We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Spring Breakers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Plaza Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Plaza Motel to your Saves list
Ocean Plaza Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Spring Breakers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Got what we paid for. We did buy cleaning supplies and it was nice after that. Maids came at random time but at least they came. Maintenance came promptly. The outside pool was gross but the inside pool was nice. It was overall a good trip and we would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. It is not typical for housekeeping to be lacking in the services that you have mentioned in your complaint, however errors are made and I’m sorry if anything was overlooked during your visit. I will make sure these issues and concerns are brought to the attention of our director of housekeeping for further review so they can be addressed with individual employees. I will also get with Maintenance on the pools. Thank you again for your valuable input. I hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    32
    17
    85
See reviews for
56
44
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

this was my second stay at this location and just like the 1st I was more than happy. We stayed for 3 nights Ocean Front Eff. We were on the 5th floor. To start the view is AMAZING from the good sized balconies. The room was clean and seemed as if the mattresses were new. The indoor pool and hot tubs were nice as well. They seem to be doing some overall spiffin' up around the property . The front desk , maintenance , maids were all nice and helpful it seemed.It is not fancy ( but you are not payin for fancy ) It is in my opinion one of the best deals on the beach. My only suggestions for the property is to add bigger tv's and wifi service . I would have rated it 5 for the price if it would have had wifi and larger tv's . Can't hardly wait to get back soon Good Lord Willin'

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor Ocean front are straight out to pool deck but lack the Ocean view that floors 2 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to assist you with your reservation needs. I will also make sure that I pass along about the TV's for you. Thank you again for all your support. Have a fabulous day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

No amenities. Period. Coffee maker, but no coffee. No internet. One bar of soap for a double occupancy. Not even it's own office. Office was closed and had to go to the Polynesian next door to check in. Lousy night clerk.
I asked the girl at the desk on our first morning about the coffee, and found out they don't provide it. Asked where I could get some coffee. and she said, "try a grocery store, or maybe Wal Mart." Sure, I'm wanting to go to a grocery store and buy a can of coffee and filters to have a cup of coffee in my hotel room???? When I pressed her for a decent (not glib) answer, she told me there was a Denny's at "across the street at 9th Avenue North." Well, I went out and started walking down the street and got to 9th and realized we were at 10th Ave S and that was going to be a walk, and not just "across the street." So I went back, got the car and went to 9th Ave N and found no Denny's.
Not a pleasant stay. We checked out at 7am instead of going on the beach and went somewhere else.

Room Tip: Every other Hotel around it was booked. There were only six cars in the parking lot...do the math...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Where do I start!!! Hotel. Com did not tell my husband when booking from them that there will be an extra service fee that will need to be paid when checking in..The office is closed during the week, so you have to go to the hotel beside it and check in...ok...we can do that...no problem there... we get our key return back to our hotel... just looking at it was a big turn off...our room was suppose to be an ocean view.. which i guess if you hung your whole body over the banister you might can see the ocean..we open the door and this room was about the size of the back end of a suv... we turned the ac on and left to go get something to eat...3 hours later...no ac... called hotel.com and complained to them that they was misleading when telling us about the hotel and that it needed to be torn down, and asked them what we could do.. well i had called the other hotel and let them know about the ac and 1 hour later the maintence man shows up and says..."yeap...its not working" and called down to front office and had us moved. we ended up on the top floor and the "ocean view" was a side of the building!! the room was bigger and alot cleaner.. they do not offer any refunds under any circumstance!! so we either had to loose our money and go to another motel, or bite the bullet and stay there. the indoor pool is on the 4th floor on top of the parking garage..and it looked like something you would not let your pig get in...the hot tub was the same way.. both needed a really good srub and a new paint job. the outside pool was pretty nice...and the motel is on the beach. the elevator was slow...and the whole building just needs to be torn down...yes the price was cheap, but there should be a warning sign stating that this place is a dump!!! i always give credit where it is due...but this place isn't worth $1.00...do not go here!!!!! it should read minus 5 stars!!!!!

Room Tip: do not choose a room at this hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Booked through hot-wire which was first big mistake.Hot wire gave us 2.5 star rating for this place, it wasn't even a 1 star.This place could be used for a prison,check that a prison is nicer.
This place is ready for demolition!.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

need to have free internet service and more towels and wash rags in rooms. Some rooms need better mattress Need to have a work out room. The other thing need a place to eat. The motel was great and the maids was real nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkins Glen, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked this hotel based on reviews, location and price. My wife said to me how bad can it be we only need a place to sleep. Well the hotel itself is dirty, they actually used a gas powered leaf blower to blow debris from the carpeting outside the rooms and in the hallways, it didn't clean the carpet at all. This hotel is dirty.... the room carpet is old, the dresser had a broken drawer, the cabinet in the kitchen was falling off the wall.... all this and the room wasn't ready when we arrived at 4:15 pm. Other guests were waiting for rooms also. Found out later that the staff cleans the Polynesian Hotel next door first then this Hotel. Rooms aren't cleaned until after 2pm. Holes burned into the carpeting in the room, which was dirty also. This whole place needs a makeover. You get what you pay for and for and extra $20 bucks a night stay in a clean hotel with working vending machines, helpful staff, clean rooms and swimming pools. The Beach was Great!!!! Wearther nice!

Room Tip: Stay next door at the Coral Beach Resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Motel

Address: 1005 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Plaza Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Plaza Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Plaza Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.