We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place We've Stayed on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Long Bay Resort to your Saves list
Long Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off + FREE Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best Place We've Stayed on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We've been to a handful of places at Myrtle Beach over the past four years, and this was the best and the best value. The room was spacious, the facilities were in decent shape and there was a few different options...hot tubs inside and out (out was FANTASTIC!), pools inside & out, lazy river, games. Beach is always beautiful. Our room was clean and the pool areas were well kept. There's Starbucks, a restaurant & cafe (for lunch) on site but we did not eat in any of them. Just off the property is Riverside Cafe, which has great burgers.

Only complaints: the pillows were terrible and it didn't seem like they cleaned up the stairways & hallways very well as there was a toothpick that stayed on the same stair landing the entire three days we were there. Front desk staff was pleasant; we really didn't encounter any other staff during our stay.

Room Tip: "ocean view" on the southside were not really ocean view, they're more view of the peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

It's wonderful to know that you found our resort to be a better value and quality than others that you've stayed at. We strive to be the number one resort in Myrtle Beach.

I have advised our Director of Housekeeping of your concerns with the pillows and common areas and I can assure you this will not be an issue upon your next visit.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    505
    167
    101
    78
See reviews for
836
237
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had an all around great family vacation experience at the Long Bay Resort! Location was convenient to everything. We forgot toothbrushes and tooth paste, so they gave us what we needed. Amenities were great for all ages. A lot of indoor pools are freezing, not here. The kiddie pool was even warm. The sauna was a great way to relax after a busy day. Great place to stay. I have already told friends to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We sincerely appreciate the personal referrals. I'm happy to know that you found the resort so accommodating. Please, do not ever hesitate to ask the Front Desk for forgotten items or needed toiletries. And the few items that we do not provide will soon be made available by our new and improved gift shop....coming this summer!

Thanks again and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Come back two times a year and love it. Hotel is right on the beach. Huge outside beach front pool. Cafe has great beachfront food. They inclose the lazy river, kids pool and smaller pool for the winter and all are heated. All pools open year round. Great views. prefer ninth floor. Starbucks on site and close to all site seeing locations but in a quiet area. Beds are comfortable and kitchens have granite countertops and all the amenaties.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

We're happy to have you as one of our many guests that take advantage of the winter season to enjoy their beach vacation. As you mentioned, all of our water features are heated all year long, which makes us a desirable destination during the winter months.

Thanks again and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My fourth straight year staying the first week of January. I always stay on the southside with a view of the ocean. outdoor hot tub awesome there are also 3 indoors. Pool inside & out plus indoor lazy river. Everyone that works here are very friendly. Flat screen tv in rooms, waist high fridge, coffee maker & microwave. With your room key you get a discount at restaurant next door River City, There is a restaurant and Starbucks in house. Starbucks opens at 6 am.

Room Tip: I prefer southside 3rd floor & up, room more towards the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty in making us your January vacation destination. It appears that you are definitely familiar with the property, as your review is a perfect synopsis of what we offer here at Long Bay Resort!

Thanks again, and we'll see you again next January!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Long Bay under the suggestion of a friend that stays there every year during his golf trip. It was great! Check in was smooth and the staff was welcoming and funny! It was a nice way to start our vacation. The indoor pool area was awesome because the weather was pretty cold when we were there. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo on the top floor that had grantie countertops (after talking to other guests, we found out they all do!) We'll definitly be back in the summer to enjoy the sun and the resort again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

Thank you for choosing Long Bay Resort as your winter getaway destination. I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy the room and other amenities, despite the cold weather. We pride ourselves on service and strive to be the number one resort in Myrtle Beach.

We look forward to serving you again in the future, after it gets warmer of course!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have spent the last 8 New Years at Long Bay and (as is our custom) have already booked for next year too! We love spending the time together as a family, especially after all the activity of Christmas, where we can just hang out and enjoy relaxing. Long Bay is a great place for kids, and the staff is as friendly and accommodating. The value is fantastic, especially in the off season when we go. We are extremely satisfied with or vacation "home away from home" and cannot give a higher recommendation!

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom condo is perfect for families! Everyone has their own space, a full size kitchen, wash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty over these last 8 years and look forward to serving you during your next New Years holiday!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed at the Long Bay many times and have always left happy and more then willing to come back. You will start with a very friendley and helpful front desk, who will bend over backwards to make you feel at home a help you enjoy your vacation. Have a question just ask. The room are not perfect but always clean and well equipted. The Pool area is grouded and there is a good reason for that, It is a great area, always clean, well stocked with cleans towls and a very helpful staff. Don't forget to check out Martains Rest. for breakfast or dinner, both are great. I come in June on a golf package with several other couples, the golf staff is great and will save you some big buck $$$ on all of the top courses. This place has it all and a resoniable price

Room Tip: Ocean Front anything above the 4th floor is a great view, Also the Savoy building is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!!

I'm happy to know that you found the resort and it's staff so accommodating. We are proud to serve our loyal guests and golfers all year long.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyrtleBeachHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.