We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, not nice place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantica Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1700 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Burlington, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice staff, not nice place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

(Ill start off with the good things, we lovedthe location right near the boardwalk and little ahops and things,we had a huge balcony we could all fit on the staff was very nice everytime we seen one of the staff they would smile and say hello or something!)Me and my family just got back last Saturday, we stayed a whole week here. We stayed in a privately owned unit. At the atlantic the rooms were small, VERY dirty, there was stuff everywhere on the blinds ceiling etc. We thought maybe since it was a privately owned one maybe that's why it was dirty but we talked to people that stayed in ones that werent and they still said it wasn't nice and it was dirty. This is NOT a place me and my family would go back to!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
I am sorry that you did not have a great stay at our property. I cannot vouche for the quality or service of units we do not rent. I can say we try our very best to provide a room and service that is worth your hard earned money. We do hope you rent through us one day in the future.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    62
    54
    35
    52
See reviews for
184
48
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I saw the negative reviews and was a little concerned, but I've also visited Myrtle Beach many times and know what to expect. This is a very nice place to stay in Myrtle. Location is great for boardwalk activities and nearby restaurants. Our deluxe condo was quiet and clean. Pools were cleaned daily. Staff was very helpful and nice. There were several oceanfront pools to choose from, with lots of seating. My kids spent most of their pool time in the lazy river. Check in and check out were quick. Just be patient while waiting on elevators during those times. All MB highrise resorts have this dilemma. Parking is across the street, which I prefer to the cramped parking decks. We will be back next year. If you are extremely picky, you may be disappointed in something here. I come on vacation to relax and have fun, not critique every nook and cranny. This is a beach town so expect some sand or rust, but it shouldn't ruin your vacation.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe condo on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are working very hard to provide a great experience for our guests and I think it shows. Thanks for enjoying our property and we hope to see you again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Close to the downtown stuff. Lots a young folks. Lots of noise. Lots of kids. Check in was fast. Elevators were fast. Room was clean. Room service was fast enough. Parking was not good. Hard to find ice machine.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. Our property represents a value in a great location with excellent people. We really are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I too was a bit scared reading all the reviews. I had stayed there over Mother's Day and had a great experience so when I read the reviews I couldn't understand what happened so I came prepared with cleaning supplies. I called the resort and they reassured me they would do everything to make the stay pleasant. The rooms were fine, worn but clean. If you want affordable you have to be prepared for a bit of wear and tear, this is Myrtle Beach. Yes the elevators are slow but the pools were cleaned EVERY day and we even one was drained and cleaned, refilled, and up and ready the next day. Take advantage of maid service when the arrive at your door because they usually don't come back. Not sure why people complain about the parking, you unload right in front of the hotel then park across the street which is a very short distance. No parking fees which is a huge plus! Great location and great price for Myrtle Beach!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are really happy you stayed with us and enjoyed your time in Myrtle Beach. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Managet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here in a condo suite, whole family. Four kids, four adults. I had booked several months ago and began to read some terrible reviews, but I must say it was a great place to stay.. several swimming pools, indoor/outdoor + hot tubs. The staff was always very friendly. Room service has room for improvement as well as the mattresses are uncomfortable.. from my understanding this Hotel is under new management and they are continuing on improving on things.. Parking filled up fast and we had to park in the back lot (kinda far away), but we will be back again from Knoxville, Tennessee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are a new management team and we are committed to working hard to provide a great experience for our guests. We value your business and we want you to return. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had read a lot of the reviews before we left and was kinda scared to go, but I was very pleased with our room at the atlantica. It was clean and what i had reserved, pools were clean and staff was great. we even liked it enough to stay an extra night. we plan on going back next year!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for coming to Myrtle Beach and enjoying our property. We have worked hard the last several weeks to improve our property and I think it shows. You have lots of vacation choices and we want to be your first. Thank you again for staying and we hope to see you again next year.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at the Atlantica Resort in July 2012. The hotel itself is locatedwithin close walking distance of many of the Ocean Blvd activities, the Skywheel, Slingshot, and many shops. Also within walking distance is the Ripley's Museum. The staff at the Atlantica were very pleasant. About a month before we arrived we had to change our dates and the individuals on the phone were very accomodating. The front desk staff were very polite, everything was explained to us when we checked in as far as pool usage and parking. The cleaning staff and maintenance personnel were also very friendly. They would ask how your stay was going even in the hallways. When the crib we ask for was not available the management offered to go purchase one. We declined and they made onavailable the next day. I am a believer that customer service no longer exist let alone friendly customer service. But the place proved me wrong. When we decided to stay another night the staff worked it out with no problem. There was plenty of swimming choices between all of the buldings and easy access to the beach. We stayed in a two-bedroom condo that had plenty of space.
There were a few things that were not great but managable. Some of the parking is farther away than most. However, they have a golf cart shuttle available during the day. The matresses were not very comfortable. On a rainy day when were inside, the tv channels were limited and the channels listed on the tvs themselves did not correspond with the guide. There were very few preschool channels such as NICKJR or Disney JR.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us this summer. I believe we are a great property with a great location and great people. I can understand some of your concerns. To be honest I have not see a property in Myrtle Beach win praise for its parking. As for the TV Channels, that is a tough one to manage but I believe overall we have as much as anyone else. We are happy you stayed with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Oceanfront Resort

Address: 1700 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantica Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We feature a combination of comfortable accommodations and beautiful oceanfront 1 & 2 bedroom condominiums.Our resort is highlighted by our oceanfront pool, indoor pools, spas, a gigantic kiddie pool and Lazy River. Our resort has been a favorite Myrtle Beach vacation destination for many, many years. Families and couples have vacationed with us not only because of our location near all of Myrtle Beach's great attractions, but they continue to stay with us for our quality accommodations, abundance of amenities, attractive rates and unmatched customer service. We are a smoke-free property and do not accept pets. Our Premier Resort is located on over 200 feet of sunny, white, sandy beach. The outdoor water amenities include an oceanfront pool, 150 feet of relaxing Lazy River, a large outdoor whirlpool spa and a spacious kiddie pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlantica Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Myrtle Beach
Atlantica Resort
Atlantica Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.