We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
lexington,sc
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed at the hotel the week of Easter. We had a suite. It had a kitchen and two rooms. It was wonderful and clean. I have an autistic daughter and it was great to have the two rooms. The indoor pool was warm and clean. Very nice. Easy access to the beach. Will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    304
    84
    39
    14
See reviews for
457
382
30
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We were travelling with four teenagers, boys and girls and had to have separate sleeping areas but didn't want to have separate rooms so searched and found this suite hotel. We had a 3 Queen bed room which was in the non-oceanfront property but these units are in the part of the building that faces the ocean. As there is an empty property between this motel building and the ocean we had a great view. At nighttime the lights of the Hampton were annoying and would be worse in some of the other units. We kept our curtains shut anyway as the room entrance is on a common balcony and people walked back and forth. The unit itself had two of the queen beds (and they didn't seem that queen-ish) in a room at the back which didn't have a window but did have a/c. It was too dark at times and kind of claustrophobic. I guess most people put their kids in there but that was the girls room and the boys slept out front. The beds all have two pillows per person which is nice. This hotel has all sorts of layouts and it's important to ask what building you're in and what sort of view you get. There are some great views for a non-oceanfront motel. The kitchen is sparsely equipped and has no counter or storage space, even so, we cooked and ate there more than eating out, with some creative re-arranging of the dish cupboard to make room. We used the gas BBQ back of the hotel in the cottages area a few times also. FYI for anyone interested in the cottages, they're very nice, but they're on the street behind the motel unit so have no view of anything. They open up to a common patio and greenery, so are not completely private.

Parking is in the U-shape around the pool, which is more safe for your car, the other partking is on the outside of the building and if you don't have your parking permit your car gets towed, one fellow guest was not happy to find his car gone as they didn't check the tag against the hotel registration and his permit wasn't visible.

The pool is nice and clean and the hot tub somewhat so depending on the time of day. The lazy river is small but fun. The building shades the afternoon sun so on cool days it gets cold very quickly, but would be nice in the heat of summer. We were there just after Easter and it was transient with people staying 2-3 days, so it's not like a resort where you see the same people for a week. Being transient means for some very interesting things in the hot tub and the hotel could patrol this a little better. Some drunken idiot trying to sex up his girlfriend ruined the pool area one night but one of our kids took video from the balcony of the whole thing so it will probably end up on youtube.

Smoking is permitted on the common balconies outsides of the rooms so if you want completely non-smoking, ask for a room in the oceanfront building which is completely non-smoking. We went over there a couple of times to use the indoor pool but it was very steamy and hot and dank smelling so didn't enjoy it and the hot tub there is very small. I think a lot of people use the hot tub to wash off after being in the ocean which is gross. The oceanfront building is basically non-monitored, there is no desk there and it is just rooms and the pool. The parking, as others have described is non-existent. In the busy season I think a lot of people end up parking way behind the motel building and would not be happy about that.

Housekeeping is so-so. They're very good when they're there, but they want to be done by 11am and as we were there for five days our room got missed a lot because the kids were sleeping in. They were good at giving us fresh towels and one day we asked them to come back later but they never did. They never vacuumed either, and hadn't before us because we found garbage under the beds. The bathrooms were clean and fresh smelling. The kitchen was immaculate. There wasn't anything particularly icky about the room if you didn't look under the beds.

The internet is all wi-fi, no cabled connections. The TV does not have AV connectors so we couldn't hook up the XBox.

The breakfast is okay, the area for breakfast is very small and it is basic. Grocery store sweetrolls and muffins, a toaster, juice, canned fruit, plain yougurt and waffles. The coffee is good and there are waffle machines but that gets tiring very quickly. They rotate between having sausage gravy and biscuits, sausage patties and eggs (frozen and re-heated) and hard boiled eggs. The breakfast is 6:30 to 9:30 and no later, it ran out by 9am most mornings. I bought bacon and eggs and cooked every day in our unit, and we used the buffet for coffee and juice. We must have driven everyone crazy with the smell of fresh bacon every day, especially if they thought it was coming from the buffet! Did we get value from the breakfast buffet, no, not really. We gave away most of our breakfast tickets.

Because of the open plan with the parking and driving through between the pool and the rooms, and the oceanfront building having no monitoring, it's not a place for little kids although there were some there, left to run loose in the pool area with no parents in sight. It would be too easy to wander onto the road. There's lots of kid friendly places, the Hampton across the street was full of little kids for example.

We liked this place all in all. The price was good and they had a promotional discount at the time. We went out most afternoons and came back in the late evening, had a swim and went to our room, sat out in front and watched people in the pool and the passerbys. The beach is *right* across the street and really accessible, and we liked being able to park our car in front and hop around town anytime. I wouldn't consider this as a resort hotel as you need to have a car to do anything, But if you're travelling through and want to stay for a few days, it's just right.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I surprised my husband with a weekend get away to CELEBRATE US! It was fabulous! The hotel was everything I thought it would be..CLEAN! OCEAN FRONT! ROCKING CHAIRS ON THE BALCONY!!

Small problem w/room not being ready. We were told room was not ready and to come aback in 15 mins. We came back @ 3:30 and were given our keys...drove across the street and room was still not rdy and 1 of the keys did not work..The maintenace guy was quick to take the key and run across the street to get us 1 that worked. (still only worked once) And 1 of the cleaning ladies helped our lady get our room cleaned! KUDOS!!! FOR TEAMWORK!!!

Only other thing I would improve, other than the keys, is a screen for the door to help keep unwanted bugs out while we were enjoying the soothing sounds of the ocean! Other than that! IT WAS GREAT!!! Thanks!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford,MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

My cousin and I headed to Myrtle Beach for a golf getaway. Best Western Grand Strand set us up with a great package including hotel and golf. The hotel was comfortable and the golf courses were excellent. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy. I highly recommend a stay with them.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Had an absolutely wonderful time during our stay. Comfortable rooms - especially the 2 separate sleeping areas so my husband and I could stay up and watch TV or hang by the pool after the kids went to bed. The kitchenette was fine...really only used it to make breakfasts and lunches. We did cook out on their grill a couple of nights. The breakfast buffet is ok. I only say "ok" because it is very very cramped. All of the food selections are on a very small counter area and several tables are crammed into the lobby area. They do have additional seating outside but for the number of people who try to get breakfast there's not much room. Seriously, though, that is the ONLY thing I can complain about. The pool was cleaned every morning and our rooms were cleaned daily. The staff and management were very friendly and more than accomodating. If you don't mind not be oceanfront or walking less than two minutes across the street to the beach then this is perfect. We researched all of the high rise condo type places but they're overrated and overcrowded. This place was truly a relaxing vacation even in what can sometimes be a busy Myrtle Beach!! Can wait for August 2010!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We arrived in Myrtle Beach on Sunday, March 14th, 2010 and checked into the BW Grand Strand Inn and Suites. We were greeted by Chrissy at the front desk, and she was very gracious and helpful as she set us up in a beautiful ocean front room with a balcony.
The hotel is very clean, the rooms are large and comfortable and very reasonable. The entire property is non-smoking, and the staff was very polite and helpful at all times.
The hotel has all the amenities one could ask for, with a great indoor pool, jacuzzi etc and access to the beach just a few steps away. The breakfast area was always clean and very well run with many choices. The Hotel is well situated on Ocean Blvd., just minutes away from restaurants, shopping etc. As a Best Western Rewards, Elite Diamond card holder, I highly recommend this property for your next vist to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

I Find this hotel to be the best value for the time of year I vist.

Last year the house keeping was great and the staff were all very freindly. This year not so much.

For example an empty toilet paper roll was left unchanged. When it was replaced I found the empty core left on a chair at the table in the room.

The staff was not as freindly or cheerfull although they did check me in and out just fine. Maybe it is the economy but the staff seemed so much more perky and attentive last year. Possibly a management change? I am not sure.

However I find it still suits my needs. You cannot beat the price and it is in a convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Address: 1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, non smoking oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean, our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.