We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Plaza Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Plaza Motel to your Saves list
Ocean Plaza Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Working Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Nice location Great Views!!! Priced right. Very helpfull lady working front! Cant say same for lady working night shift at motel next door. ( had to go there after hrs. ) I would reccomend using a service with a price gaurentee if making reservation. I overheard a conversation at their sister location clerk was explaining why a lady paid more for her room than her neighbor and the clerk didnt seem so anxious to refund her the differance.... Clean although NOT fancy. I would stay again. My son in wheelchair. although not accessable room. it was managable.don't know about wifi I was too busy. DID I MENTION THE VIEW FOR THE MONEY ....WOW!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    32
    17
    85
See reviews for
56
44
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed here a couple of years ago and thought we would stay again. The hotel was nasty, parking garage was filthy, and the maid service was bad. The indoor pool only has 1 light at each end of it, one of which did not work. My 8 year old granddaughter fell and BROKE her leg. Maintenance was at the pool when the ambulance arrived, this was on Wednesday night, and on Saturday night (the night before we left) the light still had not been fixed. The balcony rail on the 4th floor between room 401 and 402 was broken completely through along the bottom. We reported it the day we found it, Tuesday, and on Sunday when we left, it was still broken. My air conditioning unit had the cover broken off on one corner, a trip hazard or a cut hazard, and was not fixed. The elevator is very slow, which we could live with. We couldn't find a luggage cart, there were 4 when we check in. When we left, we searched every floor, NONE. The hot water would scald you. Grown ups can adjust it, but would be a hazard for kids. Housekeeping didn't take out the trash when they cleaned the room, we did. Although the price was very reasonable, there's no excuse for the staff not to keep the rooms in good shape. Don't know if it matters to anyone, but it is NOT AMERICAN OWNED.

Room Tip: Typical efficiency. Everything worked, but not very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The day before our trip we read a lot of bad reviews and was very nervous about going to this hotel where we booked 5 rooms for 4 nights, but went anyways. The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and allowed my family to check in early despite the 4:00 check-in. The hotel is older, but it was clean. If you are expecting new you will be disappointed but they do not charge fancy and new prices. We had a good experience. We enjoyed our stay and would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Me and my wife booked a room here for our honeymoon. We would have booked elsewhere but this was the best place we could swing since we were both under 21. When we arrived to the hotel the employee at the desk was very courteous and helped us find our room. The room was definitely not the best on earth, but I suppose you get what you pay for. It was in a fairly convenient position on the ocean front. Now, the hallways were very dirty for most of the stay. There was trash everywhere. At one point there were 2 liter coke bottles floating in the outside pool. Besides that everything was fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that overall you were able to enjoy your stay with us with minor inconveniences. We would enjoy having you and your wife as guests again with us at any of our properties. Thank you again and have a wonderful day.

Jennifer Rourk
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

i am a loyal customer me & my family come to your hotel every year for the last 7 yearsi was supposed to stay 3 days instead i stay 2 days forgot what date i was supposed to come got there a day later.took my money for the day i missed i felt like i should have least got half price or stay another day. this year door on handle was broke & lights out in bathroom. i love the hotel and i dont want your to loose my bussiness however i feel next year if i decide to come back, i should get half price or a extra day. thank you mrs. bessie moore.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are glad to have you as a repeat customer with us. I will be happy to review your reservation details for accuracy. We would certainly enjoy having you as a guest with us again in the future. We are here to assist you with any of your reservation needs. Thank you again and have a great day!

Jennifer Rourk
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Despite all the bad reviews this motel has, we were very pleased with it. We had a room facing the ocean with a small kitchette with it. We were able to cook some of meals in our room, which helped with our budget. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and housekeeping cleaned the room everyday we were there. The only downside were the teenagers playing outside in the pool at all hours and the time the elevator was not working, of course that had to be the day we were leaving, had to haul our suitcases down 2 flights of stairs.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
povmgmt, Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza. I am glad to hear that overall you were able to enjoy your stay. We would love to have you as a guest again with us next time you are in the Myrtle Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Do not stay at this motel. The room was so dirty we had to go buy sheets, antiseptic and Lysol before even thinking about touching anything. All night long you were awoken by noisy rowdy teenagers banging the doors, windows, ceiling and floors. The manager screwed our reservation with another at the sister hotel and then part way into the stay banged on our door in the morning accusing us of getting into a fight with other people and showed us dried blood on the backside of a curtain as their supposed "truth". They called the police who didn't ever even mention pressing charges but told us we needed to leave. We had only stayed two nights when we paid in advance through Hotels.com for 3. They didn't offer a refund and said we had to call Hotels.com

This place is disgusting! do not stay here

Room Tip: Stay somwhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polymgr, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Please accept my sincere apologies if your room number got mixed up for the one at the property next door. We do have two properties side by side with some same room numbers. We have limited accessibility to changes, cancellations, or refunds of reservations booked through a third party company such as Hotels.com. If you had made front desk aware that the cleanliness of the room did not meet your standards after check-in they would have been happy to assist you at that time. Again, my sincere apologies for any mix-ups.
Thank you,
Brenna Gahagen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Plaza Motel

Address: 1005 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Plaza Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Plaza Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Plaza Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.