be PARADISE GETAWAY! My cousin got married in September 2011 nearby this hotel. My husband and I decided to stay at the resort because it was close to the beach, had a pool, and was near the wedding venue. I will say the hotel is a bit pricey (and the food is a bit expensive) BUT IT IS WORTH THE MONEY. We arrived on a Thursday and left on a Sunday and even though it was more than I would have liked to spend... the food, service, grounds, room, ocean, pool, gym, and staff made it worth every penny. They say, "you get what you pay for"... WE DID!! If this hotel is in your price range I would 100% recommend it.

The pool is AMAZING- they even have a second smaller pool twisty water slide on a side - where the entire family did their own time trial competition on who could make it down the fastest. The main pool is large, spacious, and you never feel you are on top of anyone else.

On to the beach. Wow - what a location. Minimal shells, enough space for you and your partner (or family) to spread out without feeling like you are on top of other guests. Fantastic!

Finally (and the most important part) FOOD. The food is out of this world. EVERY single meal we had was "the best thing I ever ate". Granted we did pay through the nose for the food, but man did we get quality meals. At one point my husband ordered a lobster roll - when it arrived it did not have the mayo mixed in and it was very dry. We hate to complain, but we mentioned it to the server. She immediately apologized and about 5 minutes later the food services manager arrived at our table with a fresh meal and apologized - taking the item off of our tab. I had never seen such sincerity and an attempt to remedy a situation at a restaurant within the hotel.

I am currently a Hilton Honors member as well as a Marriott member, and after a horrendous experience at a Hilton recently I will not be staying with Hilton again. Moving forward I will be a Marriott member only. Do not doubt this venue - you will be happy and impressed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsville, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach
in early December. The resort was beautiful and very well maintained.
The staff was very polite and helpful. The room was spaceous and the bed was the most comfortable I've sleep in. We also took advantage of the Spa and it was so relaxing. Just as the resort, it had everything you could imagine with a very professional staff. The only negative thing I could say about this trip, would be the $15.00 per day resort fee. This was a surprise. When I booked online, I thought everything was included. However, I don't think this will keep me from returning. Plan to visist again in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in late November so it was very quiet and empty - probably no more than 20 or so rooms were taken. Service was very friendly and unlike some of the other reviewers, we were not charged the resort fee, although I would have been just as upset if I had been since it was too cold to use the pool or other amenities. The place has big pools and a water slide and fronts a very wide beach. The room was similar to other Marriotts so there isn't much to say about that. I stay at a lot of Marriotts and the rooms are usually very similar. If you have a car, it is very convenient to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Oceanwatch Resort in Myrtle Beach for Thanksgiving week, and our "overflow" guests stayed at this hotel, which was just next door to the resort--a five minute walk. The hotel was very nice and the restaurant good. My only objection, and the reason I gave this hotel four stars instead of five, was the $15.00 per day resort fee. I think these fees are just a way of charging more for the room without advertising the full price. I wouldn't have objected to paying $15.00 more per night for the room if I had known about it before hand. Also,since this was late November, what resort facilities were used? None. It was too cold to use the pools or beach, and who would pay $15.00 per day for an exercise room?

Overall, the hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is my fourth visit to this hotel as one of my organizations has its annual conference here. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and check in was quick and efficient.

I had three rooms booked and we got all three requested room types. My king bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean. Due to injury, I asked for a handicapped accessible room to avoid having to step over the tub to get into the shower (vs. simply walk in the shower), so my room was more spacious than some of the others due to having to potentially accommodate a wheel chair. Interestingly, the handicapped accessible room was the furthest away from the elevator (down the lengthiest side of the hall, turn the corner, take another short hall, and then turn another corner to the room).

My room was an adjoining room, and like most adjoining rooms, I could hear my neighbors quite well (but that is just a negative with adjoining rooms which are occupied).

The parking deck is nearby, but it can fill up quickly and parking can be a challenge. If you have a number of bags, small children, etc. it may be cumbersome.

Even though the hotel is ocean front and in a secluded community, your room view may or may not be desirable. My first visit, I had a great ocean view/pool view. For the last two years, I had a view of the property. This year, I had a view of the roof of the first floor (I had a second floor room) and the taxi cab stand. If I were to travel to Myrtle Beach, I would definitely want an ocean front (or at least ocean view room), so unless you want to pay the extra rate for an ocean view room, you may be better off staying elsewhere if ocean front/ocean view is a must.

Given the location of the hotel, it is not a convenient to walk off the property and explore things in the city of Myrtle Beach. Hotels in other areas of the city are a short, convenient walk to shopping, restaurants, etc.

Despite its challenges, I would stay here again, for conference purposes (they gave our group a GREAT rate, including free parking). However, I would not make this my first choice on a return visit for personal travel (in fact, I will be returning next month for my annual beach retreat with family and we are booked elsewhere).

Room Tip: Try to avoid getting an adjoining room (unless you need one)....the noise from your neighbors can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First the good news. The beds are extremely comfortable, providing a great pillow top! Bad news: we had an ocean front double.... and it is extremely small. There is only a very small fridge available and just about every available counter space is occupied...it is that small. They will also fee you to death... self parking fee.. internet fee..and there is NO lazy river available. The hot tub (indoor) looked yellow and scary. Wedneday we had hoped for a breakfast buffet.. nope.. only available on weekends. Sorry, I will not pay $14 for french toast. The self parking ramp is also scary at night as there is NO LIGHTING. IF you are a female walking alone, like me, it is intimidating. It is quite a walk from the parking ramp to the room .No bible in the room, but there was a copy of the book of mormon. what do you expect though.. as Marriott is owned by mormons.. ok, i can live with that. Stay for the beds... go somewhere else for a small kitchen and bigger room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach

Also Known As:
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel
Marriott Resort At Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marriott Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Marriott
Address: 8400 Costa Verde Drive, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ocean front,located in the upscale Grande Dunes community. Our guests enjoy the many amenities our AAA rated four diamond hotel has to offer! Consider championship golf, tennis,a work out in our fitness room, swim in our indoor or outdoor tropical ocean front pool,visit our on site European spa or relax and enjoy the simple but priceless pleasure of sitting on our pristine beach and soaking up the South Carolina sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Resort at Grande Dunes Myrtle Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.