We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Long Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Savings of 35% for Summer
Ranked #29 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Overall, this property was good.
The staff was great and they did the best they could with what they had.
The hotel itself was decent. The pools, lazy river and Jacuzzi all needed to be cleaned and fixed.
It very well could have been that we came toward the end of a slower season. I wouldn't object to going back.

Room Tip: Don't check in anytime from 7-10. You'll be waiting forever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!!

We appreciate you choosing Long Bay Resort for your recent visit! Our staff’s mission is to provide outstanding customer service to all of our guests. They really enjoy what they do here and we’re glad it shows! I’m sorry to hear that you felt the pools were not up to par as far as maintenance or cleanliness is concerned. I personally walk to pool decks along with members of management throughout the day to ensure that we are providing our guests with a clean, relaxing and fun place to enjoy with friends and family. If there was anything in particular you feel we can improve on, please do not hesitate to call me directly. We strive to offer the best guest experience in Myrtle Beach and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Jennifer Muldoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    748
    386
    135
    90
    66
See reviews for
686
181
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is our 2nd trip to Long Bay, both times we rented a 3bedroom oceanfront in the Savoy. We enjoy that building because it's closer to the ocean and it has it's own parking garage. We stayed in room 503 in Sept. 2012 and were told that it would be undergoing renovations this winter, so we requested the room again for our April 2013 stay. It hadn't been updated at all, which was a bit disappointing as the room is VERY outdated. But it is clean and you can't beat the views. We did ask to see a 3bedroom oceanfront room in the main tower, which the front desk was very willing to let us see. I can tell you that they are MUCH more updated than the Savoy room we were in, but I'd probably still pick the Savoy! The pool/hottub and lazy river areas are very nice and kept extremely clean. It's really a perfect family resort. (all staff we came into contact with was very friendly, too) We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review!!

We appreciate choosing Long Bay Resort again. We are currently working with our Savoy homeowners to upgrade the necessities in their units. Many of our homeowners have already made great improvements! We do try to schedule these projects in the off-season as some of the projects require the unit to be blocked for a week or more at a time. We are always open to any suggestions for improvements in our resort, especially from our guests!

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay again and I am happy to hear that the staff continues to take such great care of our guests! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. If there is anything I can do to further assist you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly!

Kindest Regards,
Jennifer Muldoon
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed at Long Bay Resort on multiple occasions, both for business and pleasure and can say, without a doubt, it is one my favorite spots to stay at the beach. Their facilities are clean, up-to-date, and in a great location!! They have both indoor and outdoor pools as well as a great restaurant!! Their staff is competent and helpful and any time I have had any kind of problem, they have gone out of their way to make sure they took care of it right away to my satisfaction! They work hard to make their reputation top-notch and it shows in their facilities and their people!! I will keep going back!!

Room Tip: Get the ocean front if you can.....it's awesome to face the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!!

We can't thank you enough for you referral here on TripAdvisor! Guest satisfaction is always our top priority and is one of the many reasons why our guests continue to stay at Long Bay Resort!
We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to having you as our guest for years to come!

Kindest Regards,
Jennifer Muldoon
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've been staying here for at least 10 years, once or twice a year, for beach time and golfing trips. The last couple of times, most recently in March, the rooms were very worn looking and dated. We booked a 2-bedroom suite, and were given a room with 1 bedroom, and the 2nd "bedroom" was in the living room area. This took up all the space that should have been a living room, so there was no sofa or chair. Trying to watch TV or relax after a day of golf was very inconvenient, We had to sit on the bed, or bring the small hard dinette chairs into the room. In addition, the water pressure in the shower was very low. When we called the desk to complain, they said "yeah, we've been having trouble with that in the whole wing". Why rent the rooms if they know they are faulty?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review!!

I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not what you are typically used to during your many visits here at Long Bay Resort. We are always working to upgrade our units each and every year. During your visit in March, we had already begun the installation of new upholstered arm chairs, new bed spreads, dressing mirrors and new sofas for our units. We hope to have all of this years newest upgrades completely installed by the end of May as we have to work around our occupied rooms.

I apologize for the issue with your water pressure. As in many oceanfront resorts in Myrtle Beach, we do occasionally have plumbing or electrical issues that will affect our guests. We have already scheduled for work to be done to ensure that all of our guests have every luxury in their units that they would expect when travelling! We strive to exceed every guest expectation and have always made it our mission at Long Bay to provide above and beyond customer service. We would never intentionally rent a unit with any maintenance issues.

If there is anything I can be of further assistance with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kindest Regards,
Jennifer Muldoon
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My family has been coming to Long Bay Resort for years as a winter weekend getaway. So, when we decided to bring our son for his third birthday, I turned to Long Bay when looking for a place to go with an indoor 'water park'. We booked a three-bedroom condo in the Savoy (#503) and got a really great rate for the weekend of 4/27.

Upon arrival, I was saddened that the enclosure was removed for the indoor pool areas. It was a little chilly and our youngest (one year old) didn't get to swim much because he stayed so cold. But, I understand that the resort has to make the decision of when to remove the enclosure. The birthday boy still loved it, so all was well!

I was not very thrilled about the unit itself. It was clean, but the carpet was coming up in the entry way and seemed to not meet the walls in places (which meant lots of crumbs and yuck gathered there for my kids to explore). One of the bedrooms reeked of cigarette smoke smell at night, so I had to leave the door open so my baby didn't sleep in the stench. When traveling, I like to feel like I'm in paradise (an upgrade from the everyday), but the outdated decor in this unit was pretty lackluster. It was definitely sub-par from the other rooms I've stayed in at Long Bay. I had my fingers crossed for an updated room, but we didn't get one. It's a luck of the draw, and after unloading all of our stuff I didn't have the energy to request a room move.

A note about the lazy river -- It does have a sign for you to use inner-tubes for floating, which I appreciate. We've been at another resort where there were no such rules and the river was flooded with wild kids swimming -- and it was impossible to just laze. However, my three-year-old was in his flotation device floating around one evening (happily!) and we were asked to put him in an inner tube and doing so made it impossible for him to enjoy the floating. The huge ring could have drowned him itself. But, I know there are rules for a reason, so we made do. It'd just be great to somehow have smaller tubes for little ones if tubes are going to be requirements. Or, alternatively, allow them to float with their own flotation devices.

Starbucks was great each morning. Parking underneath the Savoy building was so convenient! And the view -- wow -- doesn't get any better than that. I felt like we were sitting on the ocean! The location was great. The beach was clean and the pool area was very well-kept.

Overall, it was a pleasant experience. If we decide to go again, we may check out some other properties, or attempt to request an updated room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!!

We appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with others! Let us start by wishing your "Birthday Boy" a happy 3rd birthday! I'm sorry to hear that your unit was not up to par. We are currently working with all of our Savoy and main tower homeowners to complete any upgrades for this year prior to summer. We can understand how being on vacation for our guests should feel like Paradise and are always here if we can help accomplish that in any way.

I have already ordered smaller floats for the lazy river for our "little" guests for the upcoming season as we have already recognized a need for them! I'm happy to hear that you all enjoyed the convenience of Starbucks and the parking closer to Savoy.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your next family vacation to Myrtle Beach. I will be more than happy to help make that next vacation one to remember!
Kindest Regards,

Jennifer Muldoon
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our third Golf outing to N. Myrtle Beach and found it to be equally outstanding as the first two years. Sarah Everett was amazingly hellpful in finding the courses to play and working with our group to ensure everything was as we requested; to inculude room assignments and a room change for one of us to stay an additional day. The staff and accommodations at Long bay Resort were excellent; as they have been for all three years.

Room Tip: The ocean view 3-bdrom condos were outstanding for the group of 12 people; stayed on the 11th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

We are happy to hear that we continue to be your #1 destination for a golf getaway in Myrtle Beach. We are very lucky to have Sarah Everett as part of our golf team as she consistently provides above and beyond service to all of our golf groups! We appreciate you taking out the time to recognize a fantastic member of our staff!

Thank you again for choosing Long Bay Resort and we look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Jennifer Muldoon
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for good value right on the beach can't beat longbay. We booked an "ocean view" room my wife and I and 4 year old son. With all the money saved we were able to enjoy are long weekend as we chose. The beach was not crowded the hotel quiet and rooms were fine. Nothing special in terms of service or room perks but if you want that spend more money. Only thing don't spend the extra money on ocean view unless you just need the balcony we could barely see the ocean from the 3rd floor overlooking the public beach parking lot. Wifi was spotty and lazy river great for the kid.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

We're so happy you enjoyed the hotel location and all we have to offer. We will address the issue with your WIFI and hope that you were able to use our brand new business center located on the second floor for any of your computer needs! We're happy to hear that your little one loved the lazy river. It's always a hit with children and parents alike!

We appreciate your referral and hope to see you again real soon!

Jennifer Muldoon
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.