We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fulfilled our need on a Cold Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 215 hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fulfilled our need on a Cold Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Staff was very friendly and more than helpful during our check in, offering tips and a map with short cuts to avoid the Spring Break traffic during peak hours. She even brought out some fresh coffee for me.. The room we got was nice and clean, it was a single king bed that was VERY comfortable. my wife said the bathroom too small ( but it had everything I needed). We used the heated pool and hot tub across the street, and they were great !! I was worried about walking back in the cold ( temp was in the 30's outside ), but the bathrooms at the pool were as good, if not better than in the room, complete with showers, shampoo, blow dryer, etc.. So we were able to dry off completely before heading back across the street. ( The pools also had lift chairs if you need a little help in and out and they stay open late ). The rooms Wi-Fi worked fine, the room had a DVD player ( which i had never seen before in any hotel ) a big TV. We were able to park right in front of our room, which i loved, making loading and unloading the vehicle a breeze. ( we weren't there for the view). The breakfast was better than most "free" breakfasts' . The sausage, biscuits and Gravy were really good. the rest just typical. The Lady working the food area was very friendly and kept the place looking clean. Over all a nice stay, and short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack R, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed and helpful review! I'm sure that future guests will appreciate hearing about your stay when they are also traveling during the winter months. We appreciate that you passed on your thoughts about our customer service, cleanliness, and high-quality rooms and amenities. I'm especially glad that you took advantage of our heated indoor pool facilities, including our shower and changing rooms, and found the pool lifts helpful. Please come and see us again next time you are in the Myrtle Beach... I'll look forward to welcoming you back to my property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    233
    63
    31
    14
See reviews for
352
292
28
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 days on cold days in March 2013. This location has two buildings - the main one with lobby on the land side of Ocean Blvd and another on the beach side. Its a short walk between them. We stayed in the beach building - ocean front with a balcony. Typical view. Clean rooms with fully equipped mini kitchen. Very clean. Friendly staff. Because of cold days the beach was out of the question so we went to the indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. All very clean and what a treat to be able to walk indoors to and from them. Breakfast was excellent with a very friendly attendant. Room AC / heat unit was typically noisy - as expected with this style of room. All in all this place is a good deal.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to stay in the efficiency rooms on the beach. The "street side" location i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Have stayed here on several occasions. Staff on the counter at check in / out, as well as maintenance and cleaning staffs were prompt, knowledgeable and most helpful. You could not expect or ask for more from a hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you decide on the oceanfront section with indoor pool. Chose a room across the street insid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently came back from staying here for 4 days. Clean, well kept and very friendly staff. There was a lot going on in town including a huge car show, cheerleading competition and spring break. They were on top of everything and always had smiles on their faces. The only reason I didn't give them 5 stars was the breakfast. The woman working the breakfast was awesome but the food was just ok. The eggs need to be changed out...they were very rubbery...perhaps they should just scramble them. Other than that I would absolutely stay there again. Price was great too for what you got! Say hi to Dennis for us...he was the best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack R, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review! I'm so glad that you had a great time in Myrtle Beach and at our property. We do our best to make sure that we greet all of our guests with true Southern hospitality- which, of course, means always having smiles on our faces! Thank you for noticing and for sharing this experience with others. Also, I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the eggs served at our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. We take guests' comments seriously and will certainly take your suggestions into account when improving the breakfast experience in the future. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Ontario
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed on 2 separate occasions in King oceanfront room. The price was 85.00 one night and 123.00 the other night. The room was clean with excellent view with nice balcony. It comes with breakfast, free local calls, free wifi and has a safe. We were on the 4th and 5th floor right off the elevator. The bed was comfy and the room was quiet. The only problem was one of the rooms the thermostat did not work so we turned it off as we did not need it. We did not use the pools. Can not beat the value totally recommend.

Room Tip: Oceanfront high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloversville, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I thought about calling the review "Excellent with a few demerits" as it would be pretty accurate also; but Almost Excellent said it better.
We were greeted pleasantly and dispatched to our room in good order. We found the room in nice shape with a very nice view of the ocean. Our bed was comfortable and offered a great night's sleep. We never had reason to use the heater/AC unit so can't make any comment on that. That bathroom was well kept, maybe a bit small, but keeping with the age of the hotel which, though a bit aged is well maintained overall.
There are two pools and two hot tubs within the place. The outdoor pool was available, though the heater had been out of order and we knew that when we reserved...too cold for us, as was their Lazy River unit--that's too bad as it's a 9 foot deep pool. The outdoor hot tub was good though, and we spent some time in that. The indoor pool, which is within the Oceanside portion of the hotel, was pleasant as was the hot tub in that building. During our stay, we saw maintenance workers doing cleaning and other work in the pool areas, so I'll say that they must stay on top of them pretty well.
The exercise room looks good, though we were too busy (beach time) for me to use it. It's got some nice equipment that appears well maintained and in good working order.
We found one of the lights not working in our room, mentioned it to the owner and it was fixed within a couple hours. We brought one other item to his attention and that was being worked on in a short time also.
The breakfast menu is better than many of the type that are offered free with the lodging. I don't care for the pre-formed scrambled egg patties that are often used, so I didn't give them a second look, but the first morning of our stay there were some that were burned. The biscuits and gravy were great, the sausage good, there was a unique waffle iron to make kid-sized waffles--never seen one of them before; and a good selection of cereal breads, etc. The coffee, available all day, is pretty decent.
Attention to detail is something that got a couple demerits. We had tossed a bed covering onto the other bed in our room as it wasn't needed. The next day, after housekeeping staff had come and gone, we found it still where we had tossed it. We left it right there and the next day, upon returning to the room after housekeeping had been through, found it tossed on a chair. Just one of those little things that gets my attention. There were also some light bulbs, out of their sockets, lying on the ground near the parking area. Probably a short-term thing, but with a few college-aged kids still running around (late spring break) I'd worry about them getting pitched into the parking lot and causing flat tires or injuries.
All in all, a great stay in a great place. We'll likely consider this hotel if we're in the area again--or maybe just quit looking and reserve here. The service is friendly--the owner seems to make contact with every guest--and the place is well kept. What more can you want for the price?

Room Tip: We would recommend the Oceanside building. The rest of the hotel is across the street and, though s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack Foothills of NY State
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Clean and friendly; we chose this hotel based on others' reviews and were not disappointed. Typical free breakfast fare but nicely laid out right near the front desk. The breakfast area is not large but counter seating at the window frees up the tables when it gets busy. Front desk staff appear naturally friendly and were very helpful. Jack, the owner, was greeting people in person on Sundaymaing sure everyone was enjoying their stay. He took care of a small problem for us, pronto,but I think the ther st,aff would have, too. Jack also suggested a great place for supper.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and reasonably free of sand which is amazing since this is a beach hotel. We stayed at the ocean front building which also houses an indoor pool and hot tub. Heated outdoor pool and hot tub are across the street at the main building where breakfast is served. Those rooms are considerably cheaper in price but many offer an ocean view (til something else is built to block the view.)

If the outdoor pool had the heater working, and the jets working on the outdoor hot tub, I would have given them an "excellent'' instead of a "very good."

Now, we have to go home to face a spring snow storm!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack R, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It's always good to hear when guests choose our property based on TripAdvisor.com reviews, and we're grateful that you decided to share your experience with other travelers. I'm glad that your stay was so exceptional that you didn't want to leave! That is a wonderful compliment. I also want to take this opportunity to apologize that the outdoor pool was not heated and that hot tub jets were down during your stay. I can assure you that both are fixed and everything is operating normally now. You'll have to come back to try them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western
Address: 1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, non smoking oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean, our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.