We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the hype....Dirty establishment & bland food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Big Mike's Soul Food

Big Mike's Soul Food
504 16th Ave North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
+1 843-712-2048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 760 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We have some of the best soul food in myrtle beach ,our blue plate special is the best deal in town at $ 8.75 A plate.Soul food the way your mama made it!!!!
rockville, md
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype....Dirty establishment & bland food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was so excited to visit Big Mike's Soul Food due to the great ratings I had read on trip advisor. It was a big SIKE for me as the blinds up to the windows were disgustingly dirty as though they hadn't been cleaned in YEARS. The collard greens were full of huge stems and lacked seasoning; the mashed potatos tasted like they were from a box and the gravy was even worse; the macaroni and cheese was not cheesey; the cornbread crumbled and tasted stale; they ran out of white meat chicken and the dark meat was chewy; the peach cobbler had been microwaved and was just a big clump of gooey dough with very little peaches.

Big Mike's left a lot to be desired and he needs to go back to the drawing board and try again being that his website states he's been cooking for over 30 years. He should call Robert Irvine from Restaurant Impossible on the Food Network and request a makeover with his establishment and menu. The lack of cleanliness is really unacceptable as he and his staff should be able to handle it.

There's a daily special platter for $7.95 in which you get a meat, three side dishes, a piece of cornbread and a drink. There's an additional discount if you're a senior and there's no kids menu whatsoever.

When in Myrtle Beach don't waste your time NOR money on Big Mike's! Yuck!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    86
    24
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbine, Maryland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Was hoping this would as great as everyone claimed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Always looking for great places to eat within walking distance of our condo. This place gets rave reviews so it was a must try. I had the blue plate special, the fried chicken was good, the black eyed/field peas were also good. The cornbread was so dry that it fell into crumbs when I picked it up. However the biggest disappointment were the mashed potatoes. They tasted like nasty instant potatoes. The interior was dirty and unattractive. My waitress seemed kind but struggled to speak to me, however another waitress was extremely out going and friendly, she made sure I had a drink, etc. Maybe it was just bad timing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Price is right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Looking for something different, reasonable and not a buffet so we tried Big Mike's. This is a very small restaurant so we had a bit of a wait and ended up sitting at the counter. The staff is very friendly. We ordered the fried chicken blue plate. Be sure to specify if you have a white meat preference otherwise you will get dark meat only. Overall the food was average home cooked tasting but the price was right. Nothing spectacular that we would have to return for.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My family had a taste for soul food so I found Big Mikes on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Blue plate special for 7.95 includes chicken/fish or pork chops, 3 sides, corn bread & a drink! The food was really good and cooked to order and the servers were awesome. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Went to Big Mikes after reading several reviews on here and was expecting a pretty good meal. What I got was an amazing home cooked meal that took me right back to my mommas kitchen. My wife and I both had the blue plate special and everything we had was amazing. The peach cobbler was delicious and the service truly made us feel at home. By far the best and most inexpensive meal we had while in Myrtle Beach and we will certainly be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Mike's Soul Food also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Big Mike's Soul Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Mike's Soul Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.