We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place for Myrtle Beach in March” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Long Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Savings of 35% for Summer
Ranked #34 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Myrtle Beach in March”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom overlooking the beach - we really enjoyed our stay. The indoor pool and lazy river and whirlpools were great - kids loved the pool area. The outdoor pool area is sheltered from the wind so even though it was cool outside, you could sunbathe by the pool. The room was good. Beds were comfortable and it was all clean. Our housekeeping staff were excellent and did more than advertised. Some of the fixtures are beginning to show their age - the dishwasher had some clunks and broken bits - it worked. The restaurant, Martins, my kids say was fancy and quiet and nice and the food was excellent - go for the early bird for better prices. We would recommend this place for families and in March I think it is one of the few places on the beach where you can spend a lot of time by the pool outside because of the protection from the wind.

Room Tip: Go higher than the 10th floor to avoid parking lot noise and to get an unobstructed view of the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

Long Bay Resort benefits from a very unique architectural design. As you mentioned, the north wing of the building juts out past the pool onto the front lawn. The main tower sits behind it, while the Savoy building blocks the south perimeter. This creates a tall-standing, horseshoe-shaped barrier, surrounding the large outdoor pool deck and shielding you from that chilly March breeze.

We're glad you were able to enjoy the restaurant and other amenities during your stay and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    745
    381
    134
    88
    66
See reviews for
677
181
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maxton, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at Long Bay Resort for overnight, check in was quick, saved money by booking for this hotel through booking.com our room was clean and roomy. Indoor heated pool was big and really warm felt great. There are 3 hot tubs indoors and 1 outdoors ping-pong table & hugh chess game are located beside the indoor lazy river. There's a kiddie pool with umbrellas for smaller kids to enjoy. Loved the indoor activites in the cold march winds.There also a sweat lodge which is nice. The only complaint that I have is the Wi-Fi is super slow & our fridge was leaking water in the floor in room 438. But over all our stay was great and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for choosing Long Bay for your last-minute, overnight stay. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of our amenities during your short stay.

I've informed our maintenance team about the refrigerator. Upon closer inspection, it seems the fridge was not actively leaking, but rather just left in defrost mode by the housekeeper prior to your arrival. Regardless, I apologize for the inconvenience.

We hope that when you decide to return to Long Bay Resort, you are able to stay longer! Please feel free to contact me if I can provide any assistance.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom north view apartment. We had a side view of the ocean(see attached photo).The room was very clean & the kitchen well stocked with cups etc. The bed was comfortable. We used the pool with the grandchildren both nights. The indoor pool was warm but lazy river too cold. Pool area was very clean. We ate at Martins restaurant both mornings, it was excellent! The service was good and the buffet was way better than any buffet I ever had! This resort is a great value for the price!

Room Tip: Side view of ocean from North view 2 room apartment (room 315)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

I'm glad you enjoyed the restaurants, pools, amenities and the room during your visit. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is my third stay at Long Bay. Everything about the resort is nice. I had paid in full before I checked in so this process was the formality of getting my room keys. My room was on the first floor which was nice for me, no stairs or elevators. I wasn't disappointed in my room but I had a side view of the ocean and the next resort. I wasn't on vacation for the view or beach, but for the golf! The rooms seemed as though they might have been freshly painted, new linens, carpeting and bathroom fixtures. So if clean is what you want, then Long Bay resort is for you. As far as the restaurant, I had breakfast each morning. Nothing outstanding but a good traditional breakfast. The only problem was the resort's wireless Internet, just not very good reception in the room or pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!!

We appreciate your loyalty and acknowledgement of the many renovations we have recently completed. While there are no wireless access points in the pool area, you should have no problem connecting to the internet while in your room? While staying here, please let us know if you have any problems so that our maintenance team can inspect the wireless equipment closest to your room.

We strive to make Long Bay Resort the best hotel on the beach! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay despite the issues with the Wi-Fi. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My family and I stayed here Mar 1-3,2013. We rented a 3BR condo. The layout was perfect. My husband and I have 5 teenagers between us so, roomy was key. This condo felt like it was so much bigger than it actually was . When I walked in, I instantly had a good feeling about this room. It felt like home. The room was clean and the master bathroom was very large. It even had a walk-in closet!

Parking was also nice. The garage was infront of the hotel. It was nice to be able to park our car near our room. We were on the 8th floor. We could open our door and walk over to our car in seconds. Big Bonus.

Next were the great pools. Very clean. The kids loved the pingpong tables and the arcade.

Starbucks was downstairs along with a fine dining restaurant and an ocean front cafe. There was also a great burger place next to the hotel.
The location was another great thing. It was far enough away from the "Busy" section of Myrtle Beach but close enough to drive there in minutes.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel! You really never have to leave for anything. Entertainment, food, and fun was all onsite!

We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!!

As a full service resort, we attempt to provide everything you could possibly need without having to leave the property. In the coming weeks we will be reopening our new & improved convenient store, so you can pick up all those items you forgot to pack!

I'm so happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of all we have to offer. We look forward to serving you during your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We're here on a quick weekend getaway with our two boys, ages 11 and 12. The staff is nice and helpful. Elevators are fast. Parking in the garage just outside your room is convenient. The indoor pool is so warm. The lazy river is just a little cooler, but the kids have a ball in it. We played shuffle board, ping-pong, and in the game room. The rooms are nice and clean and quiet. I'm sure things may be a little more hectic during the summer season, but it would be that way at any Myrtle Beach resort. I was more than pleased with the off season rates. A very good value considering all the amenities. We would definately come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!!

We sincerely appreciate your business and are happy to know that you found the resort to be clean, friendly and accommodating.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have stayed at longbay resort for about ten years.the resort is very nice,staff is friendly and helpful.we got free breakfast every moring what a plus .free coffee from starbucks each day,nice ocean front room great view.I love the hottub and the heated pool and lazy river real plus when weather is cold out side.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice.but with great value go for ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

It sounds like you took advantage of our recent Winter Waves promotion. We are always running different specials that can include breakfast, Starbucks, Visa gift cards and other promotional incentives. Keep your eyes peeled for the next reason to come back and visit!

We look forward to serving you again during your next stay!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.