We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place but nothing extra special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts to your Saves list
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
West Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fine place but nothing extra special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are here at the resort right now enjoying our last day of a 9 day vacation. We have stayed at Camelot and the Breakers in the past and it is the luck of the draw as to whether you get an updated condo or not. We are in a one bedroom on the 10th floor by the elevator...not ideal but the noise doesn't bother us at all...view is wonderful and staff is very helpful and friendly. The condo is "fine" nothing spectacular. The housekeeping is hit and miss...either it is GREAT or you have to call down for towels and coffee packs...Best part of the resort is the location, we like being able to walk to the boardwalk and all the activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    133
    61
    32
    31
See reviews for
214
117
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I am currently sitting poolside at camelot by the sea, thoroughly disappointed with the manner in which this hotel is operated. This hotel does not enforce its policies, nor does it attend to its guests' needs in any semblance of a timely manner. This hotel expresses a no pet/no smoking policy which apparently goes unenforced. We have complained twice about a dog in the neighboring room to no avail. We have not been able to use our second bedroom/living room due to the barking. in the main bedroom, we are awakened multiple times nightly because of the barking. The dog is hardly hidden, being transported openly via video monitored elevator. Our complaints have fallen on an ineffective staff who promise results but haven't delivered.

Our second day of our stay, we were met with no washcloths. I called the front desk at 2:30pm, again at 8:30pm, then stopped the front desk clerk who was delivering washcloths to a neighboring room at 8:30pm. The desk clerk told us maintenance would deliver towels shortly. At 11pm, we visited the lobby and finally, on our fourth request, received washcloths while waiting in the lobby.

This hotel has a no smoking policy, something the parent of an asthmatic seeks in lodging. This policy is a joke as well. DD cannot sit on balcony due to the neighbor on the opposing side of our suite smoking. Patrons also sit poolside smoking while pool attendants turn a blind eye.

Before booking at this hotel, I alerted the staff that we would be arriving in a lifted 4x4 and inquired about alternate parking accommodations. This alternate parking lot directly across the street has a towing policy which is ...you guessed it unenforced. We attempted to park at 8pm. No spaces were available. I took our quandry to the front desk and was instructed to illegally park in a restaurant parking lot until the illegally parked vehicles moved. We opted to park legally at a metered space and wait. At midnight, we gave up.

The room we stayed in, 1809, is also in moderate need of renovation, as it has torn and moderately worn carpeting, torn and stained sofa, torn and mildly stained bedding, and the sheets and blankets seem to be made for a size smaller than the beds they are placed on.

The advertised "wifi in every room"
might be true...if you would like to hold your computer/phone against the sliding glass door or sit in the balcony. Your other option is to personally make multiple and extensive calls to tech support. All of my equipment isn't transfigured improperly if I can pick up your signal beside the window/on the balcony but nowhere else...it's your signal.

Your hotel money would be more wisely spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Camelot by the Sea. Your opinion is extremely valuable to us. Please be assured that the issues you mention have been dealt with accordingly. Also, please know your most recent experience is not a reflection of this wonderful property and we hope you will give us another shot at meeting your expectations. We do understand that management has already been in contact with you, so we hope you were able to come to a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Camelot. My only two complaints are that the beds were very hard /uncomfortable and the pools were over populated with unsupervised children running around acting wild. Other than that everything was great! The restaurant across the street LuLu's is a fantastic place to eat breakfast! We ate there every morning. We will stay at the Camelot Again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The "professional pictures" on their website, must be the very best, and probably the very few that they have that look like that based on other reviews that I've read. We arrived shortly after 5:00 pm, and there was only one guy trying to check in everyone, plus answer the phone. The lobby is very small too, and the elevators are across the parking garage! I thought it was very strange that your couldn't take an elevator up from the lobby. Mothers with children have to walk the kids through where all the cars are moving. Even though the clerk was somewhat of a "one man band", he was very pleasant. We reserved a studio through Orbitz, and used Am. Exp. points. The studio was much smaller than we expected - only about 16" between the bed and the chair in the living area. The beds sit on an oversized boxed frame that is the same size as the mattress, so it is difficult to stand beside the bed, to go through your suitcase, because there is no room for your toes, and speaking of toes, plan on stubbing them on these block monsters. My daughter has already found that out the hard way. There were 2 tv's, but they were only about 6' apart, separated only by a 2' wall partition, so it really defeated the purpose of having 2. There's no way you could realistically watch two different channels. The caulking was worn out from around the toilet, and the sink was a single vanity, so there is no room to really store toiletries. There was a candy wrapper on one of the beds, which we are giving housekeeping the benefit of the doubt that it must have fallen out of their pocket. The wifi is very poor, and the electrical outlet at the main table where we were plugging in computers, was worn out, I had to move my computer so that I could stay online. When I pulled the dresser out to plug in my computer, a piece of molding on the dresser plopped off. The nails were protruded, so it was obviously just "propped up" to begin with. My husband, and children experienced a great deal of connectivity problems. I did not care for the upholstery of the sofa and chair. It was some type of suede - gross! The coffee maker carafe had water in it. More poor housekeeping. We reserved the studio for our family of 5, but only had towel sets for 4. The front desk said they would send up another set, but they never did. There was a small bottle of dish detergent by the sink, but there weren't any towels for the kitchen area. I guess they expect you to use the bathroom towels! I called within minutes of arriving, before we even unloaded our baggage cart, and asked to be upgraded. Again, the very pleasant "one man band", did check, but couldn't do anything for us. He said we would have to wait for the manager to come in the next day because she may be able to "work some magic". What type of hotel doesn't have some type of manager on duty 24/7? We strolled the premises, and again, were disappointed. I don't know what type of angle the photograper used for the pool photo, but it is very small for a hotel of this size, and there is only one pool. Both of the lazy rivers were under roof, so it was not like you would be able to float and sun. There weren't any people at all in it when we strolled around the premises. What we did see was sand in all of the water features, so they have poor pool maintenance. The bar.....while there is one, is not happening at all! Again, no customers, and the bar stools looked like they belonged to high pool-side tables- imagine those rubber slats. The "bar" looked more like a big, portable vendor cart. The music was playing when we returned from our beach stroll, but it was Whitney Houston's, "I will always love you." - Elevator music - really? OMG - the game room: There are about 5 games in there - PITIFUL. My children were so disappointed! I'm really amazed that they have signs everywhere that they have condos for sale. I can only see someone wanting one, if they are dirt cheap. In the past, we have stayed at a condo resort, and chose something different this year that we thought the kids would enjoy more, but even they were asking us to leave. Unfortunately, we couldn't cancel due to the way we booked our room, so we are here for the next few days, but will not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Camelot by the Sea. Your opinion is extremely valuable to us. Some of our units are individually owned, which may explain the difference in appearance of the unit. Be assured that we will address the issues you mention with the individual owner. We have also made note of your feedback regarding our common areas. Please know that your most recent experience is not a reflection of this wonderful property and we hope you will give us another shot at meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've stayed at several hotels in Myrtle Beach including the Best Western Carolinian, Sand Dunes, Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center and my wife seems to like the Camelot the best. The location is right on the beach and a short walk to the boardwalk, the parking garage is attached to the hotel instead of being across the street, the view is pure ocean front (not side view), the air con was from a full house size unit (not some noisy window unit) and considering that this is a beach hotel and not a city based 4 star the rooms were quite decent.

Our son participated in the kids club to make a tie dyed shirt, but we think another guest picked it up by accident. When i contacted the hotel about it, they immediately offered to do another one and send it right away, despite the postage being double the amount of the shirt cost! We were really impressed by their quick reply and handling of this, and my son was thrilled to get a package and his shirt he had been asking about, and he wears it all the time now!! Thanks Camelot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just returned home from a family vacation at Camelot and we were extremely disappointed. We arrived around 2 pm on July 7th, unfortunately the room wasn't ready so we were told we would receive a phone call as soon as one became available. We went out to get some supplies and an hour and a half later there was still no phone call. We decided to check back at the registration desk to see if the room was available and we were given a room on the 15th fl, we have young (inquisitive) children so we weren't comfortable with being so high up so we asked to change the room and they gave us a room on the 7th fl (rm 716). The room, including the setup, was horrible! The bedroom (1 bd) was at the entrance to the room, with a galley kitchen in the middle (which opened to the bathroom), then a sitting room in the back. The sheets had a bad smell & looked dingy, the closet doors were falling off, the carpet was dingy, the bottom of the stove was broken, the bathroom shower curtain was ripped/busted up, the pullout bed was missing some hinges, the remote for the TV in the living room didn't work (even after we purchased and replaced the batteries), and even the garbage bin was ripped. My husband and I were so disgusted we couldn't even think straight, my kids (who've experienced a fair share of hotel stays) were very disappointed as well! We contacted management to see if we could cancel our reservation and move to another hotel but it would be too much work since we booked through an outside agency so we dealt with it. We ended up going to Kmart to purchase sheets, bed pads, etc to sleep on the pull-out bed (and my back was hurting the entire time- I'm in my mid 30's), couldn't wait to get home to my soft bed! The pool area was clean but the pools were cold, so you could only enjoy them in the daylight.

There were some good parts of the trip- the free miniature golf was great; the view of the ocean from the room was beautiful; and my 10 yr old enjoyed the youth activities and games.

This was our 2nd visit to Myrtle Beach (the 1st time we stayed at the Dunes Village Resort, which my kids loved). If we do decide to return to Myrtle beach we will more than likely not be staying at Camelot.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Camelot by the Sea. Your opinion is extremely valuable to us. Please be assured that the issues you mention have been dealt with accordingly. Also, please know your most recent experience is not a reflection of this wonderful property and we hope you will give us another shot at meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We were on our honeymoon and were so disappointed. The ability to leave was squashed when we were denied a refund. The pics do not show the condition of the property & rooms. The management was less than accommodating & downright RUDE.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Camelot by the Sea. Your opinion is extremely valuable to us. Please be assured that the issues you mention have been dealt with accordingly. Also, please know your most recent experience is not a reflection of this wonderful property and we hope you will give us another shot at meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts

Address: 2000 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#49 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Myrtle Beach, our resort features beautifully decorated studio, one-, two- and three bedroom suites with private oceanfront balconies. Our amenities include oceanfront pool; lazy river, and oceanfront fitness center & attached parking garage. While staying with us you will be close to many of the beaches wonderful attractions, restaurants and nationally recognized golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Camelot Myrtle Beach
Camelot Sea Myrtle Beach
Camelot Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Camelot Resort
Camelot By The Sea Hotel
Camelot By The Sea Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.