We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Clean, Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It's a little confusing because there is another Best Western right across the street from this one. Maybe they're considered the same hotel, maybe not. Guests at the Best Western at 1804 S Ocean Blvd can use the amenities at the other location, which is right on the beach. (The other location supposedly has an indoor pool and hot tub, but we never made it over there.) The location of this hotel is 1 block in, but with fine views of the beach and ocean (depending on your room). My husband and I stayed for 1 night in January. There is not much to do in Myrtle Beach in January and unfortunately it was very foggy the whole time we were there. We had to walk down to the water's edge to see the ocean. This hotel met our expectations. The room was updated and very clean. We got an excellent off-season rate of $55 for the night. There is free parking and wi-fi. They allowed us to check-in early. The television in the room was very large and nice. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravidaagain, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for your review! I'm glad that you had a great stay with us, even though the fog obscured your view of the beach. Because you mentioned it in your review, I would like to take the opportunity to clarify our amenities. My property, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, is one property composed of two separate buildings. We have a small oceanfront building, which includes an indoor pool and hot tub, and the main building, which is located accross the street from the ocean (about 100 yards). The main building is where our outdoor pool facilities, fitness center, business center, and deluxe continental breakfast are located. When guests stay with us, they choose the building where their room is located, while still having access to all of the amenities. Between those two buildings and our cottages, we're proud to say that we have something for everybody! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. We'll look forward to seeing you back here soon, hopefully in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    297
    79
    39
    14
See reviews for
448
365
30
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunkirk, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the BW Grand Strand for over 20 years, sometimes twice a year, and we intend to keep coming back as often as we can! We started staying at the BWGS back when our boys were young, and still do, sometimes with them, now that we have a grandchild (and another on the way!). Coming from cold and snowy western NY, it is ALWAYS a treat to pull in the drive at the Grand Strand, and know that we will have exceptionally clean rooms, great service and a friendly smile, all at a VERY fair price! Jack Robertson and his staff go the extra mile to meet your needs, have recommended wonderful restaurants and excursions to us, and have always offered any discounts that might be available to us at the time. We had a little run-in with a very large hubcap on our way to Myrtle Beach on our last trip and ended up with a cracked fuel line...leaking gas. We called the hotel, and Jack recommended the BEST mechanic he knew to help us out....long story short, Ernie saved us (thanks, Jack!, and of course, Ernie!)) over $500! (the Ford garage wanted $600+, and couldn't fix it for the week). Our car was fixed with a permanent fix, by Ernie, for under $100, and we were on our way, in an hour... It is SO reassuring to us that we can trust not only Jack and HIS staff, but the people he recommends, to help make our trip even better, and in this case, rescue it!...I can't say enough about Jack, and his wife Vanessa, who does a wonderful job helping to keep the rooms classy and the grounds spruced up, and is very enjoyable to chat with! Kudos to BOTH of them for a GREAT hotel, a wonderful staff....including Dennis and Madison (a sweetheart!), and Delores, who always takes great care of us! I'm trying to plan our Spring trip as "we speak"!

Room Tip: We have stayed in a variety of rooms...ALL are nice! The penthouse on the beach side was the BEST of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We had an awesome stay! Even in April when it was a little chilly last year, can't wait to return. Will hopefully book the same room because it was the best (across the street )but still a view of the beach

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Even in the off season this BW gets high marks. Great customer service to compliment clean rooms with beautiful ocean views. The value is hard to beat.

I look forward to coming to Myrtle Beach in the winter. I love being by the ocean so much that I'll risk getting my surf without the sun at this time of year. There are so many more benefits than splashing in the ocean and staying at Best Western Plus Grand Strand can help you realize this.

When strolling the beach is not an option sitting on BW's private balcony for a gull's eye view of the ocean can rate second best. Perhaps because the hotel was not booked solid at this time of year, I was able to request a room on an upper floor and be quickly obliged by BW's accomodating staff.

I would return to this BW at my favorite time of year again and may even plan to come here this summer if I could stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
492 reviews 492 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at what was to prove our cheapest hotel in 6 weeks and it was cheap in price only !A great location with the choice of Ocean front or the original building across the Boulevarde. Being 'El Cheapo' I plumped for the Blvd but as it was out of season there was not many people around anyway and at $57.80 who is going to complain ?? Strolled across the road and up and down the wind swept beach to keep the child bride happy and for her to get hers snaps and the water was still pretty rough post storm so no swim for me ! The hotel had a good pool and gym and media room and the rooms themselves were neat and pleasant with a great breakfast the next morning. Friendly staff and an all round good experience was had.

Room Tip: Save some $$$ and walk across to the beach !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puravidaagain, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
It's great to hear that we got the "El Cheapo" stamp of approval: cheap in price only! Our goal is to provide clean rooms and exceptional service for each of our guests, and I'm proud that we are able to do so at reasonable prices. Getting feedback from customers like you is always appreciated. Thank you for writing the review! We hope that you'll come back to the Myrtle Beach and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stopped in for one night. Found check in and check out to be very customer service oriented. Nice compared to the place we stay the night before. Prior night, Greeted by a clerk eatting food in the dark lobby. Rooms were nice at The Best western. Overall a good experience. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites

Address: 1804 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us this year in beautiful, sunny Myrtle Beach and Have A Grand Strand Vacation. With two buildings to choose from, non smoking oceanfront and the main building across the street from the ocean, our clean, affordable rooms, efficiencies, two & three bedroom suites are sure to put you at ease. We welcome families, golfers and couples (no pets please). Spend your days exploring the beach or lounge around our oversized 30' by 60' seasonal heated pool with separate kiddie pool, lazy river, hot tub, and sundeck. You can also enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub with changing room located at our beachfront facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.