We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wave Rider Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wave Rider Resort to your Saves list
Wave Rider Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had the BEST time at the Wave Rider! I am originally from Myrtle Beach and wanted a nice little getaway from the busy life and that's exactly what I got. The hotel and room was wonderful and the management was very helpful and nice as well. It wasn't very loud either which was nice for a peaceful relaxing couple days. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    28
    13
    10
    51
See reviews for
57
19
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunn, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great accommodations, price, and location. Management was very helpful in finding things to do with our children.

Will be back. The weather had us locked in but they helped us find things for the kids to do and stay Happy! Happy! Happy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I wanted a place on the beach for this weekend and got the waverider which was pretty close to full so i called last week and got a nice small suite for the weekend for the two of us and had the indoor pool to . so we are enjoying it and the weather is getting better did the marathon and feel great no enjoying the rest of i hope good weather weekend the staff is very accommodating to my wants they also had the best price i could find for this weekend being presidents weekend to.cheapest on the beach .

Room Tip: i like higher up rooms so i ask for the top floor when available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The price was ok but not worth staying here. The room was dirty, smelly and the shower looked like someone died in it. There were tons of cock roaches, the coffee maker, stove and microwave were so gross, so we ended up not using them at all. The bed was so gross that we had to put our own bedding down, we kept the balcony door open day & night because it smelled so bad. We spent most of our time out of the room because it was so.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, Guest Relations Manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
I am the manager of the front desk of the Wave Rider Resort, I am so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay at the Wave Rider. Please note that all of our units at the Wave Rider are individually owned. I was unable to find where you had booked your room through the front desk of the Wave Rider so I am to assume that you booked your room directly from one of the homeowners who privately rent their rooms and no not use the services of the front desk.

When booking through a private owner, please know that it is the private owners responsibility to fully disclose to their guests the condition of the room, and that the private owners guests are not entitled to some of the amenities / services that are offered to other guests who choose to rent directly from the front desk of the Resort. For example guest who rent directly from the resort receive maid service, 24 HR emergency assistance, access to a fitness /weight room, access to wireless services, and access to our media center where guests can access the internet, print documents, place / receive long distance calls and receive faxes from the privacy of a private room. Some guests assume that they can save money by renting directly from an owner rather than renting directly from the front desk at the resort, however in many cases rates offered by the resort are actually less than what the private owner is offering and as a bonus when renting directly from the resort guests have the piece of mind that in the event of a emergency they will be taken care of immediately.

The Homeowners Association Board at the Wave Rider share in your concern over the roaches that you mentioned and apologize for the inconveniences it may have caused. We have a professional pest control company who comes out every third Monday of the month to do a preventive spraying for these types of pest. However unfortunately every once in a while we do receive a complaint regarding this type of pest. Our policy is to immediately address any concerns by a guest by having the pest control company come out to spray again however it is ultimately up to the homeowner of the room to give us access to spray for these pests.

Again, I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy your stay. I would love the opportunity to re-earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

wave rider was clean and neat,we had two double beds and a kitchen great room, beach public access right across the road a short walk. staff was friendly and helpful. one outside pool and lazy river and indoor heated pool. nice hotel we have stayed there twice and the price was excellent. easy to find the hotel and will stay there again.loved it.

Room Tip: ground floor room for handicap easy access, large room and bath with a kitchen nice tile floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, Front Office Manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Wanda, We are so glad that you had such a good time here at the Wave Rider! It is repeat guests such as yourself who help create the family atmosphere we have at the Wave Rider. We all work very hard to ensure that our guests have the best vacation experience possible. Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review and we look forward to having you back with us again. Greg Front Desk Property Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just returned from our family vacation at Myrtle Beach and stayed at the Wave Rider for 9 days. Our room was nicely decorated and clean. The grounds are nicely kept and the pool is fantastic. Management was very accommodating. Had a very relaxing time. - Chuck R

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, Front Office Manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Chuck, I want to thank you and your family for staying with us every year. I look forward to seeing you Lynn and the kids again this year and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. As you are aware Our lobby was completely renovated less than 1 ½ years ago. We spent a great deal of time and money to improve this area and have had many complements of the way it looks. Over the past few years we have also worked hard to improve the over all appearance of the resort. In addition to the items already mentioned, we have added a fitness center, added a convenience store, upgraded our guest laundry facilities, and installed a media room where guests who check in via the front desk can view emails. This year when you arrive you will also notice that we now have a Discounted Ticket Center where you will be able to purchase discounted tickets to all of the area attractions. Again thank you for taking the time to write a review and I will see you and your family this summer. Thanks Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

At the last moment we decided to go to the beach. Checked everywhere and nothing was available. Called the Wave Rider and yes they have a vacancy! Approximately 87 a night; I'll take it! When we arrived you could tell it was an older building but this was a good thing. Today's construction lets you hear your neighbors two doors down. Not here. Couldn't hear a thing beside, above, or below. Room was very clean, the staff was very courteous and eager to help with any situation.

Will be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgw9393, Front Office Manager at Wave Rider Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Scott, thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure speaking with your family this past summer. The week you were down was by far the busiest week we had all summer I am happy to know that you were pleased with your stay and that my staff was able to satisfy you. Please tell your boys I said Hello and I hope to see you again this summer. Take Care Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wave Rider Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Rider Resort

Address: 1600 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wave Rider Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wave Rider Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wave Rider Hotel Myrtle Beach
Wave Rider Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wave Rider Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.