We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane Sandy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Long Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Savings of 35% for Summer
Ranked #36 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hurricane Sandy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After our cruise was canceled to the Bahamas dued to Hurricane Sandy, Long Bay was recommended to us by a close friend who visits Myrtle Beach frequently. When we called to make a reservation we were surprised by the value of our stay. The staff was very pleasant and helpful when making the reservation. We had a beautiful ocean front room on the second floor, which was wonderful and quite serene. On the last day of our stay we experienced seeing dolphins swimming in the ocean... WOW!!! what a beautiful sight. I'm a Starbucks fanatic, and when I discovered that Starbucks was right downstairs, I was elated with joy, just the small things in life that really matter sometimes. (lol) I did not get a chance to experience the lazy River and pool because it was cool outside and the resort was in the process of covering the lazy river for indoors. I definitely will experience the lazy river and more when I come back with the whole family in April 2013. We have a reserved a 3 bedroom oceanfront condo and I'm looking forward to the oceanview again. Can't wait to share this venture with my entire family in April for spring break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!!

We are sorry to hear that your Caribbean cruise was canceled, but we're glad to hear we still created an enjoyable vacation for you!! When you return this spring, you will have to make it a point to enjoy all the water features we have to offer!

See you in April!

Thanks,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    762
    399
    141
    92
    70
See reviews for
711
185
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florence, KY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

After numerous golf trips to Myrtle Beach we have found the Long Bay Resort to be our pick for best on the strand. From the trip coordinator Sarah and the hotel staff to the dining experience both in the morning and the EVENING at Martin's restaurant, everyone goes out of their way to make our stay extremely enjoyable. We stay in 3 bedroom oceanfront condo which can accommodate 3 golfers plus a husband and wife for a total of 5 people in comfort.

Room Tip: Pick an oceanfront room next to the garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!!

We appreciate your kind words in recognition of our staff's hard work. We truly strive to be the number one resort in Myrtle Beach.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The registration staff were very friendly and helpful, as we needed to change our room reservations at check-in. The hotel pool amenities are always a big hit with my kids (12,10). Great lazy river and hot tubs. House keeping was efficient and responsive to a couple of requests we had. The internet connection is a little on the slow side, but, who needs email on vacation anyway. We have been staying there at least once, sometimes twice for many years. Convenient to many great restaurants and of course, who doesn't love having a Starbucks in the resort. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a room high up to eliminate noise from the parking deck. Also, make sure you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

I'm glad we were able to make your Thanksgiving holiday a pleasant one. We are happy to have you as a loyal guest each time you visit Myrtle Beach and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Long Bay was recommended to me by a coworker a few years ago. Have stayed there everytime we visit Myrtle Beach. The resort is right on the beach on the quieter end. Great restaurant and Starbucks on the premises. Parking is available on the same level as your room up to the ninth floor. Very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

Word of mouth is one of the biggest forms of marketing, so we do everything we can to provide a wonderful experience for our guests. Thank you for the referral and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We travel to Myrtle Beach twice a year for golf, & always stay at the Long Bay Resort. I think this was approx. year #10. We always have a great experience with little if any problems. We stay in a (3) bedroom ocean front condo, which suits (3) or (4) guys just fine. We stay there on a golf package & have found the Golf Package Coordinators of Long Bay do a great job working in the coures we want to play. We especially want to thank Sarah Everett for her efforts in working with us this year in re-scheduling our trip. Can't wait for our next trip in March of 2013. Thank you Long Bay. Brian

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

'Tis the season for golfing excursions and we are proud to have you as a loyal guest at Long Bay Resort!

We look forward to serving you again next year.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We just returned home from Long Bay Resort once again. It was so nice this time of year. We had 5 days of sunshine and warm temperatures for being November. We stayed in a 3 bdrm oceanfront condo on the top floor. The unit was completely remodeled and very nice. It had an awesome shower in the master bdrm. and an updated kitchen. The children loved the view and watched the dolphins and the shrimp boats in the water from the balcony. They started to enclose the swimming area to keep it warm for all the snowbirds. The lazy river and swimming area is enclosed for winter. The children enjoyed the amentities. It was so relaxing. We had dinner at Martin's restaurant on property and everyday I had my starbucks to start the morning, which is also on property.

We were not sure about going for a long weekend this time of year but we were so thankful we did. Once again, everyone at Long Bay was friendly and the resort is super clean.

Kudos off to housekeeping for the wonderful job they did everyday.

We are booked for the spring at Longbay for a golf weekend and cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: When askig for oceanfront specify oceanfron unobstructed. If you want quiet, try the top floor. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

We're glad you had such a relaxing time and enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer here at Long Bay.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is an outstanding facility, directly overlooking the ocean. Our choice is always the 3 bedroom condo which comfortably sleeps the 4 golfers in our group. The Golf department is fantastic. They were eager to mix and match different courses to arrive at a price satisfactory to our group. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast at Martin's restaurant. Each evening we soaked in the hot tub and shared stories with other golfers. Try Long Bay you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ocean front condo are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Front Office Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.com!!

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and referral of other golf business. The golf season is just as booming and busy as it is in the peak of summer.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.