We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese Buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New China Buffet - CLOSED

New China Buffet
9601 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
(843) 497-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Chinese Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

They provided good value! The food variety was good with items being restocked continuously.
The restaurant was clean, but the Hosts and servers were dressed for yard work. Not very impressive for a restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    19
    3
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coastal Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great choices....excellent Mongolian Bar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Good, good food. Best Chinese in the city, we think. Lots of sushi, including some cool item like a cornucopia out of seaweed with vegetables...nice touch. The Mongolian Bar where a chef prepares your choices of raw ingredients has some fine touches including lots of fresh sprouts, fine mushrooms, julienne cut vegetables and more to add steak, shrimp or chicken....choose your sauces and it is customized deliciousness.. It's all fresh and served up great---chicken wings are superb both fried and regular kinds. nice fruit selection, too...if you have any room with your ice cream.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not anything to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Here celebrating my birthday so we decided to go to a buffet. Many others in the area are terribly expensive while this one seems to be reasonably priced, I'm still not sure where the other 100 items on the buffet are as they say they have 150 items but hey maybe I missed something. The restaraunt was clean so was the restroom. I would go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Lots to Choose From”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went here twice to get away from the hotel prices. The food is good! You can get hibachi grill, sushi, Chinese food, or just graze at the salad bar. It is nice and clean and even has a gift shop. The service leaves a little to be desired. Drink orders are messed up and after that you are on your own. Dishes build up on the table between some courses and the staff doesn't speak much English. Don't pick this place for anything special, but if you want a good lunch at a good price, check it out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I Would Never Go Back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The regular buffet was so-so. I would call it typical of many Chinese buffets...not terrible, but a perhaps a little over-priced. We then received our bill and it was almost $80 for two adults and two children under 10. We had been charged $36 ($9 x 4) additional dollars for crab legs, which were nothing special at all. In reality, we ate two plates of crab legs yet they charged a 6-year old and a 9-year old $9 each. I argued and the bill was eventually reduced to $63, which is just plain stupid for an evening (weeknight) buffet. I would never go back and I'll be surprised if this place is still in business in three years.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New China Buffet also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New China Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.