We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Long Bay Resort to your Saves list
Long Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Savings of 35% for Fall
Ranked #30 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Florence, KY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Golf Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We have been coming to Myrtle Beach to play golf and have stayed at Long Bay for several years. Our requested rooms have been fantastic (3 bedroom condos, oceanfront) with excellent maid service and parking is very convenent. All of our requested courses and tee times are handled by their golf staff and all we have do is show up, relax and play. Breakfast and dinner at Martin's is excellent and priced right. His employees provide a pleasant and entertaining dining experience. And YES we are planning our next trip to Myrtle Beach and Long Bay and Martin's for this spring..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    444
    152
    93
    76
See reviews for
765
205
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I spent a golf week in Myrtle Beach in November. This was my third time in MB, previously staying at Ocean's One and Dunes Village. I must say that the Long Bay Resort is absolutely not comparable to these two.

On the positive side, it is cheap, the pools and spas are nice and the breakfast was included in the package. Also, the service was good, the staff being nice and friendly.

On the negative side, well, the rooms!!! It is so old and small. We rented a two-bedroom apartment, but it was more like 2 beds in a room seperated by a wall. The restroom was so tiny, we had all sorts of trouble taking showers. The kitchen is very outdated, as is the furniture. We were a group of twelve golfers, but trying to gather more than 3 or 4 in a room to play some card games was just impossible. Fortunately, I was alone with friends and not with my family as I'm pretty sure my wife wouldn't want to stay one night there. I must say that these rooms are miles away from Ocean's One and Dunes Village's quality.

So in the end, I would recommend the hotel for the service and staff, but not at all for rooms and sleeping time, which is what a hotel is meant for in my mind.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey_Shaw, Manager at Long Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here at Long Bay Resort. We always enjoy receiving feedback from guests, so that we can address any deficiencies we may have.

I sincerely apologize for the poor experience you had at our resort. We do have many renovations planned to update and restore the resort. Several of those projects have begun as early as last week. Also, your room was an Ocean View Two Room Apartment. These units are somewhat smaller, thereby making them more economical and a favorite among large groups and passing travelers. Our Oceanfront Suites offer much more space for entertaining and privacy for various sleeping arrangements.

I am glad you were able to enjoy the pools, spas and restaurants despite your accommodations. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Long Bay resort for a quick weekend trip. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfortable, and the staff was nice. This hotel is in a good location north of the city center, but not so far north that Broadway at the Beach was inconvenient to get to. We had a room closer to ocean blvd, but it was still quiet. The pools were nice and there were plenty of lounge chairs. The beach itself was very clean and beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have stayed at Long Bay for many years. The rooms are getting an uplift which we all need at times. Everything is clean. Love having the parking garage attached. Staff is always so helpful, friendly and there to please. We are there the week after Christmas every year and this year spent our Thanksgiving at Long Bay. Everything is so handy. Great get away. Can't wait to Christmas.

Room Tip: Go high to get best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was our third time at Long Bay. Every time that we try somewhere else, we always compare it to here. Then we ask ourselves, "why do we stay anywhere else?"

This was a spur of the moment visit over Thanksgiving as plans with family fell through due to a medical emergency. We actually rented a "2 bedroom apartment" this time. It had the same awkward layout of walking into a bedroom from the hallway, the small galley kitchen across from the bathroom (but we have learned to turn this into a plus by using the bathroom sink as an additional food prep area or to store dirty pots and pans while cooking). We cooked an entire Thanksgiving dinner there minus a stuffed bird (used a turkey breast instead) with some ingenuity and it turned out well. Some of the wallpaper was opening at the seams, but all in all the room was nice.

We were hesitant about all the traffic for Black Friday shopping, but we rarely ventured out. Why would we? We didn't come to shop, The internet worked fine instead.
We had a great breakfast buffet at a reasonable price, a wonderful dinner restaurant, and a lunch restaurant onsite that met everyone's needs.

We were afraid that when we saw all the tables were gone in the indoor pool area, that it was going to be elbow to elbow, but it wasn't. With having 3 hot tubs, a separate kiddie area, a lazy river and a good sized pool all indoors, there were only one minor instance of backlog in the lazy river and one instance of high noise level. Also, there were 2 ping pong tables, shuffleboard, checkers and chess indoors to entertain as well. With the outside hot tub, lounge chairs in the sun, a stroll on the beach, to also occupy our time, There is a huge outdoor pool, too, but it was a little too cool for our liking although several people were in it in the afternoons.

We saw many personnel keeping the pool area tidy with an endless supply of clean towels, and reining in those who wanted to swim in the lazy river rather than using a tube. Our room was very clean.

This is a good value and a great place to reconnect as a family without having everyone sitting around endlessly texting, talking on the phone, visiting the internet, or watching TV. There is just too much to do, and the salt water pools are like bath water. Cannot say enough about this place. So why do we ever go anywhere else? Maybe we won't.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We went in off-season as a family and the kids had a blast in the indoor pool(s). So many positives that outweighed any minor negatives. Starbucks on-premises, pools, proximity to ocean, great staff. I needed to print something and they were friendly and accommodated me. Cleaning staff is very receptive as well. The ocean cafe didn't have a lot of selection (we're vegetarians), so go to the hotel next door and there's a lot more to choose from, including margaritas. Would definitely go back again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room that overlooks the condo building on the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Long Bay Resort offers comfortable, clean accommodations at an great price (especially during the "off season"). Several room layout options make it very easy to find the perfect fit for your family. The entertainment ammenities are great! The indoor pool, lazy river, kids pool, and hot tubs offer hours of fun all year round. The super-sized chess and checkers games were a hit with the older kids in our group. The staff was friendly and courteous. Check-in and out were fast and easy. Our room was very comfortable. Could use a little up-dating, but nothing that impacted our stay! We will definitely visit again and are already planning a long weekend in January.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Resort

Address: 7200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the more quiet north end of Myrtle Beach you are just seconds from the heart of attractions and restaurants. Long Bay resort has been a favorite among families and golfers for decades. Enjoy newly renovated accommodations with your choice rooms, suites, efficiencies and condo all with the comforts of home. Check out any of our onsite food and beverage outlets, there’s Martins restaurant, the Seaside Cafe, Starbucks Cafe and our oceanfront Tiki Hut. And let’s not forget about the amenities. No beach vacation is completes without a dip in one of our many water features. There’s our in and outdoor kiddies pool areas with silly submarine and mushroom waterfalls, our heated indoor lazy river, our ocean front outdoor pool deck with pool and Jacuzzi, our indoor pool, a sauna and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, MyrtleBeachHotels, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resort Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Myrtle Beach
Long Bay Resorts Myrtle Beach Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.