We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and the best golf packages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Long Bay Resort to your Saves list
Long Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Savings of 35% for Fall
Ranked #37 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and the best golf packages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Long Bay Resort every year for the past 7 years. We always stay in a three bedroom ocean front condo. It is great. The staff is always friendly, the rooms are clean and it is convenient to have a restaurant attached to the resort. We always pick Long Bay Resort for our golf package because I have not found a better deal on the Strand... I highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a quieter stay and a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

We appreciate your loyalty and are proud to be the preferred destination for golfers visiting Myrtle Beach!

We look forward to serving you again during your next visit!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    428
    150
    93
    75
See reviews for
750
194
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our favorite place to stay in Myrtle Beach, SC is the Long Bay Resort. The location is perfect -- away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area; but, close to all the major attractions, golf, and restaurants. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are very clean and maintained. Would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a vacation in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: We like to Savoy building. Very private and secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

We're so happy you enjoyed the hotel location and all we have to offer. We appreciate your referral and hope to see you again real soon!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been going to Longbay Resort for 10 or more years and really liked it. This year for "snowbird" season we got a horrible 3 bedroom condo (#1051.) It had a water leak which soaked some of the carpet, with a bad smell for 11 days; the dryer was vented into itself creating a fire hazard as well as a mess; the master bed had a rail poking out which scraped my leg as well as a loose headboard and noisey springs; the fan in the small bathroom was so noisey it would wake anyone up if used at night; two kitchen appliances had problems and the internet was unbelievably slow which had never happened previously. There were other problems but enough said on that. Some of these problems were fixed over the 11 days we were in that condo unit and almost all employees were wonderful and tried to help in any way they could. However I can't say that about the Resort Manager. And I wonder why they would rent a unit in this condition? Does anyone inspect these units before guests arrive? I guess not if Condo 1051 is an example. However we did move to Condo 1055 and it was wonderful (as it has always been) for the remainder of our stay. But now my husband says he will never go back there. It's too bad because it could be a wonderful place if they maintained it properly. If you go, be very careful which unit you rent and check it out very carefully.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom condo unit number 1055 is good - great ocean view & reasonably well kept. Never c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologize for the first 11 days of your stay. The same as it would in your own home, uncommon plumbing issues can occur at any time without warning. After you first reported the leak, our maintenance technician inspected the area and could not find the source. At this time, we offered to move you into another room, but you declined as you had already unpacked all of your luggage for your extended visit. Because it was centralized in a bedroom closet and it didn't appear to be actively leaking, we assumed it was just condensation or a spill from a previous guest. After replacing the padding and shampooing the carpet, the moisture slowly reappeared over the course of the next two days. When maintenance revisited the unit, they extended their inspection into the neighboring utility closet. When we disconnected the washer/dryer, the end of the dryer vent hose was hung on the edge of the machine while we had it pulled away from the wall. It was not vented into itself, and could not have been operated during that time.

To prevent interrupting your vacation any further, we again offered to move you to another unit. This time you agreed to move, and with the help of our staff, we relocated you to Room 1055. As you stated yourself, the remaining 36 nights of your stay were a typical experience of Long Bay Resort.

Every single staff member here makes our guest's satisfaction their chief concern. Specifically, our Resort Manager reached out to you several times by phone, a personal visit to your room, and finally a hand-written letter after a lack of response. Please know, that we would never intentionally avoid a guest, nor would we assign someone a room that is not in perfect working order.

We're sorry to lose you as one of our annual "Snowbird" visitors. If I can provide any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmira, new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great resort with lots to do. Easy check-in and helpful staff. Clean and modern units. Beachfront with great ocean views. Nice restaurant,bar, and Starbucks right in resort. Best place I ever stayed in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: Get the three bedroom units. They are spacious and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review for us!!

We appreciate your compliments and referral. Reviews like this are a great morale booster for the entire staff! We strive to ensure each guest has a pleasant and relaxing visit. It is our goal to be the number one resort on the beach!

Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our room was directly beach front. Check in was extremely easy with friendly employees. Enjoyed the indoor pool in the evening along with the giant chess and checker game. Stayed two nights in September so not crowded. Lazy river was chilly. Location is convenient to everything.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be better so you're not looking right out to folks on the grassy area below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!!

Our location is one of our biggest attractions. Since we are on the north end of Myrtle Beach in the residential area, it is very peaceful. However, we are just a five minute drive from all the attractions in both Myrtle Beach and North Myrtle Beach.

I'm happy to know that you found the resort and staff so accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

good, safe location in myrtle beach north. heated pools, lazy river, all great for kids. very clean 3 bed condo, with updated decor, absolutely no complaints. we were on 16 th foor (top) , if you are not used to heights, get a lower floor, as its open on the east and west sides. The 7th floor and lower don't provide as good of an ocean view, but you park on same level as your condo, which is preferable. WARNING: watch them with the bookings, they messed up ours, sent us to an inferior 16 th floor location, and tried to overcharge us by $100 on check in. They can take a reservation, but have problems holding a reservation, which is really the whole premise of the reservation.

Room Tip: 7th floor and lower you can park and walk in, higher and you have to take elevator. If you want the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com.

I'm glad you were able to enjoy the resort during your most recent visit with us. For future reference, there are a few limitations you must consider when making your reservation. First, we guarantee you will receive the exact accommodations you booked. However, due to the fact that each unit is privately owned, we can not guarantee any specific room number or floor request, as the only room fitting your criteria may be occupied by it's owner. Upon your arrival, you were given an Oceanfront Three Bedroom Condo, just as you had reserved. Due to the presence of a homeowner, we were unable to fulfill your request to be on the top floor of the Savoy building. Of the 88 Oceanfront Three Bedroom Condos on our property, there are only two units that could fulfill your specific request. Furthermore, in the main tower, the Oceanfront Three Bedroom Condos are almost exclusively located on the 10th floor and above. While the parking garage only reaches the 10th floor, it can once again be difficult to locate a vacant unit, on a lower floor, on the same level as the parking garage.

In regards to the billing discrepancy, the difference in your rate was nothing more than a clerical error, which was quickly corrected prior to issuing you keys to the room. Please know that we would never willfully deny someone the room that they reserved and we do everything in our power to honor your specific requests. We would also never intentionally overcharge or mislead a guest. Our guest's satisfaction is our top priority.

If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom overlooking the beach - we really enjoyed our stay. The indoor pool and lazy river and whirlpools were great - kids loved the pool area. The outdoor pool area is sheltered from the wind so even though it was cool outside, you could sunbathe by the pool. The room was good. Beds were comfortable and it was all clean. Our housekeeping staff were excellent and did more than advertised. Some of the fixtures are beginning to show their age - the dishwasher had some clunks and broken bits - it worked. The restaurant, Martins, my kids say was fancy and quiet and nice and the food was excellent - go for the early bird for better prices. We would recommend this place for families and in March I think it is one of the few places on the beach where you can spend a lot of time by the pool outside because of the protection from the wind.

Room Tip: Go higher than the 10th floor to avoid parking lot noise and to get an unobstructed view of the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

Long Bay Resort benefits from a very unique architectural design. As you mentioned, the north wing of the building juts out past the pool onto the front lawn. The main tower sits behind it, while the Savoy building blocks the south perimeter. This creates a tall-standing, horseshoe-shaped barrier, surrounding the large outdoor pool deck and shielding you from that chilly March breeze.

We're glad you were able to enjoy the restaurant and other amenities during your stay and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, MyrtleBeachHotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;