We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Bay Suites to your Saves list
Monterey Bay Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Raleigh NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

I just returned from a weeked at Monterey Bay Suites. What a great place. I traveled with my husband and granddaugher who is 9 and my grandson who is 2. We went just to have a good time with the children and to take them to Ripley's Aquarium.
Let's start with the good.
Stayed in room 1509. The suite had two queen size beds and a Murphy bed. There was a small, but complete kitchen, nice bath, living room, two balonies, two phones, two televisions and a VCR. Everything was clean and neat. The beds were comfortable.
Everything worked properly. There is a heated outdoor pool on the 12th floor (I think it's the 12th floor) and a heated indoor pool, indoor lazy river, hot tub and kiddie pool on the ground level. The children loved this and at one time we were in the only ones in the pool. There were plenty of pool towels and lounge chairs available. The free breakfast was great - coffee, juice, milk, cereal, bagels, sweet rolls, eggs, sausage, cooked to order waffle, potatoes, etc. You have to wear your arm bands to the pool area and also to breakfast. The staff here is very helpful and friendly. We needed an additional pillow and got it in a couple of minutes. The entire hotel was clean and neat and keep that way.
Am already planning a trip back soon.
Cons - the parking garage is terrible. We parked on the 4th level and just took the elevators to the 15th floor which worked out really well. There is a small arcade on the 3rd floor but most of the machines were not working or not working properly.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    294
    150
    113
    119
See reviews for
490
226
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
liverpoolengland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Our family have visited every year for years now Columbus Day weekend , as they are visiting from England and the children are off school. This year was no exception we had a marvelous time and my daughter became engaged and announced that she could think of no better place than Monterey Bay Suites for a honeymoon. She will be seeing you in May for that trip. She says that does not mean we can not still come in October!! I wish we could go in May too. Again, a sincere thanks to your lovely staff and the great accomodations. Barry Cornick and Diane Smothers

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

All I can say is once again it was great. Got the same room for a third time so it was like coming home. Moved the dining / living room furniture the way we like it and WHAM we are on vacation. If you like warm pools like I do, THIS is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

This is by far the best place we have ever stayed! The kids enjoy all the pools and the closeness and view of the motel! Their breakfast is the awesome! The staff has always been great! The rooms are so clean and spacious!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Enjoyed Monterey Bay so much. Great place to stay on the North End of Myrtle Beach. Good breakfast every morning. Room are spacious and comfortable. Beds are the best very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

This hotel is okay...it has a wonderful view of the beach, providing you get a real beach front room. It also wonderful pool facilities and easy beach access. On the down side, the hotel rooms have a light, unusual smell and the wireless internet is very slow and choppy (it also requires "authenticated login" every 30 minutes or so). The internet [in]capability has been very tedious, as I tend to work and currently trying to study for my ACT via computer. Everything else, including the free breakfast and quick drive to various beach stores make this place a quality hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

This beachfront hotel is family friendly in a quiet residential area in the northern part of Myrtle Beach. We like the 2 room "A" suites with full kitchen. The furnishings are your usual beach type, but comfortable and sturdy. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly. Except for the low pressure time share pitch, which you can easily avoid, check in was a breeze. Hotel is convenient to "Restaurant Row", Tanger Outlets, Barefoot Landing and lots of other attractions.

We come to Myrtle Beach in the "off" season and rarely experience any traffic hassles or lines at restaurants. We have stayed at Monterey Bay Suites many times and have not been disappointed yet.

PARKING TIP - The parking garage requires really tight turns on the ramps going up and down. It can be a bit nerve wracking to drive. We recommend that you park on the lowest level (above the 2nd floor) that you can find a space and take the elevators to your room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 215 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.