We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts to your Saves list
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Like you, I read many reviews on every hotel in the Myrtle Beach area, even though I've been coming here since I was old enough to walk (a very long time). In all that time, nothing much has changed, so don't expect it to be something it's not. Taking that into consideration here is a run down of our trip to Camelot.

Pro: Received a good rate with HotelsTonight, we stayed two nights for the rate of other discount websites nightly rate. If you're interested in this app you can use promo code BROBERTSON46 and receive $25 off your first stay. That's what we did and it helped take care of taxes.
Con: We had to pay an extra $10 resort fee at the hotel, but no biggie, the rate we received was deeply discounted so you take the good with the bad.

Pro: Our hotel room was clean and every room has a view of the ocean. This is the way all hotels should be set up but in the Myrtle area, but most have a premium price for a view.
Con: We were greeted by a roach on our door when we arrived one night. I'm talking about the water type that could fit the palm of your hand. Honestly, you can't go to South Carolina without seeing them so just know you will and move on. We saw them smeared across a nice pier restaurant deck, the hood of someone's car in a parking lot, it just is what it is. *Note we did not see any in our actual room, it was the outside of the building, if that matters to you.

Pro: The hotel has a very nice pool area with really great pool towels available to hotel guest. We received a wrist band but, probably because it was off season, no one was checking for them. (We picked this hotel because of the hot tubs and they were both very large and many times we were the only people in them.)
Con: Our cell phone was stolen by some drifters who reached across the gate. We later found it in the bushes of an adjacent parking lot. The front desk said this happens often because it is a tourist town. So make sure you keep an eye on your stuff even when you seem to be the only one in the hot tub.

Pro: The garage allows parking next to room and indoor convenience for carrying things in the rain. We did not hear any garage noise from our room but it was off season so maybe that helped lighten the traffic.
Con: On the 9th floor it took about 5 minutes and a few near head-on collisions to enter/exit the hotel garage. *First world problems*

Pro: It's next door to Bummz Café
Con: Don't really see a con

So, I would give this hotel 3 stars because it was an average Myrtle Beach Hotel. I would come back if it had a good price and I wanted to vacation in a tourist trap...I mean, somewhere the kids found entertainment :)

Room Tip: 9th floor had a god view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    158
    69
    34
    34
See reviews for
242
133
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elkhorn City, Kentucky
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently stayed in a two bedroom unit #411. We requested a room lower than 5 floors and we were accommodated, but the room was not very clean. Hair in the bathroom floor in master bath, hair in the bathtub, toilet was loose from floor. Had a hard time getting wash cloths. If we ask a housekeeping staff on our section for anything, we were told that it wasn't their section. Had to go to a lower floor in order for someone to help with just getting a trash bag. The furnishings in the livingroom area was very tattered. The appliances in the kitchen (coffeemaker, toaster were broken). Had to hold down bread in toaster to toast. Coffee filter holder in coffee maker was broken; outside of dishwasher rusted. Just expected a cleaner and better furnished room. The last night of our stay, the security guard called our room at 11:00 p.m. and said someone was spitting from the balcony, but everyone was in bed. Of course he apologized, but we were still disturbed and accused of something we had not done. Probably will not stay at this resort again. As far as location, everything (stores, restaurants), we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your opinion is extremely valuable to us. We regret that your stay was not what you expected. Please know that the issues you mention have been addressed. We do hope you'll stay with us again in the near future, allowing us to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

my 18 month old son, husband and I stayed a week at myrtle at Camelot by the Sea. It has a great location near the boardwalk, awesome views, and amazing pools! My son loves the water and loved being able to swim in a pool that was just his size! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

After a very disappointing stay at Bay Watch resort, Tracey of Oceana resorts apologized and invited us to try one of their other resorts. I am so glad we did.
Camelot By The Sea is a near perfect place to stay We stayed in 1816 which is a 1 bedroom suite.The view was fantastic.It was exceptionally clean as was the entire resort. The bed was comfortable and smelled of fresh linens. (A really big plus!)
The staff was very friendly and helpful from the young man who checked us in to the lady who checked us out and everyone else we came in contact with.
We were very pleased to find the pools are large enough to enjoy a nice swim.
Another big plus is the location. We didn't have to take the car out at all. There is a wide variety or restaurants and shops all within walking distance.
We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend at this location in suite 1503. The room was clean and had a wonderful ocean view. The bed was also very comfortable.The customer service was excellent as well. Only minor complaint was the wifi did not work at all. We will return on our next visit to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. We were in a studio that was spotless. The front desk person worked to get us a great view and showed us the room before we booked. This was my first trip to Myrtle Beach and I was very impressed with the folks there and the accommodations. Kudos!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The GOOD 50%: Brought the family for last summer vacation for 3 days. Ended up extended for another 3 days. First 4 days were fanatastic. We got a 1 BR on the 12th floor. Great, clean room fresh room. Internet was fantastic, appliances, carpet, bathroom excellent.

The BAD 50%: For extension, we couldn't stay in the same room and had to move to a Studio. Nice room, however, smelled of mold, appliances were a bit dinged up. Had a very bad musty smell to it. My daughter and wife have very bad allergies and this didn't help. Internet was terrible, terrible. The worst part, we had to pay more for this room vs the first one. Felt, the last 2 days were a waste due to cost and issues.

Overall, Great staff, great pool area, plenty of parking, well situated near restaurants, boardwalk, etc.. Staff again was great, would come back, but pick a room as high as possible....

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts

Address: 2000 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Myrtle Beach, our resort features beautifully decorated studio, one-, two- and three bedroom suites with private oceanfront balconies. Our amenities include oceanfront pool; lazy river, and oceanfront fitness center & attached parking garage. While staying with us you will be close to many of the beaches wonderful attractions, restaurants and nationally recognized golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Camelot Myrtle Beach
Camelot Sea Myrtle Beach
Camelot Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Camelot Resort
Camelot By The Sea Hotel
Camelot By The Sea Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.