We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and close to the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Value and close to the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Awesome trip. Great price. Across the street from the beach and a nice hotel pool and hot tub too. Also access to the other Best Western hotel that has an indoor pool. Nice room and nice breakfast. Will go here again. Staff was super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    302
    84
    39
    14
See reviews for
457
381
30
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Pros: Continental breakfast, Lazy River, close to Ocean. Multiple room type options -waterfront, cottages, efficiency etc.. fast customer support. Engaging owner. Hi-speed internet. Cons: lack of bad behavior management by hotel staff of guests that are loud, using foul language, and obnoxious around others. This almost ruined our stay -luckily group left shortly after our arrival otherwise we would have left for another hotel. Other then that it was a nice hotel -affordable and kept clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack R, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about my property. As I said in our emails, though, I am deeply sorry that your experience at my property was tainted by other guests, and especially that you felt that my staff and I did not handle the situation appropriately. Again, if I had been notified of the situation, I would have addressed those guests immediately. I am glad to hear, though, that ever other aspect of your stay was pleasant and that you enjoyed your vacation. We can't wait to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here after reading the great reviews and was so disappointed and wondered who actually wrote the reviews. Firstly, the room is very small and outdated, the bathroom is so tiny two people could not be in it at the same time. The breakfast was horrible, a greasy mess that made us all sick. The spas did not work the entire time we were there, the lazy rive was dirty. The sink was clogged in the room and smelled horrible. The beds were not comfortable at all and to top it off we found bugs in the room. For 165/night, I expected better accommodations! There is a lot more to say but I just want to put this bad place behind us. You have been warned, do not stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack R, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Once again, I would like to apologize for any way in which my property did not exceed your expectations. I can assure you that my staff and I work tirelessly to provide exceptional service, clean rooms, and high-quality amenities to every guest that stays with us. I am deeply sorry that your experience did not align with our standards. I am sorry to hear, especially, that you were unhappy with the size of your room and bathroom. I wish you would have contacted my front desk with this concern; I do have 21 different room types, and we would have been happy to work with you to find another room that was more to your liking.

Although we cannot always prevent maintenance issues (such as a sink clogging up), we do seek to address such problems with efficiency when they are brought to our attention. I hope that, despite the inconvenience, you found my staff to be prompt and helpful in responding to your maintenance call. I am also very sorry that one hot tubs was down during your stay. Unfortunately, we had to order a part in order to fix it, which caused it to be "out of order" for two and a half days. Please accept my apologies for the frustration this caused you.

Finally, regarding your comments about breakfast: over 200 people enjoyed breakfast during your stay, and we had no other complaints about the food making anybody sick. We do our best to provide a wide variety of selections- from fresh fruit and yogurt to made-to-order waffles to biscuits with gravy- in order to satisfy any party. I wish you would have approached my staff about this matter during your stay, so that we could identify if there was a problem with one of our dishes.

Again, I am very sorry that your stay was anything other than pleasant. Please consider giving us another chance next time you visit. We would love to have another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My girlfriend (now fiancee!) and I spent a week at the Best Western Plus on Ocean Blvd. We enjoyed our stay immensely. It is located right across the street from the public beach access. Our room was tasteful, clean and the bed was really comfy. We had no problems keeping any valuables in the provided safe. I would stay at the Best Western Plus again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a long road trip we took this summer.

The hotel is very clean. The cleaning staff really does a great job of cleaning and only came when we were away from the room.

The hotel is just across the street from the beach. A very short walk away. They also have a lazy river and pool, which we did not try out. It seemed a lot of families were taking advantage of the pools however and the pools were well maintained.

Breakfast is included in your stay. It runs from 6:30-9:30. We tried to take advantage of it but it was so ridiculously crowded with a line out of the hotel that we ate elsewhere.

Pleasant stay, nice family atmosphere, but a little pricey. We paid $170 a night, for probably about a $125 a night valued hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Everybody is very nice and welcoming. The room was very clean and very nice. I think the area was very nice and i felt safe, we stayed in a first floor looking towards the street, there was never a moment were we felt unsafe. I absolutely do not agree with a previous review of it being trashy. If i have one complain is that i wish breakfast lasted at least another hour n since the sitting area for breakfast is not big, guests should be allowed to take the food back to their rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack R, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, and for your kind words about my property. I am so glad to hear that you were pleased with our location and atmosphere, and that you felt safe during your stay. In regards to breakfast: we are aware that the lobby can get crowded in the mornings and do our best to ensure that everything runs smoothly and efficiently. We do, for example, offer prepackaged to-go bags for guess who do not wish to wait in line. I will certainly take your specific suggestions for improvements into account, however. We always welcome guests' comments! Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great motel and really clean. Surprised we had an oven in our kitchenette! Loved having breakfast provided. We stayed in the main building which overlooked the outdoor pool and hot tub. Felt very safe to leave items in room and car was always parked nearby in a lighted area. We walked across the street to the beach which really wasn't a problem at all. On check out day, they gave us a key to the building on the ocean which had an indoor pool and showers so that we could stay on the property all day and shower before the trip home. They even provided us with clean towels! Pillows were hypoallergenic but I will bring my own pillow next time that has some support.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Address: 1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, non smoking oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean, our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.