We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Bay Suites to your Saves list
Monterey Bay Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Very Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've stayed at Monterey Bay Suites 2 years in a row and have enjoyed every minutes both times. It's always been clean and the staff has been very friendly and accommodating. The free breakfast is definitely a plus and quite good.

The parking garage is probably the worst thing about it, but even then, it wasn't that big a deal. If we stayed out late, we sometimes had to park a couple of levels up from our floor, but the elevator is right there in the garage, so it was all good.

I can't think of any reason NOT to go back there again this year. Keep up the good work, Monterey Bay Suites!

(The only thing I would change if I could would be the fact that when you are in the front lobby and someone opens the door to the men's restroom, you might see a guy using the urinal. That little problem really does need to be fixed!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. What a sense of pride our staff gets when our guests enjoy their vacations. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    291
    147
    110
    115
See reviews for
482
217
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belmont NC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This will be our 3rd or 4th year of going to Monterey Bay for our vacation with
our daughter and granddaughter. I have never stayed at a nicer place with
all the many extras you get for your money. Our room has always been ready and
clean when we arrive. We have never experienced a bad thing except if you
want to complain the elevators are a little slow when you stay on the higher floors.
This is acceptable and I don't see any problems at this point of this property.
Our granddaughter loves it and we are returning in the next two months for another
vacation at Monterey Bay. We have never experienced a problem that did not get
solved immediately. Keep up the good work staff at Monterey Bay
The Ewing Family from Belmont, N. C.

Room Tip: rooms on the floor where the rooftop pool is we enjoy bettere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have stayed at Monterey Bay several times and found it to be one of the very best places to stay at Myrtle Beach. The staff and especially Ashley and Mark make you feel so welcome and are very helpful during your stay. The rooms are spacious and decorated so nice.This is a great place !!!!!! We are looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great for sun rises and to hear the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Mark and I are tickled we could make your stay better. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After reading some of these reviews, we were a little skeptical as to stay here or not but we decided to anyway. The parking garage was on the tight side but our car is compact so we didn't have much of any issue but we did have to take it slow around the corners. I could definitely see people having issues if they have a large car. We also went during the off season so there weren't many other cars to get in our way. Check in was easy and the staff was friendly. Our room was ready when we got there which was earlier than 3pm. The elevators were NOT a problem for us. We never had to wait more than a minute for one. The room did have a strange smell to it. It almost smelled like a hospital, I think the stuff they use to clean it is the same stuff as hospitals use. I sprayed febreze and opened the balcony door and it took care of the problem. I did not complain about this as it really wasn't a big deal to me. The room was clean other than some dust on the furniture which probably wouldn't have bothered anyone else but me. The bathroom was spotless as well as the kitchen. My children are asthmatics and i did need to clean the filters in the AC's. They were not bad and would've been acceptable to others without asthma. The laundry room is clean and I have had no problems with this. The pool areas are immaculate and never once did i see a speck of dirt in or around them. There were people cleaning them every morning. The breakfast was DELICIOUS! I had no problem with portion size, I simply mentioned that I had 2 children and a husband and they have me more than enough food for all of us. The waffles are great as well as the eggs and home fries. THe room was a tad small but that was due to our family size. We had an angle oceanfront and requested to be as close as possible to the beach and we were. We were on the 11th floor and had a great view of the beach and all the way down. They have a great yard out front with a brand new playground that our oldest enjoyed every morning. The lazy river was a favorite as well as the baby pool. The view from the lobby is beautiful. each one of these is independently owned so each suite is different. My parents had different tvs and other items in their suite. All the oceanfront angles entry doors face the pool so theres no getting away from the noise of the rooftop pool unfortunately due to the design of the building. The only time we had a problem with noise from the pool was on the weekend. There were people still in the pool shortly after closing time and I saw an employee tell them to get out which is nice that they enforce this rule. I'd return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

As always, our stay at the Monterey was excellent! The suites are roomy, full kitchens and we love the end suite because of the extra windows. If you are looking for a great oceanfront resort with awesome views, great breakfast, and friendly staff, this is the place!

Room Tip: End suites have more windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just got a wild hair and drove to the beach for one night, we arrived early and was able to check in before check in time, that meant a lot too us considering we wanted to get a full day at the beach. The month of may we will return you really have the hotel too yourself, nice and quiet. The only problem I see is the parking deck, it will be a nightmare in the busy season but if you can drive you will be ok, a lil tight in there!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My daughter booked Monterrey Bay for a early May trip and took me (her mom) with her. We have stayed her many times over the last 20 years even when itwas Patrician Grand North. The suites are very roomy and if needed could accommodate 6-8. The resort has been upgraded in the last yr or two . The beds are nice and firm and the shower has awesome water pressure-better than anywhere we have ever stayed. The temp of all pools was fabulously warm and they were clean. There was a problem with the reservation we had a confirmation for 4 nts then when we got there we were told it was for three (what she originslly requestef) and they just put in 4 to get the rate correct. My daughter had requested an additional day off work when the confirmation came as 4 so she wasted a vacation day. The weather was horrible and resorts all around there were much less $20-$40. Although the resort didn't control the weather seems they should have made adjustments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, the next time your with us the weather will be warmer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.