We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Myrtle Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   803 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEED
Ranked #27 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Myrtle Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Many of the hotel options along the beach look pretty similar. This was our first time to Myrtle Beach, so I can't compare with the other options there, but we were very happy with our stay at Sea Crest. Our room was clean, had a nice view, and offered a full size fridge and freezer, a microwave, and a stove, complete with kitchen sink and dishes to use! The beach and pools were nice, although I wish there were more adult sized pools.. there were not many options for deeper water.. and the lazy river was VERY lazy.. you kind of had to paddle yourself around to get the tube to move.. The location is good, it's just a short walk from the Family Kingdom amusement park.. a bit too far to the boardwalk though.. I would recommend it.. but maybe next time I would personally choose to stay a little bit further north on the strip, closer to the boardwalk, but still close to the amusement park..

Room Tip: Try to get a corner / partial ocean view room.. (especially on the North side of the tower) it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    815
    172
    108
    131
See reviews for
1,255
630
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The room was clean and comfortable. The view from the balconey was perfect. Being right there on the beach was great.
The layout of the room was inconvenient because you had to go through the one bedroom to get to the door. We enjoyed the variety of pools, particularly the indoor ones since the weather was bad,
However, there were improvements that could have been made.
The outdoor lazy river had little or no current
The temperature of the water in the pools could have been warmer, particularly the indoor kiddie paly area. None of the "hot" tubs seemed to have been very hot.
The room was supposed to accomodate 7 people but the beds were only for 6 and we had to get them to bring an additional rollaway bed which was very uncomfortable. There were only towels for 5 and much of the silverware was for only 5 or 6.
The non-smoling policy was not enforced - people were smoking right in front of staff.
More security is needed for suprvision of children not being supervised by their parents,. Was hit on the head by an object tossed from several floors above as I was getting off the elevator and walking to the pool.
The original information did not emphasize that we would get only one parking pass and we had to pay to park in the public on-street parking. This meant getting out there every morning by 9 to pay for the coming day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Overall, Sea Crest is a good option for families wanting to stay on the ocean in Myrtle Beach. We stayed on the 10th floor in an oceanfront room. Having a small kitchen with a refrigerator was a nice touch, as we did not have to eat all meals at a restaurant. The beach is super close, and the pool area was adequate. As this hotel primarily caters to families, there were many kids running around. I just wish that hotel staff would have had even a small presence there to ensure that all guests could enjoy the pool area equally. In addition, there are only 2 bathrooms close to the pool area, so you can imagine how overused they can become on a hot, sunny day. The elevators were also quite slow, and, at times, seemingly inadequate to handle all of the guests. However, the rooms were clean and mostly well maintained. Any housekeeping issues we had were dealt with quickly.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place has "family friendly" written all over it. And by family friendly, I mean, kids are pretty rough on the place. It has clearly seen better days and there is only so much paint you can put on the walls to make it look new. All in all it seems for about ~$100 a night, it would be a good deal and one could look past some of the downsides. If you are paying more (as I did) there are better deals to be had. First on the positive side. They added a business center and a snack place that is good for coffee and a simple snack for breakfast. The food is over priced and low quality but that is normal and to be expected. It is nice new and clean. Also, the check in process went smooth and the front desk was extremely nice and attentive with respect to answering the phone and trying to meet our needs.

One of the many downsides is that they require one night in advance, and full payment upon check in. This should have been a bit of a red flag as it appears they are either trying to avoid people from leaving early or finding a better place. The biggest complaint is the cleanliness. The pools are not monitored well which is a problem because many parents would bring down drinks. Now I understand the idea of having a drink at the bar or two but when you see glass miller lite bottles and an 18 pack of bud light cans, you know we are not talking about a well monitored nice place. They often ran out of towels and publish how you will be charged $4 if a hand towel is missing. Because the lack of monitoring near the pool area the elevators are all wet, sometimes with beer and urine. As a parent I'm used to seeing kids have accidents but it's not ok to have a urine all around the pool and feces spread around the common bathroom. Plus if you don't have kids, I'd recommend you just stay as far away as possible. This is not a "romantic" place.

The room itself was cleaned but clearly not well enough because we found food on the balcony, a candy wrapper under the phone, and loose hair in the bathroom. Speaking of the bathroom and the beds they were smaller and tight so if you are trying to give your kids a bath there is almost no room to stay in there with them. Again this is fine for a motel experience and if you place it right on the beach, it's a good deal. But it is a one to two star place that charges about $200 a night in peak season which is just not worth it.

Also, the area, i.e. beach, ocean blvd, and the rooms stay very active late at night and not in a good way. People are at the pools late, a lot of late night noise, I saw a guy smoking pot in the parking lot across from the hotel. I'd recommend moving up to north of the boardwalk and staying in that area to avoid some of the spottier crowd as well.

Room Tip: All room doors are exterior so shoot for a room higher up. you'll have to wait a lot longer for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Do not stay at this hotel. I had a 400 dollar watch stolen from my room as well as some cash from my friends purse and the managers are refusing to acknowledge it. All she can say is "we will check lost and found". Between the money and watch it cost us twice as much to stay there. I am so disappointed in the hotel and the managers, and wish we would have never stayed there. My advice would be to spend a little more on a nicer hotel to assure you do not have things of value stolen.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We have been to your resort many times we love staying here but this I was a little disappointed in the outside kiddie pool area many of the water features didn't work and it was very clean. The indoor kiddie pool is always way to cold my little boy end up with a cold because of pools inside being cold. The outside lazy river was also very cold and not really clean. As far as the room and staff that was great just not really satisfied with the pool areas this year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our vacation experience overall was positive. The challenges we encountered were immediately attend to by staff and management. we received a reasonable resort credit for our inconveniences which were applied to our account. The resort is older however very well maintained. The room was dated and in need of newer furnishings but the staff did everything within their means to make our stay comfortable and memorable. We had a wonderful time and will most likely return next year. We recommend the Sea Crest resort.

Room Tip: Avoid room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort

Address: 803 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort captures the best of Myrtle Beach. It will surprise and delight you with its beautiful beachfront location, many amenities, and competitive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.