We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never go back to this place again because the service is TERRIBLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtlewood Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Myrtlewood Villas to your Saves list
Myrtlewood Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1410 48th Avenue North Ext, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I will never go back to this place again because the service is TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

My family will never go back to this place again. The service is terrible. It took us 2.5 hrs to check-in. The workers were very RUDE.We rented a 2 bedroom condo. We did not have NO linen on the beds or towels in the bathroom. Contacted guest service and requested linen and towels. Did anyone come and bring us things request?
NO! No one every came with the items. REQUESTED Management to contact me because when we went back to talk with them the line was in the parking lot. I had already waited 2.5 hrs and was not welling to wait again. So I called back and requested management to call regarding the issues. Guess what no one call us back. Please if you are going to Myrtle Beach to have a nice vacation, please stay away from this PLACE.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    86
    51
    55
    65
See reviews for
177
48
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Beautifully landscaped resort, spacious rooms, serene and peaceful atmosphere but the check-in is a joke. Online the check-in time was 3:00 p.m. but after being told twice that our room was not ready, we did not get a key until after 5:00 p.m. This two hour time span spent waiting for our room was much less than that of others. When checking in we were told that check-in would be no later than 4:00 p.m. At 4:00 p.m. we were told check-in was between 4:00 and 9:00 p.m. The office was packed with people. The check-in line extended outside and down the steps for hours. Once we settled in, another family came walking into the room with their own set of keys after we were told only 1 key was available. The people said they were told to use the room until their other room was ready. Our check-out time was 10:00 a.m. The cleaning crew arrived and sat outside our door at 9:40 a.m. and waited for us to leave. The facility itself is very nice but it is definitely understaffed and unorganized.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golfinaway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Beautiful 2 bedroom condo, lovely landscaped grounds and in the middle of everything. Golf, beach, nightlife, shopping, restaurants. the perfect location. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

The staff at this resort are horribly rude. The housekeeping is a joke. That said the condo we stayed in was very nice.

My understanding is they are mostly privately owned and then re-rented by Myrtlewood. aka it's a crap shoot to figure out if your room is nice or not.

It's close to Broadway at the Beach and about a 5 minute drive to the actual beach. Right on a golf course, although we stayed in one not on the actual course. The place has a few pools throughout the complex, which were pretty nice and had a section to sit in with jets, but it wasn't a hot tub.

Condo itself was nice, could have used some sprucing up, though. Since they're all private it's almost like renting a house for the time. The silverware, plates, diningware, etc are whatever the owned likes so there is some variety between the condos. We had an array of glasses I don't think any two were alike. Random, but it worked.

Some condos have internet, others don't. There is always free internet at the main office. After hours you can get internet on the porch, which has a bench you can sit and use your laptop.

We had a pretty good stay as long as we didn't bump into members of management.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

In the past we have stayed at River Oaks and found these villas to be just fine. On this trip we decided to stay at Myrtlewood because it was closer to Broadway and that is where we always end up at night anyway so we figured we would save on cab fare. We rented a two bedroom villa and it also had two bathrooms, full kitchen, washer and dryer and a good size balcony. The room was clean, it was perfect for guys on a golf trip that need the condo for sleeping and basically hanging out after golf prior to going out at night. The resort has 2 golf courses and a restaurant that serves up a all you eat breakfast that we used 4 out of the 5 days we were there. My only issues were minimal one was the fact that we had plenty of remote controls but not all of them worked, they were refinishing the roof while we were there which was a touch noisy in the morning. But at least they are doing upgrades to it which shows they are not letting them go. If you are looking for comfortable accomodations close to golf, entertainment and no one is very particular about being prima dona's this is a great place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

I have stayed at Myrtlewood Villas quite a few times for golf outings with buddies. I have found the secret to a great stay is to request a unit that is not rented to baseball teams. It is also a good idea to check the Cal Ripkin website to see when they have big tournaments. I have been there when they are booked with a lot of baseball teams and the parents and coaches let the kids run wild taking over entire pool areas. Throwing items off the balconies. Overall it is a great spot to stay, close to beach and area attractions, if only some aprents and coaches take some responsibility it would be rated excellent.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark, ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

I and my family stayed here as a result of my home resorts relationship with this one. We stayed here July 13th through July 19th.2008 I found the unit we stayed in very clean and in great shape. We were very pleased with both the resort and the staff there. The only problem we encountered was the fault of the owner and not the resort. The television in the master bedroom was locked into a security state that only allowed you to view two stations. The owner had locked it to prevent any body ordering movies. We reported this to the resort and they did all they could.We had the televsion in both the other bedroom and the living room so it was not missed. I have no complaints about our accomadations nor the staff. Everything we encountered was both clean and well maintained. I would definately recommend this resort to both family and friends. We stayed in LL section three road behind the office. Everyone needs to understand that each unit is privately owned and rented out at the owners request not the resort. These are not hotel rooms .

  • Liked — It was in center of activities
  • Disliked — travel time to beach
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Myrtlewood Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtlewood Villas

Address: 1410 48th Avenue North Ext, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtlewood Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best in a Myrtle Beach vacation, book with Myrtlewood Villas! - Over 250 one, two and three bedroom condos available, all standard with conveniences like full kitchens, washer/dryers and TVs with cable - Diverse bedding perfect for any size group - Specializing in group reservations - Only a short drive from the most popular Myrtle Beach attractions, including Broadway at the Beach, Myrtle Waves Water Park and the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk - Multiple outdoor pools available, as well as an indoor pool and lazy river - Fitness center available to all guests - Multiple picnic shelters and BBQ grilling facilities - Sand volleyball courts and shuffleboard courts - Two on-site golf courses With great location only a mile inland from the Myrtle Beach coast and tasteful, modern accommodations sure to satisfy, Myrtlewood Villas is sure to be perfect for your beach vacation! Offering guests one, two or three bedroom condos with modern conveniences like fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryers and multiple TVs with cable, these sterling properties are a perennial favorite for Myrtle Beach visitors. The surrounding property of Myrtlewood presents its guests with great amenities like multiple outdoor pools, an indoor heated pool and lazy river, hot tubs, sand volleyball courts, exercise facility, picnic areas and two championship-quality golf courses. Myrtlewood Villas is located mere minutes from the most popular attractions available along the Grand Strand. From shopping and nightlife at Broadway at the Beach to taking a stroll along the recently renovated Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, a short drive is all it takes to connect you and your guests to non-stop fun! Make sure your next Myrtle Beach vacation is your best one yet and book a fantastic condo with Myrtlewood Villas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Myrtlewood Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtlewood Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtlewood Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myrtlewood Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.