We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place !!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Myrtlewood Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Myrtlewood Villas to your Saves list
Myrtlewood Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1410 48th Avenue North Ext, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Beards Fork, Wv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place !!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and beautiful. A/c stopped working and I called the office. They came to fix it within the hour. Very friendly staff. I love this place. It is close to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    87
    51
    55
    66
See reviews for
177
50
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This resort is situated close to so many attractions and conveniences. It is only blocks away from Broadway at the Beach and it's shopping, restaurants and cheaper gasoline. Also very convenient access to everthing via Hwy 17 Bypass, Hwy 501, Robert Grissom Parkway to Hwy 31 & 22. Can't forget the great golf courses right onsite. We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom condos. It was very large and luxurious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice swimming pools located throughout the resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at Myrtlewood during my family reunion (August 17 -19). I rented three 3 bedroom, 2 bath condos. I booked the condos through booking.com and based on the reviews, I asked for units in the Magnolia Pointe section and also requested that they be newer units. Due to the varied reviews on tripadvisor, I was a little worried about what we would see when we checked in. Heck, I was worried about the check in process since some reviewers complained about how long it took, delayed check-in, etc; If you believe the reviews, it is hit or miss at this property and I was praying for a hit.

Needless to say, I was holding my breath as I opened the door to each of the condos. Luckily, I had nothing to worry about. All three of the condos were clean and well-maintained. The furniture and decor was updated and pretty recent - one condo had nicer stuff and larger tvs, but that's because of the taste of the owners. However, they were ALL nice. The kitchens were spotless and had cookware, glasses, flatware, etc; although we didn't need it because we brought our own stuff. DID YOU CATCH THAT? We knew it was a condo rental, we knew that what was provided would vary from unit to unit because of that so WE BROUGHT OUR OWN STUFF.

You can look at the photos of the one that I stayed in. This unit (as well as the others) was spacious and felt like home vs. the cramped feel of a hotel. The beds were very comfortable and mattresses looked to be fairly new. We didn't experience any problems with spiders, roaches, etc; The only place we saw any bugs of any kind was outside at night around the porch/walkway lights. The only complaint I have is that the guest toilet in my unit kept backing up. The repairman came twice with a plunger which was useless because there was a plunger there that I tried using to no avail. This toilet needed to be snaked out, but that didn't happen during our stay. Oh, and the floor and walls are thin. The kids upstairs from us sounded like stampeding elephants when they were running around, but fortunately, they went to bed early. : ) All of our units were ground floor which was great because we had about 6 seniors (65+) in our group, but there were elevators in addition to stairs.

I was very pleased with our stay. Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff were great. Pools were lovely and we were given wristbands that allowed us to enter any pool on the property. Some reviewers complained about not having pool access, but I think that depends on who you rented your condo from and if you were there during the baseball camp that many people mentioned????

As I said in the title, you have to understand that this is a condo rental. It is not going to be the same as a hotel. Condo rentals are built for people who are going to be fairly independent during their stay, not someone who expects housekeeping to be at their beck and call. Yes, we had to make our own beds, wash our own dishes and take out the trash, but we were okay with that because we understood that we were renting a CONDO. If that's not for you, choose a hotel. If you rent a condo, bring your own supplies, operate the way you do at home (NO MAID SERVICE) and you should be okay.

Also, stop complaining about paying a lot of money to stay at the beach. What do you expect when you go to the beach during the high (summer) season??? You're going to pay to stay no matter where you go.

I enjoyed my stay there and everyone in the group did as well. The seniors loved it so much, they were asking when can we return? We plan to go back for Thanksgiving!

Overall, our stay was excellent. It wasn't perfect, but what place is?

Room Tip: Call at 4 p.m. to make sure your room is ready. I did and check-in was a breeze. Request a newer un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

As an owner, I'd like guests to be more respectful when they rent one of these units. We no longer rent our condo out through Myrtlewood, as we had unsatisfactory responses from them when we had numerous issues just like many of the guests on this website. Additionally we were frustrated & upset that guests have broken chairs, vertical blinds & even a bed but we didn't receive compensation from whoever did the damage as Myrtlewood failed to timely identify the damage & properly charge back the careless guests. We've had one flat screen bedroom TV & numerous TV remotes disappear, silverware gone missing, glasses missing (presume broken?) knick knacks missing/broken & a bedspread ruined by food stains. While we rented our unit through Myrtlewood, we were charged numerous times for carpet cleaning. I am confused as to why some guests have commented about stained carpets? We've also had pillow sham & blankets disappear & our vacuum has been taken twice. It's a Catch 22. We take pride in what our condo looks like & like to have nice things in it. We cross our fingers when we leave that nothing will be damaged or be missing when we return. We furnished & decorated with all brand new furniture, bedding, dishes, glassware, pictures, rugs & small kitchen appliances less than 3 years ago. Each time we return, we are heartbroken to see that someone has damaged or broken something. Most guests enjoy their stay & respect the units,(THANK YOU!) but I have seen firsthand the condition some people leave the units when their stay is over. I have to tell you it can be disgraceful. We continue to replace damaged items & fix items we notice (such as nail pops, settlement cracks,etc) because we care about maintaining the value of the property, but it can be discouraging when the effort is not noticed or respected. I agree that front office check-in should be fast, friendly & efficient. I also firmly agree that pristine Housekeeping is vital to feeling comfortable anywhere on vacation. I routinely clean our unit on my first day back, but I usually clean where ever I stay. I agree it should not be necessary, but it makes me feel better as I know when I clean, it's done thoroughly & properly. When one rents a condo on vacation, it is not the same as staying in a hotel room. You usually get a much larger living space with full kitchen, washer, dryer & dishwasher. However you don't get daily maid service, you do need to pick up after yourself, take the trash out, wash the dishes you use,etc. If the proper items are not provided for you, such as toilet paper,paper towels, tissues or trash bags, etc, call the front office or housekeeping & ask. Please don't stop calling the rental company until you recieve satisfaction. They are getting paid to provide you with personal service, don't let them slide by without doing what they are paid to do. Lastly, FYI about bugs, the units are sprayed on a regular basis by Magnolia Pointe & our Association dues pay for that service. Trust me, NO ONE wants bugs in their unit, next to their unit or anywhere near their unit. Owners have no control on who stays in their place or who its rented to & can only hope that the people renting live cleanly during their stay. Monthly exterminator spraying can only do so much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, In
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Myrtlewood was very nice and clean. It was roomy, had a full kitchen, washer/dryer, and sleeping for 4 people. We had a problem with our air conditioner working the first night but an outside a/c repair man was there first thing the next morning and put in a new digital thermostat that fixed the whole problem. We were a 6 minute drive from the beach which was awesome....keep straight out of the resort exit and you are there!! Other than that, it was a perfect stay. Will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I own one of the 2 bedroom units at Myrtlewood Villas. I've been reading some of the comments here and would just like to give some input. Most people don't realize this is not like a hotel. There is no daily maid service. I've never had that in any condo rental I've stayed in. Actually, I've stayed in condos where you have to bring your own towels, sheets and pillows.

I've seen a number of comments about the twin beds being pushed together to form a King bed in the master bedroom. As part of being on the rental program, we are required to have this. That way, the unit can be rented for a couple with children or, for people who don't want to share a King bed (say, 4 guys on a golf weekend) The 2 twins connect together and should have a soft wedge in the middle. I just spent a week there and had no problem.

Obviously, cleanliness is something we all want. Unfortunately, a lot of the guests treat the units with no regard to the next guest (or the owners). I've had friends stay there immediately after another group was there that spilled stuff all over the rug and broke the vertical blinds. Maintenance didn't have enough time to get the blinds fixed or the rug cleaned before my friends' check in. However, there is no excuse for obviously bad cleaning. I mentioned it to housekeeping after reading the comments here.

Regarding comments about lacking enough dishes, utensils, blankets, etc. We are required to keep the unit stocked with enough for 6 people to stay. Glasses break, utensils get accidentally thrown away, etc. Whenever I go there I usually end up replenishing my cabinets, etc. Apparently, some owners don't do this and the staff should be made aware and management should be contacting the owner. I just bought my THIRD set of comforters in 4 years because guests keep stealing them! Really....who goes to a place and steals the comforters and bedspreads? What is wrong with people? Also, someone disconnected the DVD player and never hooked it back up again.

I have heard about long lines to check in and I agree...that is unacceptable. My guess is that this is probably happening on Friday, Saturday and Sundays at about 4-ish. My only recommendation would be to try and time your check in a bit later in the day. If there are 60 families with a Ripken group, all trying to check in at 4 PM, it's gonna take some time. We checked in on a Saturday around 6:15 and waited about 10 minutes. (yes, we have to check in just like everybody else)

I don't know why some guests can't use the indoor pool based on who they rented through. Can't help you there.

I do feel badly for guests who have had bad experiences. Believe me, I would be unhappy as well. Just wanted to let you know why some things are the way they are. When you rent condos owned by individuals, it's much different than a hotel. Although, it usually is much cheaper and you get a lot more room. Plus you can cook, do laundry, etc (just what you want on vacation!).
We just had new mattresses delivered and new drapes for the living room installed. Unfortunately, some of the owners probably never check on their unit so, they don't know what needs replacing or updating.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I would definitely recommend staying at the Mytlewood Villas while vacationing in Myrtle Beach. We stayed in a three bedroom condo. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well stocked with cleaning and cooking supplies. The location is also perfect. It was very close to the beach, boardwalk, amusement parks and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Myrtlewood Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtlewood Villas

Address: 1410 48th Avenue North Ext, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Myrtlewood Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best in a Myrtle Beach vacation, book with Myrtlewood Villas! - Over 250 one, two and three bedroom condos available, all standard with conveniences like full kitchens, washer/dryers and TVs with cable - Diverse bedding perfect for any size group - Specializing in group reservations - Only a short drive from the most popular Myrtle Beach attractions, including Broadway at the Beach, Myrtle Waves Water Park and the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk - Multiple outdoor pools available, as well as an indoor pool and lazy river - Fitness center available to all guests - Multiple picnic shelters and BBQ grilling facilities - Sand volleyball courts and shuffleboard courts - Two on-site golf courses With great location only a mile inland from the Myrtle Beach coast and tasteful, modern accommodations sure to satisfy, Myrtlewood Villas is sure to be perfect for your beach vacation! Offering guests one, two or three bedroom condos with modern conveniences like fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryers and multiple TVs with cable, these sterling properties are a perennial favorite for Myrtle Beach visitors. The surrounding property of Myrtlewood presents its guests with great amenities like multiple outdoor pools, an indoor heated pool and lazy river, hot tubs, sand volleyball courts, exercise facility, picnic areas and two championship-quality golf courses. Myrtlewood Villas is located mere minutes from the most popular attractions available along the Grand Strand. From shopping and nightlife at Broadway at the Beach to taking a stroll along the recently renovated Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, a short drive is all it takes to connect you and your guests to non-stop fun! Make sure your next Myrtle Beach vacation is your best one yet and book a fantastic condo with Myrtlewood Villas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Myrtlewood Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtlewood Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtlewood Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Myrtlewood Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.