We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Monterey Bay Suites to your Saves list
Monterey Bay Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 214 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just got a wild hair and drove to the beach for one night, we arrived early and was able to check in before check in time, that meant a lot too us considering we wanted to get a full day at the beach. The month of may we will return you really have the hotel too yourself, nice and quiet. The only problem I see is the parking deck, it will be a nightmare in the busy season but if you can drive you will be ok, a lil tight in there!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    291
    147
    110
    115
See reviews for
482
217
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My daughter booked Monterrey Bay for a early May trip and took me (her mom) with her. We have stayed her many times over the last 20 years even when itwas Patrician Grand North. The suites are very roomy and if needed could accommodate 6-8. The resort has been upgraded in the last yr or two . The beds are nice and firm and the shower has awesome water pressure-better than anywhere we have ever stayed. The temp of all pools was fabulously warm and they were clean. There was a problem with the reservation we had a confirmation for 4 nts then when we got there we were told it was for three (what she originslly requestef) and they just put in 4 to get the rate correct. My daughter had requested an additional day off work when the confirmation came as 4 so she wasted a vacation day. The weather was horrible and resorts all around there were much less $20-$40. Although the resort didn't control the weather seems they should have made adjustments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, the next time your with us the weather will be warmer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My son, daughter-in-law, grandson, husband and I stayed at the hotel for the weekend. We were greeted by a friendly staff. We enjoyed our room and thought the furnishings were nice. The breakfast was good and the serving staff was very outgoing. It was cold and windy outside so we could not enjoy the beach but were thankful that the indoor pools were heated. My grandson loved the lazy river. The indoor hot tub was extremely hot but the outdoor hot tub was more comfortable. I think the price of the room was just a little bit expensive but I also took into consideration that we had a full breakfast. The "welcome packet" has brochures from various places to visit, and the offer for discount tickets...and yes...a ploy to get to you to go visit a program, but you are not under any pressure to attend. These "timeshare" ploys are everywhere.

Room Tip: If you stay higher than the 8th floor you will have to take the elevator from the parking deck to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, the next time your with us the weater will be warmer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

All in all this is a nice place to stay. It is convenient to everything in Myrtle Beach and is ocean front for quick and easy beach access. There were really on 2 issues that I feel future guests should be made aware. The first is at check in. The desk clerk that checks you in tells you that after you get settled, come back down to pick up you welcome packet. This is a front for a time share and the welcome is part of your agreement to attend a talk for 2 hours the next morning. The second issue is the elevators. On Sunday when we checking out, one of the three elevators was out of service and the staff was spending a lot of time in the other 2, making exceptionally long waits. The staff does have their own elevator that clearly states staff only but they continually tied up the guest elevators.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Speaking with the Wyndham Rep is completely your choice. She does offer great deals and freebies for those who decide to take the tour. Plus, Mrs. Bunnie has a wealth of knowlegde of the area and is a very nice lady. Anytime there is 150 rooms checking out within the same 2 hour period, the elevators are going to be busy! We do not have an employee elevator. Our staff must use the elevators to access the floors to prepare the rooms for the next guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have never written a review of a hotel before but after my stay at this hotel for the past four days, I wanted everyone to know about my experience.
I arrived at the hotel late Thursday evening April 25th, 2013 around 10:45pm. I had called the hotel earlier to make sure that the desk was open since I have ran into problems before with some of them closing early since this time is still considered off-season. I always come down for a four-day weekend this time of year for my birthday which was Friday. There were 2 adults and 3 children aged 5, 10 and 14 years. There were no problems with check-in and the hotel has convenient parking on each room level. Our room was an end unit on the 8th floor. Thought there would be more side windows, however there is only a small one behind a small glass table that will seat 3 even though there are four chairs but don’t waste your time spending extra for these rooms. The amenities for these rooms are the same and there are no views from these side windows. The units are small but adequate so don’t expect a lot of space. There is a small porch on the ocean-front rooms with 2 plastic chairs and a small plastic table to sit a drink on.
The room we were in did appear to have been updated within the past couple of years. There was quite a bit of dust on the furniture which I left until the third day to see if the tables were cleaned by the housecleaning staff and finally cleaned them myself on the third afternoon after the staff had “cleaned” the room. Nothing was ever vacuumed or swept; they would just make up the bed and leave.
Breakfast was available from 7-10am on the weekdays and 7-10:3am on the weekends. A breakfast is adequate and convenient but expect less than you would from a Holiday Inn Express.
The pool areas are well kept and nice for the kids.
Our first night was uneventful since we arrived later and were too tired to look around or hear anything.
We were awakened at 4:30 am on our second night by the fire alarm in the room warning us to get out of the building. We gathered up the children and dressed them and made our way to the parking garage. A few minutes after getting to our car, an announcement was made to disregard the alarms. We questioned the desk clerk the next morning and were told that a fire sprinkler in the garage had broken and resulted in the alarm. We were also told that the night clerk reported that the alarm was only on a few seconds and turned off. We corrected her by stating that the alarm was on for at least 15 minutes and not a few seconds as we had got the three children and ourselves dressed and make our way to the parking lot before the alarm was called off.
The following evening, all of us were in the living room area watching a movie on the TV when we could hear a struggle next door as though they were in our room. The walls are very thin in this place so plan on hearing everything. The coupe was arguing and calling each other SOB and B—ch which ended in what sounded like someone’s head bouncing off the wall behind our couch and what appeared to be a load bang from gun or something. We called the front desk to report what was happening next door and even though the young male desk clerk appeared responsive over the phone, obviously no authority was notified. When questioning the housekeeping staff the following day, we were told that they found blood on the sheets, floor and mattress in the room. Of course, management denied any reports at check-out when this was brought up. And stated that no one had made any complaints. Again we corrected them stating when and who was called by us.

We were awakened again on Sunday morning between 6 and 7 am by the fire alarm warning us to evacuate the building. This time we did not even get the children up from their beds. Again the announcement was made to disregard all alarms. Who knows why it went off this time, maybe the body from next door fell out of its hiding place onto the sprinkler system (LOL).
Total cost for this fiasco- $490.00 for the four days charged to my AmX
Lesson Learned- priceless-will make sure everyone knows what to expect from the management of this place and that they are only interested in renting the rooms to whomever will stay there. Beware!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Security did speak with the occupants of the room you complained about. And they remain quiet for the remainder of their stay. After your complaints at check out, I personally inspected their room and DID NOT find any bullets holes or blood in the room. Our FREE breakfast is far more than a continental breakfast. And our Housekeeping staff can not clean a room with a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here from 4/22/13 until 4/25/13. The room was horrible, the staff acted like they could care less, there were bed bugs, and odd musky smell. I would advise staying anywhere but here. The rooms are very out dated, the views from the side of the building are not great. The parking garage is awful, I drive a mid size sedan and it took more time to get around the tight turns in the garage than it did to drive all the way down the boulevard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
NO! We do not have bug issues at our hotel. If you had issues during your stay, why didn't you bring them to our attention instead of posting LIES. We question if you even stayed at our hotel. Because if you had you would have discovered that each issue brought to our attention receives our full attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the Monterey Bay in mid April 2013. The view from the 6th floor in our King suite was spectacular! We had plenty of room and the suite was clean and comfortable. My wife and I could also see and communicate from our deck with our teenage daughters at the outdoor pool area, which was also nice. The pools were well kept and warm and very enjoyable at nighttime! Also, the staff was very nice and a special thanks to Ms Bunnie (concierge for Windom Resorts), who was so friendly and helpful. She helped us put an itinerary together so we were able to see and do so many things in Myrtle Beach (at a very reasonable price) than I would have ever thought possible…and yet still had plenty of relaxation time on the beach and in the suite! The breakfast downstairs was very convenient and the only issue we had was a weak internet connection which was fixed by replacing the wireless router in our room. Highly recommend this to anyone who is looking to stay at nice resort, in a pristine location, at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.