We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts to your Saves list
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned a few days ago. Pros: close location to boardwalk and activities outside of the hotel. Cons: Not at all impressed of the condition of the room. I have pictures posted of things found in room. There were no wash clothes in either bathroom, dried up food on floor in front of fridge, black hand prints all over the walls, hair in bathroom, dried yellow bath soap stuck to my shower handle, furniture very worn, with rips and holes and sliding door had hand prints as well. Staff not all friendly except one front desk clerk Brandon. Management is horrible which would be Laura and Stephanie. Housekeepers are rude. Very over priced. I understand about the nonsmoking in hotel/condo rooms, but if your paying a pretty penny to be on vacation you should be allowed to enjoy the balcony to have a cigarette. Instead you have to go up and down all day to do so. Well never stay here again. The worst vacation I've had. Was upset 3 out of the 5 days there. Was only given a 50% discount on the first night! Not impressed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your opinion is extremely important to us. We regret that your stay was not what you expected. Please be assured that any issues you mention have been addressed accordingly. As for the smoking, we are a smoke and tobacco free facility. We do apologize if this was an inconvenience. We do hope you'll visit with us again soon, allowing us to provide you with an even better experience, on which we pride ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    158
    69
    34
    34
See reviews for
242
133
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel itself is your average Myrtle Beach high rise. The bed could stand an upgrade, the building is weathered, and the bathrooms are basic. There are, however, several things about this place that make it stand out as pretty fantastic.

- The pool area is large and kept very clean. Plus, there are always pool attendants on duty who not only make the experience easier, but are just hilarious. Every evening we had a wonderful conversation with one of the two ladies who work down there.

- The location is absolutely IDEAL. It's a short walk to the boardwalk/Ocean Blvd "strip" but far enough away to still be completely peaceful when you want to sit out on the balcony and watch the moon over the ocean.

- The kitchenette in even the smallest room is generously sized and stocked.

- There is a large parking deck attached to the front of the hotel.

- The price is reasonable! For $130/night after Memorial Day, I was very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Camelot and we experienced a lack of security. One day we noticed a 40 year old man who appeared to be a junkie sleeping on a lounge chair near the pool. He was there for a few hours and it was obvious that he was not a hotel guest. I reported this to an hotel employee named Vic he was working at the pool and he woke the guy up and told him to leave. Vic later told us that the guy admitted that he was not a guest but was a friend of an employee. Vic handled this appropriately and he explained that he had just come on duty. I later wanted to express my concerns to the manager but was told the manager was gone for the day. I spoke to Brandon at the front desk and he said "we can't check everyone".

The next day a guy came up to my husband and said that he just got robbed and wanted to know where the men's room was. This guy did not appear to be a guest. I attempted to report this to security but was told by Brandon that they only have security at night.

Another guest that I was speaking to caught a guy looking into cars in the parking lot at the Camelot, another security concern.

After three days of trying to locate the manager I finally found her and she said these issues would be looked into. She said there is not way for the hotel to know if someone is a guest there. The hotel does give out wrist bands to guests but depending on how the room Is booked and who the reservation is booked with not everyone gets a wrist band

The resort claims to be family friend but they do not appear to be concerned about the safety of their guests.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your opinion is extremely important to us. We regret that your stay was not what you expected. Please be assured we take the security and safety of our guests very seriously. We've addressed this issue accordingly. We do hope you'll visit with us again soon, allowing us to provide you with an even better experience, on which we pride ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Cobb, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Clean, Great location, and friendly stafff. I would highly recommend this Hotel. Only complaint was the elevators weren't air conditioned. Staff was wonderful. Rooms were cleaned promptly. My girls loved the view of the beach from the room balcony. My husband loved the location. There were several places with breakfast buffets in walking distance from hotel.

Room Tip: Book above the 10th floor. Otherwise your rooms will join parking garage and I was told that gets no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel staff from checking to maid service and pool attendant was outstanding. We had a one bedroom suite on the 19th floor aka Penthouse thAt was clean with a great view of the ocean we felt very private. Experienced problems with our lock and the staff was quick to repair it quickly. Front desk check in was also quick and they made sure we had everything we needed. Downside the noise from our neighbors was bothersome at times but no fault of the hotel. Overall we look forward to going back. There is nothing better than having the beach right at your back door

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed one night and it cost almost $300 the room and view were nice but the bathroom seemed a little dirty as it had black hairs in it and we don't have black hair!!! We arrived very late around midnight and had to be out by 11:00 so we really didn't get our money's worth. If you are staying longer it would be a nice area to stay in but very congested many places to walk to. We didn't have time to check out the pool or anything else in that hotel !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

OK. I have been going to Myrtle Beach at least twice a year for almost 30 years now.
Have stayed in a variety of places over that time.
Most recent trip was our 19th annual guys/golf weekend.
We have stayed further north (closer to Barefoot Landing) the last few years, but decide to get a little closer to the boardwalk area and South Myrtle (and Murrells Inlet) golf courses.
Camelot was perfect for us. Location is awesome... within stumbling distance of numerous restaraunts and bars. Rooms are great; we had a spacious 3 bedroom oceanfront on the 3rd floor. Kitchen and fridge were just what we need for post-golf bar-tending, snacks, and cards. Price was more than fair for the location, room, and view. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts

Address: 2000 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#51 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Myrtle Beach, our resort features beautifully decorated studio, one-, two- and three bedroom suites with private oceanfront balconies. Our amenities include oceanfront pool; lazy river, and oceanfront fitness center & attached parking garage. While staying with us you will be close to many of the beaches wonderful attractions, restaurants and nationally recognized golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Camelot Myrtle Beach
Camelot Sea Myrtle Beach
Camelot Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Camelot Resort
Camelot By The Sea Hotel
Camelot By The Sea Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.