We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best central location and value on the strip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts

Save Saved
You added Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 30% off weeknights!
Ranked #50 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
cleveland oh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best central location and value on the strip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We decided to stayed here after reading all the positive reviews. We're usually leary to stay at a place that we've never been to, but am glad we read all the reviews and made the best decision by choosing the Camelot.We've stayed at multiple places along the strip over the years and feel after our stay that Camelot truly does offer the most ideal location.The hotel is within walking distance to all the shops, pier and downtown area, which our children pleasantly enjoyed. Also just a stone's throw away from Broadway at the beach and the Pelican baseball stadium. The hotel setup is ideal for families with children (of all ages.) The indoor heated pool & lazy river are great, and the hottub is large enough for many adults to use at one time. The rooms were nice, maybe a little tired, but clean and spacious. We definitely will be back to stay at the Camelot again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    101
    55
    29
    25
See reviews for
175
88
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Overall it was a good experience, my room was clean and in good condition despite some if the reviews I have read. The location was great especially since we were there for the cheerleading competition. As a first timer in myrtle beach, except for the weather I had a good time and hope to return again and will book with Camelot. The daytime manager was very accommodating and John who works in the evening was also excellent. I can't remember the daytime managers name but she was excellent also. As of right now I will refer Camelot until further notice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a one bedroom condo. It was not a hole in the wall but neither was it an upscale resort. Somewhere in the middle which is why I've given it 3 stars. The front desk staff was very helpful and tried their best to make our stay a pleasant one. There were two significant problems that I want to inform other potential guests about (or at least wish I was aware of before I booked our stay here).

1) The "full" kitchen had no counter space. Though it did have a full size refrigerator, a four burner stove and a sink it had no dishwasher! Since there wasn't any usable counter space, we had to go to Walmart and buy a dish draining rack and dry our dishes on the dining room table where we also had to toast our bread.

2) Though the room offered a fantastic view of the ocean, we couldn't keep our balcony door open because some other (inconsiderate) guests would step out on the balcony and smoke. This despite the fact that this is supposed to be a fully non-smoking resort and there are clear warnings pasted on the sliding glass door that smoking on the balcony was prohibited (punishable by a fine of $150). However (other than guests complaining) there is no way for management to detect and enforce this policy so quite a few people were stepping out on the balcony to smoke which caused our condo to smell like a smoking room. Since both my wife and I are extremely sensitive to cigarette smoke, we ended up with our door shut most of the time. What a shame! We cut short our visit by a day because we finally got fed up of paying for an ocean front condo that we couldn't fully utilize.

If some one from Oceana resorts is reading this, please find a way to detect and fine those guests who choose to smoke on the balcony. It ruins the experience for the majority of non smokers who believe your marquee that states in bold letters "Family friendly NON SMOKING resort!. Here's a suggestion - Increase the penalty for smoking on the balcony to $250 and provide a $100 reward to any guest who successfully reports on a smoker who breaks the rule.

Room Tip: Stay away from either end of the building (room 1 or room 17) and get a room in the middle 8, 9 10 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family of five (3 adults, including Grandpa and 2 kids under 13) spent the Canadian March break 2013 at this hotel and were very happy way with this 2 bedroom suite facing the ocean. Everything was relatively clean (although the cleaning staff didn't replace toilet paper, nor dishwasher detergent and did not vacuum until we asked and then supplies appeared quickly.) We had one incident when my daughter was pulling forward a straight-backed chair to sit at the table and she sliced her finger open as only one of the four screws to attach the chair pad to the frame was screwed in. Maintenance was called and they promptly fixed this for us so we could continue to use the chair. I tried to use the stackable washer/dryer but the washing machine kept blowing a fuse for some unknown reason. Again, maintenance appeared quickly but we were told that the whole unit would have to be taken out and looked at and they didn't want to wreck our vacation by doing that while we were staying there. So I ended up doing two loads of laundry in their laundry room downstairs, but the front desk reimbursed me the expense for so doing.

The view of the beach and ocean was awesome and the kids really enjoyed the indoor pool and lazy river - the ocean was too cold to swim in but that didn't stop the kids from goofing around in the waves as they hit the beach.

We too stayed during the old time car show and brought our balcony chairs down to sit on Ocean Blvd. to watch the parade of old cars drive by - that was very cool - and unlike others, we didn't hear the partying in the garage by exuberant car owners.

This hotel is in a great location (we walked back after our ride on the SkyWheel ferris wheel) and the parking for your car - which is on the same level as your room - is a very convenient and well thought out concept for this building - easy to take groceries and other purchases to and from the room. Front desk crew were always very helpful and good with suggestions for eating out.

We will definitely be back to the Camelot - good value for a family vacation.

Room Tip: If you do not want the noise from the parking garage on your level, the units above the 8th or 10th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently spent two nights with our four kids in a 2 bed/bath unit.

First, the good: The staff was friendly, all units have a great ocean view, parking was convenient (as the garage is attached to the hotel instead of across the street), location overall is great. Relatively clean. Easy beach access. Speedy elevators. Clogged toilet was fixed pretty fast. They were responsive.

Unfortunately, this place just wasn't up to our standards. Everything just felt cheap. Ripped shower curtains, cracked tiles in the unit-wide tile floor, no counter space in bathrooms, formica all over the kitchen, washer/dryer but no detergent, not even a single starter pack. Sheets were flimsy. Pool very average. Low end sofa. The doors of some rooms look out into the parking garage.

It was nice that the staff called up to check on us, but it would have been nice if it wasn't 9:15 pm after we just put the kids to bed. Loud phones wake up sleeping kids.

It was nice that the maid was trying to be thorough, but our kids' toothpaste disappeared. Plus the two queen beds that we had so carefully moved apart by about a foot so that they were against the wall (prevents little kids from falling off) where pushed back into position. So, we had to move them again, which was annoying. We had carefully removed the polyester-perhaps-never-washed-bedspreads and folded them in a corner. We had actually made the beds without these nasty bedspreads, but the maid put them back on and put our kids PJs right on top of them, which completely grossed us out.

There was a car show and some of the car owners decided to have a big honking, yelling, music blaring party in the garage at 10 pm and the staff took their sweet time quieting them down.

I guess is really depends on what your preferences are. If you are perfectly happy in a chain motel, and you're on a tight budget, you will probably like this hotel just fine, as you will be able to experience all that Myrtle Beach has to offer. If you prefer higher end hotels and the finer things in life, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from the parking deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I went for a weekend trip to the Camelot. My first visit here. I was very satisfied with the room. Beds were very comfortable and the room was clean as well as the bathroom and kitchen. The only complaint is the first 2 nights it was so hot we couldnt sleep. I guess the thermostat was stuck but we should have called immediately and we didnt. The Camelot is close to everything so we did a lot of walking. My kids were in love with the lazy river. Cant wait to go back and take my mom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I will definitely reserve a stay at Camelot if ever in Myrtle Beach again. We rented the 3Br/2 BA condo with the most spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean right from your balcony. The balcony was very spacious also and a great place to hangout - had four chairs and a table out there. Parking was unbeatable! Free garage parking. Indoor pool and hot tub were also great. What little I saw of housekeeping was nice (frendly staff) because we declined service. My only complaint would be the beds. The sofa sleeper cushions were flat and the mattress needs to be seriously replaced. It was like a flattened box spring. There was crumbs and other trash that had collected on it. We brought air mattresses and didn't use it! There were four other beds, 1 King, 1 Queen and two twins. The mattresses on those were all worn and squeaked really bad. They were like box springs too! If you don't do a lot of resting (there was too much to do to sleep long hours) then you will Really Really enjoy your stay, You also get discounts to area attractions and restaurants. It is walking distance or a short drive to almost everything. Have fun and enjoy your stay! We did!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts

Address: 2000 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#49 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#50 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Myrtle Beach, our resort features beautifully decorated studio, one-, two- and three bedroom suites with private oceanfront balconies. Our amenities include oceanfront pool; lazy river, and oceanfront fitness center & attached parking garage. While staying with us you will be close to many of the beaches wonderful attractions, restaurants and nationally recognized golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Camelot Myrtle Beach
Camelot Sea Myrtle Beach
Camelot Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
Myrtle Beach Camelot Resort
Camelot By The Sea Hotel
Camelot By The Sea Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.