We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in myrtle beach!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Oceanfront Resort

Save Saved
You added Atlantica Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1700 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in myrtle beach!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We love this hotel and will never stay elsewhere!! Price was great, rooms were very nice and spacious, great location, love the pools!!! Was in walking distance to boardwalk and very short drive to broadway at beach.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. We work very hard to provide a friendly, clean and well maintained property for our guests to enjoy. We hope that you return again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    60
    53
    34
    52
See reviews for
180
47
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a terrible experience at Atlantica. We stayed in the "penthouse" suite. Our room was filthy, if you walked on the floor without shoes, your feet literally were black on the bottom. The carpet area felt slimy and there were stains on the couch. When we went to put groceries in the refrigerator, there was a long black hair on the shelf. Our first night stay, we got absolutely zero sleep because someone kept slamming doors all night long. At 3am we became so frustrated that we called the front desk. We were assured that they would send someone up to take care of the noise. Well, after another call to the front desk an hour later and still no relief from the slamming. We had to get dressed and walk two buildings down to the front desk at 5am. They sent a security guard up with us. The guard knocked on the door of the offending party and "talked" with them. Well, the slamming never did stop, so after a completely sleepless night we decided to go talk to the manager, David. He did absolutely nothing for us. He said that it was out of his hands because we rented from an owner and not directly through Atlantica. In a nutshell, his comments were "you didn't pay me, so my hands are tied". Wow....what terrible customer service!!!! Our second night stay we decided to sleep in the living area which had a pull our couch and murphy bed, because we thought it would be quieter. Upon pulling out the beds, we discovered dirty sheets with hairs and crumbs and also a nice drawing on the wall behind the murphy bed. There also was a mysterious "brown smear" on the wall behind the toilet, which was conveniently covered with towels. You couldn't pay me to stay at this "hotel" again. Absolutely dreadful!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I am very sorry about your recent stay. As we discussed, as you did not rent directly from us, we had no way to compensate you for your issues. I did request you contact the owner who you did rent from and I never heard a response. The door near your room is unlocked as it is a fire escape. I will have security monitor it more frequently. Again I am sorry that your time at Atlantica was not more enjoyable.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The price for the room was excellent and the amount of square footage was great. We actually called to make our reservation and got an even better price than was listed on the Altantica's website or other travel sites. The large balcony was very enjoyable as well. For what we paid, we didn't expect high-end furnishings, but we were 'sorely' disappointed (pun intended) by the mattresses and the bedding. The mattresses were extremely uncomfortable and the mattress protector rattled every time we moved. But what made the beds unbearable was the "comforter" (if you can even call it that), they were hard and stiff and since the only other linen available was a top sheet, we were uncomfortably cold at night. My husband equated the comforter/blanket to trying to sleep under wrapping paper - it didn't fold or drape at all. 2 other things that were bothersome enough to write about: 1. The elevator - The elevator to the right of the front desk (if you are facing the front desk) was often slimy and very wet. Most of the time it seemed like we waited forever for it to come. The other elevator, which we discovered a day or so after arrival, seemed to be much cleaner and more efficient. 2. Toilet Paper - other than the toilet paper that was in our room upon check-in, the housekeeping staff never left us another roll. We had to go get our own twice. This was annoying anyway, but it was even worse due to the fact we had to walk 3 buildings down to the Palmetto Shores building to get the toilet paper and then walk back down the street carrying it. We definitely got some snickers from people we passed. On a more positive note, I would like to compliment the resort on the Patio Bar staff by the pool - C.C. and Brian - they went out of their way to chat with us, prepare drinks that we would like based on our tastes, give us advice on restaurants and attractions and were exceptionally friendly - certainly the bright spot of our stay! Oh, and the location was great!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not fully live up to expectations. The lack of supplies is inexcusable and should have been tended to properly even before you arrived. We will look into the bedding issue and when it comes time to upgrade, we will look at feedback such as yours to help us evaluate options. The two elevators are enough to serve the property, however it does seem that everyone wants to use them at one time. That can cause some delays. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in the Atlantica Towers hotel. This was a last minute trip that we decided to take. We were very happy with the room for the price. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo that had a full kitchen, dining and sleeper sofa and was oceanfront. One of the bedrooms was a king bed and the other queen, we also each had a full bathroom. The price was exceptional compared to the other hotel rates we checked on and more roomier. I only have two complaints and that our bed was really hard, my sister said her bed was a little hard too. My other complaint was the maid staff didn't come to change our trash or towels on second day. We were gone most of the day and when we got back our towels were still piled on the floor waiting to be changed. I would have called the front desk, but it was late and I knew no maid staff would be there. I'm sure it was an oversight and we didn't make it a big deal. We just shared and went on with our day. Just towels, anyways. All of the staff seemed nice and overall was happy with our stay. We aren't extremely picky, but for the price was great. I also liked how close the hotel is to everything. It is a short walk from the pier, Sky wheel and tons of restaurants.

Room Tip: Parking lots are across the street and they get full at night. The front desk clerk will give you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We work very hard to provide a great environment for our guests and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I will address the housekeeping issue about service, that should not have happened. We appreciate your business and we hope to see you again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was very impressed with the customer service that was given.The night mgr,Chris Gerald went
above and beyond for me and my friends I travelled with.He personally checked us in,gave us
passes for breakfast,passes for one of the amusements and even a parking pass.After we got
checked in,Mr Gerald got a bellhop to take our luggage to our suite which was the 1bedroom
penthouse on the 14th floor and personally took us up there...what wonderful service!!!! The
suite was clean and smelled good,but most importantly the view of the ocean was breathtaking.
What I also liked was the location of the hotel,it is in the middle of everything.I really enjoyed my
stay at the Atlantica and can't wait to be back next year.
D Perkins

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words about our property. We really appreciate you and your family staying with us. Chris works very hard to take care of guests and I am glad his work was noticed. We hope that you make a visit with a tradition and we hope to see you again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

my vacation at the atlantica in myrtal beach sc was a relaxing and rewarding. chris gerald the night manager rolled out the carpet. when we arrived he checked us in,we got our room he had the bell guy to take our bags to our room and then he gave us our parking pass and breakfast passes. what a way to be treated. the room was clean with a microwave, stove and fridge and a beautiful ocean front view. i was in heaven. i would recommend my family and friends to stay here.

charlene b
raleigh nc

Room Tip: being on a higher floor it was less noise plus the view of the ocean seem better. i liked sitting o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words about our property. I am very glad that Chris was able to take great care of you while you were here. I know we all really work hard to take care of our guests and I am glad you noticed. We hope to see you here again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were very impressed with the location and the amenities of the hotel. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional. The suite was clean and inviting. Our stay was worth every penny spent. We stayed in the one bedroom penthouse. The ocean view was awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our property. We work really hard to provide a great experience at a fair vaule. More importantly we are really happy you enjoyed your visit to Myrtle Beach with us. We hope to see you and your family visit again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Oceanfront Resort

Address: 1700 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantica Oceanfront Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We feature a combination of comfortable accommodations and beautiful oceanfront 1 & 2 bedroom condominiums.Our resort is highlighted by our oceanfront pool, indoor pools, spas, a gigantic kiddie pool and Lazy River. Our resort has been a favorite Myrtle Beach vacation destination for many, many years. Families and couples have vacationed with us not only because of our location near all of Myrtle Beach's great attractions, but they continue to stay with us for our quality accommodations, abundance of amenities, attractive rates and unmatched customer service. We are a smoke-free property and do not accept pets. Our Premier Resort is located on over 200 feet of sunny, white, sandy beach. The outdoor water amenities include an oceanfront pool, 150 feet of relaxing Lazy River, a large outdoor whirlpool spa and a spacious kiddie pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Atlantica Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Myrtle Beach
Atlantica Resort
Atlantica Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.