We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time trip to Myrtle Beach, SC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brownstown Township, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time trip to Myrtle Beach, SC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Looking for a warm weather April 18th 5 day trip to Myrtle Beach, SC trip for three adults (parents and senior in college daughter.

We had a suite on the west side of the street facing the ocean. The lot on the ocean side of the street was vacant so we had a good view of the ocean and the suite on the second floor had a good size balcony. The hotel was great, water temp. in the pool ok but could have been a little warmer, breakfast was good and the staff very friendly.

Be cautious of the weather report advertised for Myrtle Beach. Everyday the advertised temp. was appx. 63 degrees high and it rained only one day, however, the actual real feel was probably high 40s to low 50s. There were not many people on the street during our visit and those hardy enough to take a walk had jackets on and hands in their pockets. Outside of arriving late the first day and seeing some sun, the rest of our stay had 90% gray skies, little to no sun to speak of, and the constant wind of 20-25 miles an hour (I'm not talking gusts) made it cold enough to wear a thick hoody or spring jacket (not a light windbreaker). Because we were at the ocean, we had to go to the beach at least a short time each day where my daughter had to try to get a little sun. She lay on the beach in her swim suit hoping for some sun and getting sand blasted. We sat in our chairs with our jackets on. The ocean looked great (not swimming temp) and was full of large breakers 90% of the time. Daughter wanted to go para-sailing but on the couple days she wanted to go, the weather was too bad so it didn't happen. On the better gray sky days, we noted only minor or no ocean water sport activity. There are a couple nice outlet malls that we went to to pass the time and we took a ride to North Carolina to sight see and had dinner at a nice restaurant (Boundary House Rest) which was next door to a large size Christmas shop (not as big a Frankenmuth, MI Christmas shop), but pretty big.

We also visited a large store just south of Myrtle Beach called Old Time Pottery. Evidently it is a chain store, however, we had never heard of it. If you are looking for home decorations, glassware and stuff like that, it is worth a short drive to check the place out. Some neat stuff worth the visit.

One day we took a slow sight seeing 2 hour drive to Charleston, SC. We had our best time there visiting Fort Moultier for a couple hours and then parking at the visitor center near the historic district. We had a long walk (shorts & tee shirt weather with minor breeze) into and around the historic district and the also had free trollies that you could take to get around (which we didn't use because they seemed crowded). Lots of restaurants in the downtown historic district so we had good lunch. Driving back to Myrtle Beach the familiar gray skies and wind appx one hour from the city.

Room Tip: Suite was large and beds very comfortable.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good. The room info says the will proved towels etc every day if you want, however, suggests that if you can use their shower towels for a couple days it would help the environment.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    287
    75
    38
    14
See reviews for
436
350
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is our second visit to the Grand Strands Inn in Myrtle Beach. Our first was in the fall and was absolutely wonderful. Our second visit exceeded our expectations from the first. First of all the location places you right in the sand along the beach. Our oceanfront room gave us a perfect view of the beach & water. We stayed in the corner end rooms on the second and now the fourth floors in this separate suite building. This is acoss the street from the main Best Western hotel complex. On both visits the only negative observation was the parking. There is a restricted amount of spots for you to claim close to the building. You will have a parking pass, make sure you display it or you can get towed. There are parking spots which have a parking meter to feed, but I recommend you select one of the Best Western spots which do not cost. Fortunately, every time we went out, we were able to find a place to park when we returned. We noticed one evening the hotel staff were actually trying to redirect the adjacent hotel customers from parking all over the Best Western spots. That showed me their sincere concern for their customers. We found the full kitchen and dining room area was a plus in making meals that we wanted to take in. Breakfast served from 6:30-9:00 AM across the street was truly an enjoyable event particuliarly the excellent and courteous conduct of the staff. My wife enjoyed their waffle mix so much, she asked the staff if she could buy a bag from them. I was pleasantly surprised how they quickly responded to her request. You will not be disappointed with a stay here. I felt safe and pampered while actually saving some money from all the other high priced hotels up and down the strip.

Room Tip: Choose a corner ocean facing side room. Most of the noise from strip was not heard our entire time t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I (two young senior citizens) stayed here while visiting Myrtle Beach. Our hotel was located right across the street from the beach. The facilities include a heated pool, lazy river, and laundry room. The staff was warm and welcoming. The breakfast had a great variety of choices including eggs, sausage, and waffles cooked by a friendly attendent. Rooms were nice and beds were comfortable. A perfect location to explore Myrtle Beach and the surrounding tourist spots.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack R, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I appreciate your kind words! Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review for our property. I'm especially glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, including our warm deluxe continental breakfast. We're especially proud of it's offerings- guests can enjoy anything from biscuits with gravy to made-to-order Belgian waffles- and always appreciate hearing that guests enjoyed it. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The oceanfront building on the beach is truly on the beach. The balcony is part of the room which is very comfortable. The mini-kitchen is workable and the bathroom is sufficiently spacious but you are there for the view, the beach and the town's fun stuff. Close to much by bike or foot. There is an indoor pool and a business center too. Nice place all in all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was me and my boyfriend's second trip to Myrtle Beach. I found the hotel here on this website. I have to admit it didn't quite look like the pictures on the outside. We weren't in the oceanfront building, but it still turned out pretty good. The bed was EXTREMELY comfy and the room was clean. A good gym was important to me, and theirs was nice. It was more equipment than I expected, and who doesn't want to be able to see out onto the ocean while they work out!?! The breakfast was very nice, there was some hot food as well as some healthy options. There was also a very nice woman who would make your waffle and bring it to you. We weren't in the oceanfront building, but we were allowed to go there and use the indoor pool. That was very nice. All of the staff was nice. The only downside was that there was no microwave in the room and the fridge could have been colder. Overall, a very nice stay. We are now Best Western Rewards member.

Room Tip: You should specifically request a room with a microwave, because they do not all have one.
See more room tips
Green Features: I thought it was nice they had separate trash cans in the room for recycling.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We just got home from Myrtle Beach, and wanted to comment on the hotel we stayed in. Best Western On The Strand is nice, clean, and reasonably priced. We stayed in the main building, and just walked across the street and were on the beach. The staff was friendly & helpful. We would definitely stay again!


  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack R, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay in the main building, across the street from the ocean, and found my property to be exceptional in every way. Our highest priorities are to provide every guest with excellent customer service and a clean, high-quality room... I'm always pleased when guests comment that they found us to meet those goals. Thanks again for your review. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel has two buidlings, one on the side of the ocean and one directly across the street. We were in the one across the street but it had a fantastic view of the ocean anyway. The room was very clean and spaceous.

The staff were very friendly, gave us maps of the area and suggestions on what to do. The hotel itself is a bit south of the major retail area which makes it rather impossible to spend the day on foot but if you don't mind driving to the action, this hotel is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Address: 1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, non smoking oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean, our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.