We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for Golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Course at Myrtle Beach National

West Course at Myrtle Beach National
Highway 501, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
843 448 2308
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 105 attractions in Myrtle Beach
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This course is reputed to be one of the most challenging and scenic in the Myrtle Beach area.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Place for Golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I played the West Course at MBN yesterday. While I played some of the worst golf in my adult life the course had nothing to do with it, so I wont base my review on the way I played. It was a beautiful winter day with temperatures in the 60s. I was greeted warmly at the bag drop and in the pro shop. I payed $41 for 18 holes and $4 for a range token, all of which I thought were fair prices. All employees were extremely friendly and helpful. I didnt like it that I had to hit off of a mat at the range, I just hate those things. The course was in good shape for this time of the year. Tees and fairways were overseeded and green. The course was a little wet in spots but its been a pretty soggy winter in the south. The course is relatively open with plenty of room to hit the ball. If you hit it in the trees, they are not so thick that you cant find it but usually all you can do is chip it out. (I spent a considerable amount of time doing this). There are many doglegs and all of them seem to be dogleg lefts. The greens were extremely hard and fast, very hard to stop the ball and very difficult to put on. A word of warning DO NOT GO OVER THE PIN!!!! Almost all greens slope severely from back to front and if you go over the pin you have no shot at stopping a downhill putt or chip. Most greens are elevated too. All in all a fun golf course at a good price in good condition, it will go on my list of places to play again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good Golf Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Myrtle Beach National Golf Course and West course specifically is a treat to play. It is a very nice design with challenging doglegs with an awesome ending 190 yard par three or was today from the whites with back tee with water along the left. Fun course, enjoy MBN West Course!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Course, fun to play and in great shape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

What else can I say - this course is in great shape, was reasonably priced at around 50 dollars, played in four hours and is very playable..

It does not have the WOW factor of many Myrtle Beach courses, does NOT have large elevated greens, is NOT super hard but presents a challenge while not penalizing you dramatically for less than perfect shots.

I found it a very fun course to play, the holes are not push overs but are a break from the sometimes overly difficult tracks in Myrtle Beach.

And on top of it all, is priced right. A good course for all skill levels (I am a 5 and enjoyed it)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Nice and playable course Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Booked through our Westgate Resort good value!! Have played this course before, it is a well maintained and very fair and playable course. Good for all types of golfers. Highly recommend as a good first taste of MB SC golf.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good course in great shape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked this course thru ambassador golf and it was their recommendation and we were not disappointed. Layout was good, facilities were good as well. Course was in great shape. Pace of play was good. Overall we were pleased and would return if coming to myrtle again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Course at Myrtle Beach National also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to West Course at Myrtle Beach National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Course at Myrtle Beach National, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added West Course at Myrtle Beach National to your Saves list