We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the cost!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boardwalk Beach Resort to your Saves list
Boardwalk Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2301 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the cost!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I haven't been to Myrtle Beach in about 3 years; my boyfriend and I decided to go on vacation with another couple just to get away from reality for a while. We chose this hotel because of the fact that it had a full kitchen and the price was the best that we could find! This hotel had 3 pools one of which was 8 ft and the other two where 51/2 feet of the three the two that were 51/2 were heated one of which was covered making it an indoor pool where if the weather got bad we were still able to swim. My only complaint about the pools is that the deeper one was not heated and in my opinion it should have been so that the adults who liked deeper pools as we did would have been able to enjoy it since we decided to go in October. This hotel also had 2 jacuzzis as well as a lazy river. As far as the room was concerned the appliances in the kitchen were VERY old and the stove for the first two days that we were there did not work causing us to have to go out to eat for the first two nights that we were there, also causing us to spend money we didn't plan on spending, which took away from the activities that we planned, however, after calling it in the maintanence crew came right up and by that evening the stove was working great! The kitchen area was a huge area; however, there was absolutely no counter space and the sink was super small, I actually had to wash the bigger pans in the bathroom sink. If it wouldn't have been for the dining table I would not have had any kind of prep area for the meals that I was cooking. The bathroom in this hotel was awesome with a HUGE soaker tub all though it wasn't a hot tub as their site said that the room would have, the tub was big, however the water pressure was very lacking. The room that we had was a partial view room meaning that when on the balcony it faced the main tower of the hotel but all that we had to do was look to the left and we had a beautiful view of the ocean and if we looked to the right we had a view of the boulevard which gave us the best of both worlds! The room was a non-smoking room and had two queen beds, the beds were ok as far as comfort, pretty much just a standard comfort, however the pillows were HORRIBLE, they were flat and small and just pretty much nothing to them at all, and they only put two on each bed, I will definitely take my own pillows when I go back! The staff here was very friendly and prompt on their cleaning always coming in our room around 11am daily however they only made the bed, they never replaced the linens and gave is new towels each day. This hotel also had a public washing machine and dryer. The price for a 5 day week totaled $251.00 we checked in sunday September 29th 2013 and scheduled to leave friday October 4th 2013, but we were having such a good time that we decided to stay through friday night, checking out saturday Ocotber 5th, we asked the desk clerk that since we decided to stay another night would they be able to give us a discount since we had already been there a week and they told us no and that because it was a weekend night that we were staying that the price would even go up from the $40 a night to $50 for the night, and after taxes the extra night was $61.50 and that we would have to move rooms as well, we decided to call around and see if we could get a better deal since we were going to have to pack everything up anyway that it wouldnt hurt to look around and get a better deal, but after looking at just one place across the street, which was just a hole in the wall hotel and they wanted to charge the exact same cost for a room that was just a basic room with two beds and did not even offer a pool we decided to just stay at our hotel and take the other room, but because we told them that we would be looking around for somewhere else to go they did let us stay in the same room, but still did not offer us a discount. Our total cost for 6 days was $312.50. The best part about this hotel for us were the number of pools available and the fact that they were heated allowing us to be able to enjoy them in fall, as well as the two jacuzzi's and the lazy river, this really made the hotel worth every penny! We really did have a great time and this hotel was worth it and I will go back!

Room Tip: If you don't require a complete ocean view I would choose a room in the north tower around the 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    76
    61
    72
    203
See reviews for
159
105
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dobson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I love to stay here when we come to Myrtle beach .We have stayed here for 6 years very nice staff.My grand kids love all the pools and the area of the beach.We have stayed in all of the buildings all have nice rooms we will stay here for sure again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in main tower executive suite.It has 2 rooms,2 TVs,Jacuzzi tub,kitchen,and ocean front.The room was clean and in good shape. The pool and lazy river was nice and was clean.Nice large area of beach chairs for relaxing and easy access to beach.We originally booked a room in North tower,it is a bit older tower.The main tower is a lot nicer,and isn't much more expensive. The very nice staff will let you look at different rooms.We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Our family decided to come to myrtle beach the week of sept 28-oct 5. What a wonderful time we had. We stayed in the MAIN tower on the 12th floor. We checked in and were given our room key and a parking pass and off we went. Opened the door and it was very clean and smelled very fresh. My kids are both under 3 so it was very nice to see we could spilt them up from each other one in the living room and one in the bedroom. The next day around 9am house keeping knock on the door and ask if she could clean our room we asked her if she could come back in 30min we left and went to the beach. Came back up around 1/130 and the room was cleaned perfectly. I say all of this to make this point the house keeper noticed we had 2 very young kids and over the next week of cleaning she didn't come clean until about 11am every morning giving us time to get the kids ready and out. We would see her each morning as we walked down to the beach and she would always have a smile and say enjoy your day. Never had a problem. Overall the place is really nice and we enjoyed it. Would come back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was the nastiest place I've EVER seen. Do not stay at this hotel. The website is misleading and the staff are so ignorant I almost feel sorry for them.You have to request smoking or non smoking. The website states no such thing. The indoor pool has been broken since last winter, but the website states they have one. The person who helped book this hotel for us did not tell us we needed to request smoking or non smoking. There were bugs in the hallway and one on the pillow. We quickly packed up our stuff and stayed at an adjacent hotel. Do not subject yourself to this place. I personally work too hard each day to go on vacation and stay in a bug infested, out dated, and nasty hotel. I'm not sure what other people are talking about having experienced an "awesome place", but they must not be accustom to luxury. This is not the place to bring your family if you are looking to stay in a clean, friendly, and smoke free place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This resort should be shutdown and North Tower should be gutted and renovated to bring it up to the 21st century. The website is very deceiving because it is nothing like it shows on the website. The indoor pool has been inoperable since Fall 2012 according to the desk clerk. The rooms on 2nd floor were nasty with roaches and bed bugs. The hallways smelled like smoke the elevator was filthy. Overall this place shouldn't be in existence to have anyone stay here. I checked out the same night I checked in and let them know I was going to write a letter to their headquarters because obviously they don't read the reviews people write otherwise they wouldn't be in existence. If I could report them to the health department I would because they really need to have an inspection done.

Room Tip: North Tower was TERRIBLE and need better ventilation in the hallways as well as the rooms. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy GA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went on a whim, and they gave us 2 rooms to look at- 1 in S. Tower and 1 in Main. South was ratty, but Main was beautiful and definitely worth the extra $20. Separate bedroom and living room, full kitchen, and Jacuzzi tub.

Room Tip: Get oceanfront and avoid S. Tower. They have great rates this time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Beach Resort

Address: 2301 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boardwalk Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boardwalk Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Boardwalk Beach Myrtle
Boardwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Boardwalk Motel
Boardwalk Beach Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.