We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Suites

Save Saved
You added Monterey Bay Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 214 hotels in Myrtle Beach
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights off-season in October. Rates were dirt cheap considering the size of the rooms, inclusions and location right on the beach. A comprehensive breakfast was available in a couple of bright rooms off the lobby.

Our room was at the side, without a full view of the beach, but that did not concern us. We were right next to the rooftop pool, which was great except for the loud music around the pool area until late at night.

Our verdict: a couple of nights was not enough and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Monterey Bay Suites and plan to return. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused by loud music by the pool area; should this occur on your next visit please advise the Front Desk so that we may take the appropriate action. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    268
    135
    101
    113
See reviews for
444
202
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Friends of ours recommended Montery Bay Suites to us and we are so glad they did. We had a GREAT weekend stay here. The staff was very friendly. The full breakfast each morning was wonderful and free! The bedding was very comfortable. The shower had great pressure. The room was nicely decorated and of course the ocean front view was a plus. The ammenities were good. Our room on the 11th floor was close to the pool and hot tub on the 10th floor. The only downside was the parking garage was tight for our Ford F-150 crew cab. Within walking distance of good food like the River City Cafe that we walked to one evening. Also close to the Tanger Outlets as well as Broadway at the Beach for any shopping. We will recommend to our family & friends and will make this trip again someday!

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean front end suite on the 11th floor it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Monterey Bay Suites. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My hubby & I decided to surprise our two boys and hit the beach for a few days. The resort always looked nice when we had traveled to Myrtle Beach before, so we gave it a try. The room was great! The whole stay was very nice. The staff very friendly.(except one lady at breakfast) The indoor pool was fun for our boys and we all relaxed and had a great time. We would gladly send our friends here for a great getaway ! We can't wait to return this summer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Monterey Bay Suites and do look forward to your return. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My boyfriend actually went to college in this area so we are quite familiar with the area but we decided to come back for our anniversary. There are so many hotels to choose from I just picked one and we were both extremely impressed. When we got there the front desk was so nice and friendly and made everything great! The rooms are large (we had an ocean front view). The bedroom is separate with a hallway of the kitchen that leads into the living room. Absolutely beautiful rooms! Breakfast every morning which was really good! Next time I come back I will definitely stay here again! The parking garage is very tight but it doesn't take a genius to figure it out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled you had a wonderful visit and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to Myrtle Beach for the last 30 years and have stayed in many places but this was our first time at Monterey it was very affordable , staff friendly , clean rooms. Will stay again. Only down side parking is tight.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We are delighted that you chose Monterey Bay Suites for your visit to Myrtle Beach and very happy you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the parking can be a bit of a challenge at first, but it sounds like you navigated the area very well. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place is great. I have already made a second reservation. Employees from the maid to the management were more than courteous, they were downright friendly. The breakfast each morning was included and it was very good, not just a continental breakfast that one might expect. They had a variety of items each day, with the staples being scrambled eggs and oatmeal. They added potatos, bacon or saugage, saugage gravy, french toast one day, waffles the next, etc. The swimming pools and hot tubs were fantastic too.

By the way, go ahead and get the angle-ocean view room. The view at least on the south side included all of Myrtle Beach.

Oh yeah, one more thing. Parking is in a parking garage that is part of the hotel, not out in the weather or somewhere else off property.

I would normally expect to pay twice what I did for what we got.

Room Tip: The sunrises you could catch from an ocean-view room would be great and I am trying that one next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of Monterey Bay Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia,sc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Have been going to Myrtle Beach since 1976 and have stayed in every kind of facility. Have probably stayed in at least 50 different properties and would rate this as one of the best.
Really enjoyed the rooftop pool and hot tub. The included breakfast was as good as we had at one of the local breakfast buffets.
Will be going back again.

Room Tip: Has to be ocean front if you are at the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshelyAldridge, Front Office Manager at Monterey Bay Suites, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of Monterey Bay Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monterey Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Suites

Address: 6804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monterey Bay Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Monterey Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Myrtle Beach
Monterey Bay Resort Myrtle Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monterey Bay Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.