We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marine Corps Ball 10/27/12” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 North Oak Street, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #62 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
justcallmeb
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marine Corps Ball 10/27/12”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pros: Beautiful room, great staff at the front desk, fast efficient service, delicious breakfast in the morning (8.95, but nice buffet with lots of options), nice pool and fitness center, allowed early check in since my room was ready ahead of time.

Cons: business center printer was having issues, and asked for help and it didn't come. We managed to get it fixed, but there are no instructions that all of the prior attempts to print are in Adobe on the bottom of the taskbar, and that you have to clear out everyone else's confusion before printing your own stuff. Parking isn't cheap either, and there is no direct walkbridge to the hotel. We were down there during heavy rain from the hurricane, and it was a bit difficult trying not to get drenched walking into the hotel.

Neutral: while I'm not sure if the military set this particular feature up or if it came with the hotel, the ball had a cash bar. There were two registers (cash only) that you had to get tickets at, and then redeem them for your beverage of choice. With almost 800 people at the ball, the lines were long and not nice waiting to get libations. Also, the price didn't seem terrible ($4 for beer, $5 for liquor and wine), the quantity was stingy. I'm not a huge drinker, but enjoy a glass of red wine with my dinner. This was served in a 7oz clear plastic cup and was less than half full, so essentially I paid $5 for about 3.5 oz of wine. If I knew the area better, I would have gotten a bottle of wine for $10, kept it in my room, and enjoyed a regular size glass. Again, not sure if it was hotel policy that governed the setup of the cocktail hour, size of the beverages and price, or if that was set up through the military, hence remaining neutral on this one.

Room Tip: Can be a bit noisy if you travel during the Marine Corps Balls (find out if one is going to be durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliPray, Manager at Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Good afternoon justcallmeb, thank you so much for taking time to write us a review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us & thanks also for the feedback on business center so that we can get that addressed. We hope to have you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    211
    111
    43
    26
See reviews for
147
171
29
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little River
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was really surprised on the condition of the meeting space at this property. I am surprised that the Starbucks would be so dirty i.e. dust all over cash register and cooler that really was abused. Probably a $5 can of spray paint would fix the cooler and a little TLC for the rest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliPray, Manager at Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Good afternoon SC037, thank you very much for taking time to send us your feedback on your experience with us. We take all opinions very seriously & are working with our Chief Engineer on investigating your challenges. It is our hope that you will give us a 2nd chance & stay with us again. Have a wonderful week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was here for one day and needed a place to stay. Hotel was nice and really nice for the offseason price of $60. The lobby and room were nice and the bed was very plush and comfy with only one exception. 2 spots on the top of the blankets. Depending on where your room is located you are able to see the beach from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliPray, Manager at Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Good afternoon Mark C, thank you ever so much for writing us a great review! We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & we wish to have you back with us very soon. Have a wonderful week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Really liked this hotel from the moment we pulled up. It is a big hotel and really has everything to offer. They give you free wifi all over but also have a nice little internet/business section for people that travel without their laptops. They also have a nice bar/restaurant, indoor swimming pool, gift shop, and a very nice lobby with a concierge to help you out. We had a balcony room over looking the ocean which was comfortable, clean, and nicely sized and got to use the club room for dinner appetizers and breakfast. The hotel looks like it has been recently renovated as everything is up to date and nice.

The location is great for this time of the year (October) because you are 2 blocks from the beach and close to everything else. Tanger Outlets is less than a 10 minute drive and Broadway at the Beach is a 2 minute drive or a 4 block walk.

We ordered room service and the food came fast and was tasty. Overall really enjoyed our 2 night stay here and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are the only rooms with balconies. This is a great room which is big and has a comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliPray, Manager at Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Good afternoon nyflanctraveler, thank you very much for leaving us a wonderful review! We're pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations & make your stay memorable. We would love to have you back as our guest soon & have a wonderful week ahead. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Front seat greeted me with a smoke and gave info about the hotel and its amenities. Room on the 8th floor looked out towards the beach and was large and beautiful. King size bed looked pristine. 2 blocks from the beach and shops with plenty of places to eat. Sine bath products and great service. If you want something on beach try another, if you want a beautiful and comfortable room stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliPray, Manager at Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Good afternoon flymom10, a huge thank you from all of us here at the Sheraton for taking time to write us such a complimentary review. We're ecstatic that we exceeded your expectations. We hope that when you come back to Myrtle Beach that you will choose to stay with us again. Have a wonderful week! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just arrived back from a Hotel conference. Spent 2 nights there. Checked in to an Executive Suite(bed room plus separate living room). king size mattress had a big dip. next day reported it to them. they were going to replace it. but ended up turning it over only- did not help at all. Bathroom door handle in living room broken. Internet was very bad, kept having to log in every few mins- very annoying. Worst part was the so called "Club Lounge" . evening snacks were very dismal and had to pay for cheap drinks and wine. no water or sodas were available on second day. during day nothing is available. Breakfast was worse then you would fing at a Super 8. This is no way to treat Valuable executives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliPray, Manager at Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Good afternoon jituser, we sincerely appreciate you taking time to bring your challenges to our attention. All of the management staff here is aware of your opinions & are taking them very seriously to see how we can improve. We hope that you will give us a 2nd try to exceed your expectations. Have a wonderful week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The room was fine and the hotel lobby was beautiful but otherwise nothing special. Within walking distance of the beach and boardwalk, but I would have been just as happy at one of the motels on the strip. Planning a business meeting? This is the place for you. Just visiting? Not so much. Again not a bad hotel just nothing special. Do not under any circumstances pay the full rate!! Definately get the biggest discount you can to get your money's worth (unless the company expense report is paying).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuliPray, Manager at Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Good afternoon jillme, thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review on your experience with us. We're very happy that you liked your room, lobby & the close proximity to area attractions, as well as highlighting that we're the perfect place to host a business meeting. We do hope that you will come back soon & stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel

Address: 2101 North Oak Street, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#52 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel is attached to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, for a combined total of 200,000 sqft of conference space. We are also only 10 min from MYR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.