We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vicki Euler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Springmaid Pier

Springmaid Pier
3200 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 125 things to do in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Springmaid Beach Resort, the Springmaid Pier stretches 1,060 feet into the ocean. The pier holds the state record for Spanish Mackerel and hosts numerous fishing tournaments. The pier's BARnacles Bar & Grille offers tasty food and drinks in a casual atmosphere. The kids will especially enjoy the hand-dipped ice cream!
Frostburg, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vicki Euler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have spent the last month in Myrtle Beach and one of our favorite things to do is to go to Springmaid Pier. We have been there almost every day. Vicki is the greatest and is so friendly to everyone. There always is so much action to observe for only $1.00 per person. We do not fish but really enjoy watching to see what other catch. We have eaten in the pier restaurant a few time and really enjoyed our meal. This pier is a big part of our yearly trip to the beach. Vick greets everyone with a smile and a kind remark and can make anyone's day brighter. We will certainly be back next year.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Pier, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Pier. We thrive to provide the best family experience on the south end of Myrtle Beach. We look forward in having you back at the Pier on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    52
    30
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great if you fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This pier would be fantastic if I was a fisherman. Since I don't fish, it was not as enjoyable because it was lined with fishermen. Not a place you feel comfortable just hanging out and enjoying the view.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Pier, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Pier. We thrive to provide the best family experience on the south end of Myrtle Beach. We look forward in having you back at the Pier on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

we went fishing 2 times when we were in Myrtle Beach. We had a great time. My son (9) and my nephew (5) both caught fish and wwere very excited.It started to rain the 1st day so we had to cut it a little short so we went back the next day

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Pier, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Pier. Let's hope on your next visit the weather is better than this most recent visit. We thrive to provide the best family experience on the south end of Myrtle Beach. Thanks for your comments on our food and view of BARnacles; we think its hidden gem in Myrtle Beach. We look forward in having you back at the Pier on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fun place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you're looking for a place to enjoy without spending a small fortune, the Springmaid Pier might be the answer. Admission on to the pier is only $1 p/p (it's free if you're staying @ the Springmaid Resort) and you can watch folks fishing, see the planes coming and going @ the M.B. airport or just enjoy the day. On Thursday afternoons there's currenty "Party on the Pier" (free admission) with a live D.J., appetizers and beverages available. Afterwards there's Trivia games @ BARnacles where you can get a bite to eat and even ice cream for dessert. It's a family friendly bar where kids are welcome. If lodging is on your list, check out the Springmaid Resort. It offers all sorts of amenities, and the newly refurbished rooms are beautiful. We've stayed there in the past and family members stayed there just last week... they were very impressed. The expansive sandy beach is beautiful... never crowded..... and if you find yourself getting too much sun you can duck under the pier for shade. It's a great place at the quiet end of the Grand Strand just before the M.B. State Park. Check it out ... you'll be glad you did!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Pier, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Pier. We thrive to provide the best family experience on the south end of Myrtle Beach. Thanks for your comments on our food and view of BARnacles; we think its hidden gem in Myrtle Beach. We look forward in having you back at the Pier on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

While staying at the Springmaid Resort, we decided to take a walk on the pier. It is $1/person to just walk it, but as guests of the resort, we could go on the pier for free with our wrist band. We enjoyed sitting on the swing, posing in the photo cut-outs, and watching people fish. Our night time walk was especially nice, seeing the lights from Myrtle Beach on one side and the ocean on the other. The food at the restaurant was a bit pricey for what you get, but the service was decent, the view outstanding, and the food was above average. Would definitely visit again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Springmaid Pier, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Pier. We thrive to provide the best family experience on the south end of Myrtle Beach. Thanks for your comments on our food and view of BARnacles; we think its hidden gem in Myrtle Beach. We look forward in having you back at the Pier on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springmaid Pier also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Springmaid Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springmaid Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.