We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would do it again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtlewood Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Myrtlewood Villas to your Saves list
Myrtlewood Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1410 48th Avenue North Ext, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Would do it again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at Myrtlewood Villas during Ripken Tournament. We were very pleased with our room. The room was clean, décor was nice. We were in 3 bedroom condo and we had plenty of space! We did not feel cramped in or stuffy. We had 2 "problems"...the room was not ready but we went grocery shopping until it was and they called before we were done. The other was we were supposed to have a king bed but had 2 twins put together. In their defense, we upgraded to 3 bedroom a week before going. There was very little traffic going through complex and it was quiet. We would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    86
    51
    55
    65
See reviews for
177
48
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were here for a Ripken tournament and stayed at the Villas (a Ripken preferred property). The unit was dirty...the carpet was beyond gross, stained and filthy. The walls were dirty. The
furniture was old. The coffee pot, toaster and kitchen stuff was old and useless. The neighbor below us banged on our door one morning and wanted us to stop walking around so much! Wish we would have believed the reviews and stayed somewhere else. Do yourself a favor and spend your money staying in a nice place on the beach! This place isn't worth it!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.....stay on the beach!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

There is not one good thing I can say about this place - buyer beware. Do not believe a thing you hear in the video. We arrived at 4 pm to check in and were told our room was not ready and that we would receive a call when it was ready. That call never came. At 6 pm, with 2 small children in tow, we returned to the check in and were finally given our room keys. Driving to our first room assignment, I saw numerous pets in this pet free accommodation. We entered the room, and I felt like I had traveled back in time to the 1980's - there was nothing modern about this 2 bedroom condo and I don't believe it had been cleaned or aired out since the 1980's. We returned to the check in where we were assigned another room, by a very unfriendly check in clerk. When I asked him if he knew about the issue wit the condo he responded "we don't look at the condo's, we just assign them". He assigned a new unit to us, without any sort of apology. Unit # 2 was as disgusting, smelly and dirty as the first. My family and I decided to leave this property immediately. Again, no apology was offered from the front desk. This place needs to be gutted, fumigated, cleaned up and hire new staff with some type of customer service experience.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The front desk attendant was extremely rude, and unprofessional. We scheduled for a 3-night stay but was mistakenly booked for a 2-night stay. The man at the front desk insinuated that we were trying to stay without paying, really? He said we could pay or get out now; but the fact of the matter is that our keys were still working and my guy was at the front desk clearing up the bill for Monday morning! Some people need a course in customer service. This put a bad taste in our mouth regarding the trip. Also the bed was a brick rather than a mattress.

Room Tip: Perhaps add pillow tops or liners to the mattresses and have a workshop on customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I loved the reviews of this place online. However, the truth for my family was very different. We checked in on July the third and expected a modern, clean 2 bedroom villa. We discovered a roach in the master bathroom when we checked in. When I called and spoke to Jason, he stated it was a Palmetto bug and someone from maintanence would come and spray the room. We noticed the furniture was dated ( do not expect the furniture pictured online), and the carpet was stained. The next day we were greeted by roaches in the second bathroom and on the kitchen countertop. I was prepared with pictures when I went to the front desk and requested another 2 bedroom condo or 2 separate rooms. I received neither. My family and I left the property early and I am embarassed to say I booked the room because my family deserved a great 4th of July trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence, ri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We went for my bachelor party with a group of 9 including myself. We had 3 rooms 2 in one building and the last in another. I must say the room I stayed I. Had fully tiled bathrooms and hardwood floors. My friends room had carpet but wa equally nice. They had great views of the golf course and enough room for 9 guys to share pizza and some beers after a round. The staff at the front desk were friendly and vibrant as well as the manager. He was most helpful and courteous. We ha a flight delay and he let us stay in our room for a couple of hours so we weren't sitting in an airport all night. We all loves this place though there was no breakfast nearby. We made due and are looking to book this a our annual golf outing hotel/villa. We'll be back myrtle!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were here for a softball tournament and had a block of rooms booked. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because our rooms were not together and were scattered about the complex which was quite large. We had to drive to get to our girls rooms. (All the girls stayed together in two 3 bedroom units with chaperones). Depending on how many bedrooms, there are different units for each so I get that, but even those of us who had only 2 bedrooms were not very close. Our was a 2 bedroom and was beautiful. It was very clean, nicely decorated, wood floors, nice bathrooms. Full size appliances in kitchen and washer and dryer combo in all units. The 3 bedroom units were fairly new with granite counter tops and they were just beautiful too, and large! Free wifi in the rooms too. Nice flat screen TV's with a variety of channels. There are outdoor pools scattered throughout the complex and ours was right outside our patio. It was small, but clean and nice. Too cool to swim when we went in April though. The indoor pool was okay. It had a lazy river but that pool overall could use some upgrades. Again not very large, no air circulation in there. Myrtlewood was literally about 5 minutes away from the fields we were playing on. There is a CVS pharmacy across the street which was great for our last minute needs. Grocery shopping was also close...Wal-Mart down the road was nice, and actually less expensive than ours in Ohio.
I did also get to see another two bedroom that one of the coaches were staying in. It was run down and and need of updates. The carpet was very stained in this unit. Also, no trash pick up. You have to take your trash to the entrance to put in dumpster. Did not see one close to our unit. Typically you can leave a bad of trash outside your room to be picked up but not here.
Overall, I would definitely stay here again with my family!

Room Tip: Ask for the recently remodeled or newly built rooms. 1st floor rooms have easy access to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Myrtlewood Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtlewood Villas

Address: 1410 48th Avenue North Ext, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtlewood Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best in a Myrtle Beach vacation, book with Myrtlewood Villas! - Over 250 one, two and three bedroom condos available, all standard with conveniences like full kitchens, washer/dryers and TVs with cable - Diverse bedding perfect for any size group - Specializing in group reservations - Only a short drive from the most popular Myrtle Beach attractions, including Broadway at the Beach, Myrtle Waves Water Park and the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk - Multiple outdoor pools available, as well as an indoor pool and lazy river - Fitness center available to all guests - Multiple picnic shelters and BBQ grilling facilities - Sand volleyball courts and shuffleboard courts - Two on-site golf courses With great location only a mile inland from the Myrtle Beach coast and tasteful, modern accommodations sure to satisfy, Myrtlewood Villas is sure to be perfect for your beach vacation! Offering guests one, two or three bedroom condos with modern conveniences like fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryers and multiple TVs with cable, these sterling properties are a perennial favorite for Myrtle Beach visitors. The surrounding property of Myrtlewood presents its guests with great amenities like multiple outdoor pools, an indoor heated pool and lazy river, hot tubs, sand volleyball courts, exercise facility, picnic areas and two championship-quality golf courses. Myrtlewood Villas is located mere minutes from the most popular attractions available along the Grand Strand. From shopping and nightlife at Broadway at the Beach to taking a stroll along the recently renovated Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, a short drive is all it takes to connect you and your guests to non-stop fun! Make sure your next Myrtle Beach vacation is your best one yet and book a fantastic condo with Myrtlewood Villas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Myrtlewood Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtlewood Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtlewood Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myrtlewood Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.